We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A beautiful resort in the forest with great views over the lake. Our room was large, bright and airy and overlooked the lake. There was a patio in front of our room with was nice to sit out on. There is also a nice outside sitting area with comfy couches and a hot tub. When we were there it was hot so it nice to sit outside. There are two restaurants to choose from, one Indian and the other was an extensive buffet with many traditional Icelandic dishes. Breakfast was very good with both hot and cold options and we ate it out on the deck as it lovely and warm. The staff were very welcoming. There are many nice walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hallormsstadur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

teh renovated rooms are far better than the average drab rooms. teh eating area for dinner, breakfast and bar is very light- lots of windows overlooking the lake. lots of trees- which you dont see much of in Iceland. The staff is very nice. The buffet is expensive but may be the only chance to try traditional Icelandic food such as reindeer.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room- 112 or 114 is the biggest of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked one of the 4 huts which belong to the hotel. It was really nice to sit on the small terrace, enjoying midsummer sun. They are rather spacious (compared to other places in Iceland). The best about this place is the view on the lake.

We also had dinner there for ISK 5.900,- per person. Had been ok, but by far not the promised gourmet buffet. We liked the starters most. There is an Indian restaurant there as well.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 4 huts!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I loved this place. It was located in a private area that was so beautiful and serene. My fiance and I went running in the evening and saw all sorts of flowers and birds. This place is truly beautiful, and we had a view of the lake. The Hotel is very clean and their eating area has lots of natural light.

We had the buffet dinner which was about 6000 Kr per person, but they offered everything from soup, salad, horse, lamb, smoked salmon....

The place was spacious and everyone here is super friendly! Highly recommend this place!! When I come back to Iceland, I will be coming back here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RedondoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Iceland is fantastic place to visit. Almost all the tourist sites can be visited from the Ring Road and the Ring road is smooth and very well maintained. Rarely I met a dangerous hairpin ends despite the fact that the country is a mountainous terrain. And the Ring Road is not a roller coaster.

Bring lots of flash card memories for every five minutes you may want to stop the car and take photos.

Travelling through Iceland over fifteen days, sleeping in guesthouses,flats and hotels, it is difficult to suggest a perfect choice for all have their shortcomings and merits. Of course some are worse than others.

As we were three persons it was also difficult to find a triple room. Most of the time, the accommodation have hardly enough space for two and you can imagine how will it be with an additional bed.

Sometimes we left the luggage in the car because there was simply not enough space to put the luggage in the room ! As most of the time we spend only one day in an hotel, this is not a big issue but you might think about this solution. Almost all the time, they do not have elevators. So it will be better to book on the ground floor or check before.

Don't be impressed when they say "free wifi". Most of the time it is limited to a common place. Bought a Vodafone 3G Sim card which was one of the rare things surprisingly cheap and the internet worked all through Iceland.



The only hotel that gave satisfaction with comfortable space in the room was :

Hotel Hallormsstadur

Bring also your favorite CDs because do not expect the Icelandic radio, which is a musical tundra, to keep you company, as your ride.

Keep in mind that Reykjavik airport is the domestic airport and Keflavik airport is Reykjavik's International airport. This might be confusing. And the two airports are not next door to each other. And Keflavik airport has the particularity of proposing you duty free shopping, after landing. So if you did not have the time to purchase your booze, before taking the International flight you can always buy them after landing in Reykjavik Int.Keflavik airport.

Shopping ? Well, we bought some sweaters and we have yet to see the quality in the long run. When I was there, there was debate that sweaters Made In China seem to be mixed with the ones Made In Iceland.

If you want to be informed of festivals and activities in Iceland I would suggest the excellent journal Grapevine which is available free in some guesthouses and bookstores.

Iceland ? A landscape photographer's delight.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank PIERRE-QUI-ROULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here at the end of August 2012. Touris arranged this accommodation for us. Excellent choice.

Our room was very clean, modern and the beds were very comfortable. Hall lights are on motion detectors. Our room had patio doors which opened onto a small patio with a small table and chairs for our private use. Had a great sleep.

Breakfast was included and was served in a sun room with a stunning view. Food was excellent and included things such as oatmeal and pastries, along with the other typical Icelandic breakfast food.

Local crafts of high quality are sold in the hotel lobby.

Staff were polite and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Out of all of the hotels we stayed in Iceland this was the only hotel that disappointed us. We stayed in October and of course this is out of season for this resort hotel. They disappointed in the over all atmosphere given by the room set up and the attitude of the staff. There was no soap provided in the rooms. Instead they wanted you of use little bottles of soap liquid. Inadequate to use in the shower. When we asked about what they could provide in the way of soap or conditioner they informed us that the little bottles were all management provided and the staff could not do more. Hot water was only warm. Two lights had burned out in our room and no light bulbs were obtainable by the staff. They were short on bathroom tissues and toliet paper. I know this was out of season but the hotel was nearly full with not only our group staying there but another large group as well. It was obvious that the management wanted to provide the bear minimum. Hotel Hallormsstadur has a large amount of capabilities, since they are a resort, but they did not use what they had to accomodate. Again, we stayed in seven different hotels through out the country and Hotel Hallormsstadur was the only one that I could not give a recommendation to stay. My average rating was generous. The food at dinner was excellent and the breakfast was good. This is what gave them the three out of five rating.

Room Tip: Maybe you should stay at this hotel during the summer. I have heard the resort is very expensive, b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VA-Short-Term
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallormsstadur
15.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
348 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
276 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
251 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
106 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hallormsstadur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hallormsstadur

Address: Hallormsstadur, Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir > Hallormsstadur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
Price Range: $165 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hallormsstadur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hallormsstadur is located in the largest forest in Iceland, Hallormsstad forest. With a enjoyable setting & views over Lagarfljot lake. The restaurant, open during summer season, will provide your tastebuds an adventure while your eyes feast on a magnificent view. All rooms are equipped with private bathrooms with a shower. Wifi available in public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hallormsstadur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing