We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A labor of love

This small museum has carefully mounted birds from all over Iceland. A great spot to see how many... read more

Reviewed October 27, 2019
SESNoVA
,
Annandale, Virginia
Great variety of birds

Me and my friends were driving by and decided to stop and check out the bird museum and we were... read more

Reviewed July 13, 2019
Heidrunrut
,
Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland
Read all 75 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Reykjahlid
from $206.59
More Info
from $260.17
More Info
from $339.71
More Info
from $118.70
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
43
24
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
43
24
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a visit displays information species lake tribute landscape pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 75 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2017

A lovely museum to visit, not only it helps to see and therefore better recognize the birds that are flying all around, but also there are the eggs of the young and bits of information about the birds. Where they winter, where summer etc. all very informative

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Because my teenage daughters wanted to go there we went to this museum. Although I am not very keen on stuffed birds this little museum,I must admit,was quite interesting. The birds and eggs were presented in an fairly attractive room with much detailed information in different languages. All in all we stayed there for about an hour and enjoyed a lovely coffee outside of the little cafe. Staff was very friendly indeed.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank PIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

We spent an interesting hour in this museum. It was lovely and warm, an escape from the cold wind outside. There are hundreds of birds displayed in glass cases. Most are very well presented and labelled.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JoanBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

This is an extra when looking at birds on lake myvitn. The area around the museum seemed to have a greater variety of birds than elsewhere on the lake. Nice reserve cafe with scopes available and nice viewing area. All free. You pay to go into the museum itself. 7 cases of stuffed birds, beautifully displayed. There is a second hall round the back which was also good with a 1930 s motor boat used to transport locals across the lake and other artifacts. This is a quality reserve hq.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank C9120WYrichardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Went there last summer with my wife. Surprised I was the this museum was magnificent a hidden gem. Had some soup there also and it was ok. We will be back some day.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank VilliStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews