We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor, landscaping and views”
Review of La Rougeanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rougeanne
Ranked #1 of 2 Moussoulens B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved everything. Quiet small village near Carcasonne. We stayed two nights. The first night we had dinner at Rougeanne and it was excellent with very generous portions. Our starter was a melon dish that is unique to the area. We also were served a very good and large chocolate mouse. The next night we ate in the village and wished we had dined at Rougeanne again. tMonique was helpful with directions and a booking of a boat trip on Canal midi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_Clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for La Rougeanne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

LA ROUGEANNE is a true paradise
a charming house well decorated surronnded by a lovely garden all created by Monique ans Paul andre
a very good traditional french cuisine
a unique region
we rent the entire estate for our family so it was exceptional holiday
i dont thing you can find something better.....
July2013 Jacques BERGHMANS

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERGHMANS J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are not able to get together too often as a family for holidays. Our son has just graduated and just before he starts his new job our daughter was able to arrange a few days from her busy schedule too. As usual, Mum's thorough research came up trumps in finding La Rougeanne. The beautiful house is very tastefully furnished and decorated and the welcome we received (in spite of a mistake on our part with the dates..... we called en route to explain our lateness only to find we had booked for the following day!) was genuinely warm, our hosts eager to please.
We stayed for four nights and ate dinner on three, so good was Monique's cooking.
A very special place with very special people, thank you so much.

Room Tip: Take what comes, you wont be disappointed. We had Tomette and Jasmin
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaPastyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here. The house is lovely, the room that we had was great , the food was good but the owner was really great. I liked her, she had excellent English and a Very freindly way about her.

Don't expect anything extraordinary. It's a good friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I first stayed at La Rougeanne nine years ago, about a year after Monique & Paul-André opened the house.
Nine years later, the hosts are still very welcoming, nice & charming. The house has evolved, of course, but it has kept the very spirit I fell in love with long ago: a quiet, peaceful house, beautifully renovated, facing the Montagnes Noires.
The new rooms are decorated with taste. I especially appreciated the old fashion bathtub in my bathroom —in the Chambre Acanthe.
And once again, I was able to enjoy breakfasts by the pool, aperitifs by the orangerie, and highly recommended restaurants —thanks to Monique— in the area.
Long story short: La Rougeanne has grown more beautiful, more charming than ever. I'll try not to wait nine more years before coming back.

Room Tip: The Chambre Acanthe is the one I stayed in this year. You can access a private garden and the Orange...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent 7 days altogether in this beautiful B & B, and enjoyed every minute of my stay.The atmosphere is wonderful - tastefully decorated rooms, classical music playing, extraordinary views from the terrace outside my room, and a warm welcome. The table d'hote evening meal is taken together with the other guests, and the food (all freshly cooked by Monique, using the best of local products) is wonderful. The room are beautiful, decorated with taste and simplicity. The swimming pool was a great place to relax in the afternoons, and as La Rougeanne only has 5 rooms, I enjoyed the luxury of having the entire pool to myself on two occasions. Monique could not have been more helpful, offering all kinds of interesting and useful information about where to eat and where to go. A perfectly relaxing and delightful B & B, close to Carcassonne. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful - you can ask for a family room if travelling with children
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

During a two week holiday in the Dordogne we decided to take a break and stay overnight near to Carcassonne which we had never visited. La Rougeanne is a charming Chambres d'hotes at Moussoulens which is in very interesting countryside 9 miles from Carcassonne. It is situated in wonderful mature walled gardens with a swimming pool. We booked an evening meal by the pool and the owner provided a vegetarian option for one of our group which is a real problem for anybody eating in France. I would recommend the hotel with some reservations and hopefully the owners will take these commence as constructive criticism and consider some revision to their process.

Arriving around midday we wanted to leave our luggage at the hotel. On pressing the entry phone and introducing ourselves the owner sounded somewhat underwhelmed and said that we could not have our rooms before 5pm. After some negotaiion the owner let us in and rather grumpily allowed us to leave our luggage. We absented ourselves until 5pm despite a real urge to use the pool. We returned at 5pm to be greeted by a rather more welcoming owner. This gave us a good 40 mins by the beautiful pool before the shade took over. At 7pm I visited the lounge and asked the owner for an aperitif but was told that this would be served at 8pm before supper. At 8pm we were called to a table to meet the other guests with whom we would be eating that evening. Whilst they were charming we would have preferred being asked if this was acceptable to us. There was no choice of an aperitif and we were served a rather poor local rose wine. There was an acceptable red wine served with a not very intesting meal. The owner'swife was away and had arranged for the meal to be prepared in advance and heated for us.

The rooms were very nice and it is a quiet setting. Madam returned at breakfast and provided an excellent breakfast and apologised for being absent.

France has a real problem providing customer service and this isn't the first place I have stayed where the owner was under the impression that he was providing a service for which we should be profoundly grateful and failed to show us any documentation stating th check-in was from 5pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moussoulens
8.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
La Bergerie
La Bergerie
#1 of 1 in Aragon
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau la Bouriette
Chateau la Bouriette
#2 of 2 in Moussoulens
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau de Moussoulens
Chateau de Moussoulens
#1 of 1 in Moussoulens
36 reviews
7.3 mi away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#4 of 53 in Carcassonne
151 reviews
17.2 mi away
Le Chai de Marguerite
Le Chai de Marguerite
#1 of 4 in Peyriac-Minervois
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rougeanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rougeanne

Address: 8 allee du Parc, 11170 Moussoulens, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Moussoulens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Moussoulens
Price Range: $131 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Rougeanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing