We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Country Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Four Oaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Country Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had one of the best weekend in 40 years of travelling at the George at Hatherleigh. It was quite sublime with excellent accommodation, superb and interesting food, and exceptional value for money. Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffanhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    95
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
47
254
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The George Inn has been re-built and furnished to a high standard. The décor is clean and fresh whilst retaining the character of the original inn that was destroyed by fire. The public areas are spacious and the bedroom we stayed in had good quality furnishings. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space; a small dressing table, easy chair and good sized, wall-mounted, flat-screen TV. Bed linen, towels, and toiletries were all of good quality and the beds were comfortable (mattresses like marshmallows) but did not have headboards. The room had tea-making facilities with biscuits and bottled mineral water provided.
The bathroom had stylish, ultra-modern fittings and the shower/wet room gave a good "watering can effect" drenching which was spot-on! However, the wet room could do with a good scrub to remove the build-up of soap residue that was turning some areas of the attractive stone flooring a slimy brown - a bit off-putting!!
The hotel describes itself as "boutique style". Whilst the definition is open to debate - and the inn has very nice, stylish accommodation - it is essentially a pub, with rooms, that serves food. It has the potential to be a first-class establishment, everything is in situ, but it falls down on the small details and the service lacks finesse.
The guide in the room was in a plastic folder reminiscent of those used for a school project; it looked cheap. However it did have lots of useful information, though lacked the sample menus it was stated to contain. Close reading revealed a few grammatical errors and the final pages were the "Hotel Rules" which detailed the dire consequences awaiting any guest who stepped out of line during their stay. I almost felt like getting legal advice before I dared un-pack and commit myself to staying the night!
The bar had a good selection of beers and lagers. We asked for a dinner menu - and were given one. One? There were two of us!! Oh well! The menu was very disappointing for a boutique hotel. Pie and mash, sausage (local, three) and mash, liver and onions, cod and chips, fish cakes, rump steak, mixed grill etc. BUT a couple of interesting vegetarian options. Fortunately there was also a Specials Board from which we made our choice. The Cajun sea bass was sadly over-cooked and the peppery spices completely obliterated any taste of the fish. The belly pork was tender but completely lacked any flavour and the crackling was not crisp. The accompanying vegetables - hmmmm - suffice to say that the individual taste and flavour was a little hard to distinguish; a rather sad affair! We had to ask for a serving spoon too. Overall not a memorable meal.
Breakfast promised better things. We were given a menu. One. There was good selection of croissants and pastries and a very good choice of cooked options : smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, eggs benedict and a jaw-dropping full English selection. Also, decent quality bread for the toast! It was just a pity that both the poached eggs and the fried eggs that we opted for were over-cooked - not a hint of runny yolk!
Strangely, at both dinner and breakfast, the place settings on every table had the side plates on the right. The young waitresses were very pleasant and hard-working and obviously doing there very best in a busy restaurant.
We had specifically booked a twin room. When we checked in at 5.15pm we were given a double-room. The error was rectified and we were told our room would be ready by 6.30pm; meanwhile we could have a drink in the bar whilst we waited. It would have been a thoughtful gesture to have been offered a complimentary drink whilst we waited for the room to be prepared - having been driving for most of the day and looking forward to a shower. As it was, we sat in the bar until 7.00pm when the bar manager (?) passed by and enquired if we had been told that our room was ready? No. Oh well.
Overall, the staff were well-meaning, hard-working, welcoming and good-natured. The hotel itself is really good. With good quality food, attention to detail and a little more finesse in the service, the inn could set itself apart from the competition and become a top place to stay in mid-Devon. It has some way to go yet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was really looking forward to my break away with my mum, we booked one of the voucher deals on offer.
I think what really frustrates me about places like the George is that it has the potential to be a great place but its the little things that they havent got right..
Looking at other reviews its exactly what i thought.
Breakfast was really bad, no milk, butter,jams/marmalades on table,in fact the milk carton was just left on the main dresser where people helped themselves, didnt look great! I asked for some semi-skimmed milk, and the young lady bought me the carton straight from the fridge!! and handed it to me! aagh..
Evening meal- the food was okay, but portions far to big,i love my food but i couldnt finish what i was eating and i noticed the couple accross from me leaving quite a lot on there plate, poor chef must have been thinking people didnt like his food?? Not great on the Hotels profit margins is it?
The rooms were really modern and was impressed, it was only later in th evening when i couldnt sleep due to generators/fridges/washing machines continually running most of the night and then 630am it all kicked in again, like a vibrating room- do not stay in room 11- such a shame, as view was great..
Also noticed on our second day that housekeeping didnt replace the shower gels and didnt even remove the empty ones which was a bit strange, it was a good job there was a small bar of soap by the sink..
The staff are friendly but seem to need more direction from someone more senior, rather than everyon flapping around like headless chickens, customer service just wasnt good, and it was such a shame..

Room Tip: maybe pick a room at the front of the building as room 11 was awful for noise, i think its above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a KGB deal.
The pub / hotel is lovely as it has been completely restored having been burnt down some years ago, so the rooms are excellent with great facilities ( almost ! ) No hair dryers !
The staff are mainly young and keen to please and so these are the good things about the George.
Now for the not so good things !
The meal we had was very ordinary , I had the pie of the day which could have been a "basics" pie from Tescos ...ok but nothing special at all. I would describe the food as quantity not quality and café style at best.. The portions are huge IMO and so if that is what you want as opposed to quality cooking and taste and flavour it is your sort of meal.
I believe the staff are not trained properly ...eg served toast with no butter, coffee with no milk , found a very dirty glass, my wife's side plate had the remains of food on it etc.
Ordered an irish coffee which was made with milk and not cream , and was served a mid brown colour when of course it should be jet black with a thick cream head ( the young lady who made it asked " that is made with whiskey isn't it ? "
We had no soap in the bathroom ( had to ask for some ) and no booklet with the hotel's details ie meal times , facilities etc. ..this arrived the following day !
The worst thing of all was that if you stay in our room ( no. 5 ) or some of the others next to it you will be kept awake most of the night as we were by the church clock which banged out a tune every hour throughout the night THEN STOPPED AT 8.00 AM IN THE MORNING !! How stupid is that ? Oh and our loo did not flush properly ( I will not go into details )
I would stay again but only on a deal that did not include a meal !

Room Tip: Do NOT have a room at the front unless you want to hear the church bells all through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisogara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault the rooms - I thought the room we stayed in was fantastic - but when you pay £110 you expect to be paying for the overall experience in a hotel too (the service and the food.) Unfortunately the service was terrible in the restaurant - both at dinner and breakfast. For breakfast, we came down at around 9 (breakfast finished at 10) but there were no tables fully set up, and a few hasn't been cleared. My boyfriend was given ultra watery coffee that didn't even look like coffee, and I wasn't served my tea until I'd finished my breakfast! The waitress just poured my boyfriend's watery coffee, and threw down an empty jug to put milk in ourselves! The breakfast itself wasn't that good, and so was dinner - I really don't rate the chef. It's a shame because the rooms are so good! If the food tasted better and the service was a lot better, I think it has the potential to be a really good place. I don't think I'll be recommending or visiting again though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljw92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is just perfect for a 'get away from it all' break. The rooms are spotless and spacious, the whole place is very tastefully decorated throughout and the staff are most helpful and professional. There is a good choice of breakfast, from a very generously sized full English to Eggs Benedict, croissants, smoked salmon etc...also cereals and yogurts. We ate in the restaurant one night as well and the food was of a very high standard, again, very generous portions, really tasty and nicely presented. There was no noise at night as Hatherleigh is a sleepy little village and the enormous bed was really comfy. The bathroom was very modern with a double-sized shower, sparkling clean and plenty of big, fluffy white towels. Can't fault the place at all, we would definitely return anytime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 688Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

an unbelievable renovation of this hotel. rooms and bathrooms like nothing else outside major cities. pub food was great, we had the specials on the evening which were very individual meals and more restaurant quality.
only moan was no iron available and water temperature, well ouch......., don't let your kids use the basins in the rooms.

Room Tip: go for an upgrade in your room, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
13.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
12.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing