We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skutustadir Farm Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's modest but very very nice, great value for the prize. Clean, fantastic views from the windows, location just on the side of the lake with pseudo-craters everywhere. Much better than expensive hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zosia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location is magnificent: you are right in front of the lake, and there is so much to do around Myvatn!
Asta, the landlady runs a very well organized, clean and friendly B&B. She really seems to pay attention to every little detail. We liked very much the way she keeps herself transparent in the background while always being available and caring when needed.
The farmhouse is spacious and well maintained with a handy self- service kitchen.
The place offers a very special breakfast, that besides offering the usual Icelandic breakfast caters local specialties like this special bread baked underground and a local type of smoked trout

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We landed on Ásta's doorstep around 8 pm in a snowstorm. I had refused to sleep in the camper on such a miserable night so my partner and I were looking (unsuccessfully) for 'sleeping bag' accommodation until we found Skutustadir. (Note: They only provide this in the off-season) The house is warm and spacious, with a good little kitchen for self-caterers. The eating/lounge space was bright. The bathroom and shower space was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable-one of the best sleeps I had all trip. Breakfast was all homemade, although it's only available if you pay full board.
The best part is the hospitality. The family is polite and gracious. They are quite lovely people with a warm and inviting home.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

In Icelandic terms perhaps quite inexpensive, but also very basic hostel. Smallish rooms in the 2nf floor, toilets and showers downstairs. Breafast fine but not very abundant. Myvatn just next to the building as well as "minivulcanos". Parking available about 30 meters from house.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Booked a night at Skútustaðir via Icelandic Farm Holidays. Reception was quite cold ("Can I see your voucher please?"), the room was okay, as were the kitchen and toilets. Didn't use the showers. My room was on the upper floor of what appeared to be the "farmhouse", with the family living on the ground floor. No animals were in sight, though.
It seems that the owners don't care too much about their guests, as long as they pay and don't complain. This was particularly evident from the kitchen utensils, which seem to be whatever they wouldn't want to use any longer. Also, my room's window was facing to the east, and the thin piece of fabric that wasn't really a curtain didn't offer any protection from the early morning sun, which started blasting into the room with full daylight power at 3 AM. The breakfast, a rather extensive buffet, was nice, though.
All in all, this was perfectly okay youth hostel-style accommodation at a relatively steep price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arhasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soffiakb, Manager at Skutustadir Farm Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 建成 楊
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skutustadir
6.7 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#1 of 1 in Skutustadahreppur
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
417 reviews
4 mi away
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
236 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vogar Travel Service
Vogar Travel Service
#5 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skutustadir Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skutustadir Farm Guesthouse

Address: Skutustadir 2b | Myvatnssveit, Skutustadir 660, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Skutustadir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Skutustadir
Price Range: $121 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Skutustadir Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing