We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect restaurant but run by students.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is at a perfect location by a lake and the restaurant is very good. Like many hotels there are a lot of young people working but there seems to be no management and the service could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markwessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hallormsstadur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We received a room overlooking the lake - great!
In fact, the only - and BIG - disadvantage of this hotel is that there's no internet in the rooms, and in the lobby the connection is poor.
Breakfast was OK, room price was reasonable.
Don’t be tempted to take one of their cottages - they are so tiny that you can barely move around. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, not on the cottages.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came here on a recent hiking trip to Iceland and this was the hotel we stayed at when our hiking was finished. The hotel and restaurant were both fine - the restaurant buffet was actually exceptional and by itself should make staying here a priority.

Our room was very nice, almost identical to all the other hotels we stayed at on our trip. Had the weather been a little nicer there would have been more to enjoy on the terraces, lawn, etc. Our weather was a little wet and a little cool, and there was a power outage for several hours but this didn't seriously affect our comfort and enjoyment of the hotel.

Room Tip: No tips to share. We were very pleased with our 1st floor room which had a sliding-glass door and ex...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A beautiful resort in the forest with great views over the lake. Our room was large, bright and airy and overlooked the lake. There was a patio in front of our room with was nice to sit out on. There is also a nice outside sitting area with comfy couches and a hot tub. When we were there it was hot so it nice to sit outside. There are two restaurants to choose from, one Indian and the other was an extensive buffet with many traditional Icelandic dishes. Breakfast was very good with both hot and cold options and we ate it out on the deck as it lovely and warm. The staff were very welcoming. There are many nice walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

teh renovated rooms are far better than the average drab rooms. teh eating area for dinner, breakfast and bar is very light- lots of windows overlooking the lake. lots of trees- which you dont see much of in Iceland. The staff is very nice. The buffet is expensive but may be the only chance to try traditional Icelandic food such as reindeer.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room- 112 or 114 is the biggest of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked one of the 4 huts which belong to the hotel. It was really nice to sit on the small terrace, enjoying midsummer sun. They are rather spacious (compared to other places in Iceland). The best about this place is the view on the lake.

We also had dinner there for ISK 5.900,- per person. Had been ok, but by far not the promised gourmet buffet. We liked the starters most. There is an Indian restaurant there as well.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 4 huts!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I loved this place. It was located in a private area that was so beautiful and serene. My fiance and I went running in the evening and saw all sorts of flowers and birds. This place is truly beautiful, and we had a view of the lake. The Hotel is very clean and their eating area has lots of natural light.

We had the buffet dinner which was about 6000 Kr per person, but they offered everything from soup, salad, horse, lamb, smoked salmon....

The place was spacious and everyone here is super friendly! Highly recommend this place!! When I come back to Iceland, I will be coming back here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RedondoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallormsstadur
15.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
347 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
275 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
249 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
106 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hallormsstadur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hallormsstadur

Address: Hallormsstadur, Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir > Hallormsstadur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
Price Range: $166 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hallormsstadur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hallormsstadur is located in the largest forest in Iceland, Hallormsstad forest. With a enjoyable setting & views over Lagarfljot lake. The restaurant, open during summer season, will provide your tastebuds an adventure while your eyes feast on a magnificent view. All rooms are equipped with private bathrooms with a shower. Wifi available in public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hallormsstadur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing