We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check reservations and double check any special needs”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort St. James
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check reservations and double check any special needs”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fort St James is a pretty small community with a lot of industry going on around it. That said, the hotels can all be booked up solid. Once you have a reservation, make sure you call to double check it and if you are going to be late call to let them know so that they don't release your room to someone else (for the entire length of your trip). I have to say once I showed up without a room anymore and the hotel was totally booked the staff were good at trying to find me another room in a different place and for putting me on a wait list. Unfortunately there was nowhere else but one member of our crew had a room with 2 beds so we were able to solve the problem internally but by hanging around the front desk you realize that there are a few slip ups here and there.

Currently, the elevator does not work so plan ahead that way too.

Positives and the polite and helpful staff and the fantastic view. The bed was comfortable as well but the room was way too hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheViewHotel, Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you lost your reservation due to not arriving on the scheduled reservation date. We understand it's important to contact the no-show guest as to whether they will still require a reservation for the remaining reservation dates.

Our elevator is still not installed; as we are a new property, we are on a waitlist for the installation and hope the elevator will be operational sometime in November. With regards to the room being too hot, we apologize that you were not informed that each and every room in the hotel has it's own thermostat and air-conditioning. We are happy to hear you did enjoy the beds, found the staff helpful, who are available 24 hours a day, and of course enjoyed the beautiful view of Stuart Lake. We hope you will stay with us again at The View Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    1
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
5
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

From one coast to another is a long way to travel - checking into The View made it all worthwhile. Upon checking in we were upgraded to a kitchenette. The rooms have a spa-like feeling; clean, comfortable and well appointed. Staff are friendly, outgoing and extremely helpful. Even helping us with our final stay in Prince George. The complimentary breakfast offers many items to choose from, including fresh fruit. And, the coffee pot is truly always on. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in that area. Like we said The View says it all! Awesome - from the sunrises to the gorgeous sunsets! Thanks for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a view of Stuart Lake. Sunsets are awesome. Mountains. What a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quickfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheViewHotel, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for such a complimentary review. The staff enjoyed having you and your family as guests in our hotel. We hope your trip home went smoothly and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Fort St. James.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at this brand new hotel last night, the sunset on Stuart Lake was amazing. My room was clean, new and comfortable with easy wifi. The Continental Breakfast is similar to most but you get to have your toast and coffee looking out on the lake. Staff very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake side. 2nd floor will give you a higher vantage point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheViewHotel, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The View Hotel and that the room and staff were efficient. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel and take advantage of our beautifully situated breakfast room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter, two grandchildren and I stayed at The View Hotel last week-end. The hotel is brand new and beautifully situated on the shores of Stuart Lake. Our room was lake view and absolutely gorgeous. The beds were very comfortable and everything appeared to be of very good quality. I'm sure it's the most beautiful hotel in the area and I hope to stay there again soon. The continental breakfast was delicious and there's plenty of room for everyone in the dining room that has a 'million dollar' view. Oh and the owners are very nice people too!

Room Tip: I don't know if there's a fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewantsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheViewHotel, Owner at The View Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your lake view room with our comfortable beds. We don't currenlty have a fitness centre in the hotel; however, it is in our future plans. We hope to see you and your family again at the hotel and take advantage of our beautifully situated breakfast room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family went to Fort St James to go skiing and stayed at The Veiw Hotel. It is brand new, very modern. Our room was very spacious, had a great kitchenette which was very clean and the beds were like heaven which everybody can appreciate after a fun day of skiing. The staff were accomadating, friendly and very professional. The name couldn't be more suiting as the "view" was spactacular the one night. It's been a while since we have stayed in such a nice, comfortable and clean hotel, we will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheViewHotel, Owner at The View Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review...our first one! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the stunning "view". We hope you will come back to visit and enjoy another weekend of skiing next year or visit us in the summer and spend a day on beautiful Stuart Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: 309 Stuart Dr. West | PO Box 69, Fort St. James, British Columbia V0J 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Fort St. James
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort St. James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View Hotel is located on the shores of Stuart Lake. Enjoy the beautiful sunsets, views of the lake and the mountains. We are a brand new hotel, for business class and tourists alike. The View Hotel is the only hotel in Fort St. James. Free wifi, microwave and fridge in every room, kitchenette units. The View Hotel....The place to stay in Fort St. James. The View Bistro and Lounge Now Open! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Fort St. James, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing