We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Salutation Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Salutation Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Crymych B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very comfortable hotel in remote part of Wales. The welcome was wonderful and John and Gwawr are delightful hosts. Breakfast is particularly good! Menu in the restaurant is of limited choice but very well cooked. Rooms are perfectly adequate with comfy beds. Plenty of hot water available for bath/shower.
Three of us stayed and would all recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Ferrisburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Salutation Inn was our first stop in Wales after having taken the ferry over from Ireland to Pembroke, and was a great introduction to Welsh hospitality. The Denleys, John and Gwawr, are wonderful hosts and great cooks. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well appointed. The confirmation had mentioned that there was no WiFi, so we took a break from communicating with the rest of the world for a few days. John gave us some wonderful ideas about walks to take in the area. The pub/dining room where we ate our evening meals (all delicious and beautifully presented) was attractive and cozy. The bright and airy breakfast room/conservatory, overlooking the gardens, was a great spot for enjoying our plentiful and delicious breakfasts. Having access to a laundry facility was a great convenience. The walk from right behind the Inn to the picturesque and historic village of Nevern was delightful. Another walk we took, at John's suggestion, along the coast in the Moylegrove area was spectacular. While the Inn is itself in a village with no other restaurants or inns, there is plenty to enjoy right at the Denley's Inn and it is a good base from which to visit Newport (more nice walks along the estuary), just a few miles away, and the many sights of the area.
We would certainly be happy to stay in the Salutation Inn on another visit to Felindre Farchog.

Room Tip: We had a great king-sized bed. I think the rooms, which are in a modern attached wing, are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermonters05473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was insufficiently heated for such a low exterior temperature and smelled damp. Good shower but very weak WiFi. In order to get the WiFi signal, you have to choose well your position in the room. The icing on the cake is that the WiFi password given at reception is only available for one hour, which is very problematic. Good breakfast except that the tea was systematically lukewarm. Friendly service. We only ate one evening there because, although the food was allright, the service was excessively slooooooooow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locking, Somerset
Level Contributor
277 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a freezing cold week staying at a cottage within walking distance of the Salutation. In all we visited three times, eating twice. The welcome was John & Gwawr was very warm, the beer was good and the food was excellent. Our dog was also welcomed in the smaller bar which is where the locals come to drink. The locals were also very friendly which isn't always the case elsewhere.

Next time we are in the area we'll be sure to return to the Salutation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed at this friendly Inn several times. The last time 4 of us stayed for 2 nights and toured around the beautiful local Welsh countryside. John and Gwawr always make us feel at home. The rooms are nicely appointed and quiet. The food, served in the bar, is very good. The delicious full breakfast is served in a quiet room adjacent to reception. There are some excellent beers on tap and an eclectic wine list. This place is also popular with many friendly and interesting local people . We always enjoy our stay and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Booked through Cardigan Bay tourist office on the day the welcome was very relaxed and warm. Stayed for two nights with springer spaniel in dedicated pet room. Ideal room location, ease of access for very open area for dog to stretch his legs. Never felt the dog was a hindrance to other guests or the owners. Food in bar was very good as was the beer. Breakfast was excellent in a very nice tranquil setting. All in all a very good stay, thanks to the hosts, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the experience very enjoyable. The hosts and their staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable experience in every way. My husband loved the food, well cooked, niceley presented and piping hot! Our room was spacious and comfortable and would recommend the Salutation Inn to my friends and will definitely stay there again when we have the opportunity of visiting Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crymych
3.6 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
9.0 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
116 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trewern Arms Hotel
Trewern Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nevern
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 19 in Newport -Trefdraeth
323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cnapan Guest House
Cnapan Guest House
#5 of 19 in Newport -Trefdraeth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salutation Inn

Property: The Salutation Inn
Address: Felindre Farchog, Crymych SA41 3UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Crymych
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crymych
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salutation Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned country Inn in the Pembrokeshire National Park ideally located for the coastal path. We have 8 en-suite letting bedrooms and home cooked food is served daily. We have a large car park ideally located for walks, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Salutation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing