We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea awfully executed and managed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vox Maris Grand Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Costinesti
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great idea awfully executed and managed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

GOODs
Room - properly sized room, with a really big bed eventhough built out of double beds. Very good soundproofing of the windows; door is not protecting you from outside noise though. Equipped with a very good air conditioned system, it was really confy to let it function throughout the night (noise was very limited to almost no noise).
Location - easily reachable, near a very good terrace where you can eat/drink

BADs
Employees responsiveness - the personal is almost entirely built of students on summer work engagements. They have no training what so ever in customer care, and no interest in offering smiling help for the tourists (you have to use your car horn if you want to enter resort' parking lot, because nobody sits in front of the supervising monitors; it took them almost 30 minutes to proceed with the check-in; the impression was that they were only vacuum cleaned rooms already checked-out, task that was happening during sleeping hours ALL THE TIME<2-4PM>; at the restaurant nobody offered us a menu for a 20 minutes wait, evenif they were 10 waiters running around, and we were the only ones in the restaurant - as a result we chose to move out of the resort premises and eat at a very good terrace outside).
Location - among 3 big open-air disco rings. Noise is pretty big during the nights; nothing can be done - at least this is what receptionists told us.
Pool - 2 pools were functional: a big one for adults, not very well cleaned up; and one for kids above 1.5m in height (this is not a pool for babies).
Quality/Price balance - not the proper one for a resort that's still under construction and for sure it will continue throughout next season to come
Attention to details - a very good architectural idea, very badly/cheaply executed.
Misleading details/offer on booking.com - I bought from booking.com a double room with double/matrimonial bed(s). It was nowhere specified that's a STANDARD room, hence we got the standard room and not the superior one. the difference consists in the bed type: all Standard - double, all superior - matrimonial. They say it's 40m away from the beach. This may be true if only measurements are done from the property limits near the beach and go from there straight thru the buildings towards a very tiny beach. In reality, you may have 15-20 minutes walk to the first proper beach you can really use.
Bathroom - the water can not have the temperature properly adjusted. Its pressure is very low, insufficient for a long hair wash.
No WiFi - for a 4-stars resort that's aiming to be the best, this is a MUST. It is really annoying to search outside your room for WiFi signal when you need it, and 3G is not enough for what your necessities are.

Room Tip: ALL Standard room have double beds setup. If you need matrimonial bed, be prepared to choose for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ciury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    9
    6
    24
See reviews for
17
10
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything is very nice (except the beach wich is the dirtiest beach i've ever seen), but beware of the manager / owner...or whatever. We left the hotel because we were directly approached by this man who started courisng and screaming about swimming in the pool. It was during the day, around 6 pm, after we asked somebody from the staff if the pool is closed. Obviously we were allowed to swim and then comes the manager yelling like hell to us not to his staff, that the pool is closed...treating us like some kind of vagabonds. We are still amazed about this psycho... We left the same day of course. The staff was not surprised by this. The same day or the day before there were others who left with similar problem - so it's a usual thing for this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank Vlad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costinesti hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tjis year we went on summer holiday , in our country, Romania.So we went to Costinesti, to Vox Maris Grand Resort.The atmosphere that this resort offers you is one of relaxation and spending time with the family due to the flowers that are evrywhere and the great swimming pools.... Staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good and included in the room price. Access to the two swimming pools, bowling, pool, table tennis were free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurAlbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful resort, clean and good architectural environment. Excellent garden, very good services, very nice rooms with terrace. Young stuff, very polite and ready to help. I am pleased to say about this resort that could be almost a really holiday destination.

If they will invest more to find a real chef, plus a little imagination for an exotic menu and presentation definitely they can compete with other destinations from neighborhood (Bulgaria, Turkey, Greece )

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortega N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The resort is pretty big, the rooms are clean and spacious enough(some have really nice views). The food is good, coffee not too good. The position is at the begging of the Costinesti resort, so you might need to walk a bit to get to your room.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms for 3+ person(very spacious) & choose the ones from the grand floor(you have ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreiBacalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the vox maris resort at the end of july 2013...the resort was looking pretty nice for a romanian hotel at the sea side and the rooms were quite alright as well...the atmosphere that this resort offers you is one of relaxation and spending time with the family due to the flowers that are evrywhere and the great swimming pools.... Anyways, whatever you do, do not trust the stuff or the owner. I do have to tell everybody that the service was -10 !!! The breakfast was extremly poor meaning: omlet, ham, cheese and only 3 kinds of vegetables; oh and i forgot to mention the cereals for which i had to wait 15 min for someone to make the refill...moreover all the employees are very arogant and in a bad mood all the time. For example, for my last breakfast i went at the buffet(where by the way you cannot eat too much:)) ) and asked for some ham and cheese and the girl standing there gave 1 piece of each...i started laughing and asked for some more; her answer:" WHY DO YOU EAT SO MuCH?" Which sincerly i find it disrispectul! Moreover when i get to my table i make one sandwich and i put it in a tissue and then i drank my coffee, planning ofcourse to eat afterwards... Well i did not had this "HUGE" opportunity because the owner of the resort comes at my table grabbed my sandwhich and starts to scream at my saying that i am an " idiot" and that i am not allowed to make packages(he thought i wanted to take the sandwich with me even though i had it on the table and it was clear that i was not leaving too soon)...afterwards he continued to suere at me in a vocabulary that i cannot reproduce for the public...for what? For a god damn sandwich from his cantinne i would say...i paid somewhere around 600 euros for this treatment and i find it unnacetable!! So, even though the sights are great, everybody knows that the treatment is the most important and one of these situations would happen to you it will ruin your vacation only because they think you are doing something wrong and without asking if there is actually a problem... If uou do not trust what i said go there and tell me if i am wrong;)!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Correctitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful resort with outstanding gardens, very clean room and we enjoyed a lot all the facilities ...bowling, pool, fitness, table tennis. It was really relaxing!
Breakfast - The espresso is very good and do not forget to ask for their fantastic croissant!
Take your time and walk 15 min on the alleys especially during the night...fountains with water and lights games, etc. Must see!
We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: The suites from 1st or 2nd floor ( 5201 was mine) had also large balconies and TV in both rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BozoBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costinesti
7.9 mi away
Ana Hotels Europa Eforie Nord
21.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#1 of 96 in Constanta
227 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Del Mar Mamaia
Hotel Del Mar Mamaia
#13 of 96 in Constanta
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Opera
Hotel Opera
#1 of 7 in Mamaia
9 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Melodia
Hotel Melodia
#5 of 10 in Venus
56 reviews
20.4 mi away
Iaki Hotel
Iaki Hotel
#9 of 96 in Constanta
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vox Maris Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vox Maris Grand Resort

Property: Vox Maris Grand Resort
Address: Costinesti, Costinesti 907090, Romania (Formerly Vox Maris No1 Club Resort)
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Costinesti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Costinesti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vox Maris Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Vox Maris Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vox Maris No1 Club Hotel Costinesti
Vox Maris No1 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing