We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a 2 nights stay at The George !
What a lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff, great location in a nice village, very good food and well worth a visit ! Look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watkiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    95
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
47
254
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

had another good deal from kgb,just happened we wanted to go back to hatherleigh,hotel outstanding,staff were brilliant,couldn,t have asked for better,food was very good,evening meal on friday,very tasty and big potions,if you want a light bite ,don,t order the chicken salad,unless you are starving ,huge,but very tasty,breakfast on both morning very nice,full english or just make up what you want.
this must be the friendlest village we have visited,and the music festival brilliant.,will definetly return again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for a two night break in this delightful hotel in the picturesque and interesting village of Hatherleigh.
We enjoyed a very clean, quiet and well appointed room with a wonderful deep bath (my husband said the most comfortable bath her had ever used!)
The breakfast was typically English, delicious and well presented and the dinner was also of a very good standard.
The staff were helpful and cheery and the only fault (which could easily be rectified) was the untidy state of the patio area at the back which was littered and covered in spent cigarette ends - hence the cleanliness rate - definitely for the outside space NOT inside.
There was a large car park which was extremely useful as most of the village parking is on a hill.
All in all we had a wonderful stay and cannot wait to re-book.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was quiet and well appointed with lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilibot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay!!!! Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. Room 8 was lovely, large comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and plenty of room. Towels are changed if u leave them on the floor as per all hotels, if u drape them over the door etc they expect u don't want them changed!!!!!(previous review) the hotel is run by two women who were really lovely and if u stay and drink in the place u get to know them and its far better... There was the hatherleigh festival on so was very busy but the staff were all smiles. We had our meal on the first night there and it was lovely.....what more do people expect on these deals......breakfast was great and my husband had the full English, which he said was one of the best he has had and I had poached eggs on brown toast which was really scrummy. Always tell a good chef when they can cook lovely poached eggs!!!! Decor throughout was excellent and so many comfy chairs. Large selection of wines, beers and spirits....love it when a place sell desperados lol x the menu was full of choice too and we ended up talking to the sous chef later in the evening too. I love going to places and spending the time to get to know the place u r staying in and the people. The people here are truly friendly and fun, I can't even remember going to bed on our first night lol but I know we had a good time....
Room was cleaned etc and restocked with water, biscuits etc too and as my husband had left his small had towel on the floor there was a new one on the bed along with new shampoo etc too. This ticked all the boxes and some more and would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. Truly a lovely place to come and just relax and we have been all over the world

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on KGB deal which of course makes it good value and one shouldn't complain - but I would not have paid full price to stay here.
There is plenty of space at back of hotel for car parking, not just a few spaces as one reviewer stated. The building itself has been beautifully renovated and is tastefully decorated and furnished.
Our room No.7 was very hot and stuffy as was the whole of the downstairs space too. When we left this morning I suggested that they might prop the front and the back doors open, at which the girl looked v.surprised and thought it an excellent idea! Why on earth didn't anyone think of that before ? We did ask if there was any air-con in the hotel at all, and were told "no".

The bed was big and comfortable with nice linens, a big wardrobe with drawers but only a very small dressing type table on which to stand things, and 1/2 of that was taken up with the teatray. Teatray was well-stocked and 2 bottles of water too, a nice touch.

Nice bathroom, modern, & big fluffy towels but again nowhere to put things apart from top of toilet cistern and back of the basin. There was one small towel rail so had to drape towels over top of shower doors.
Bedroom was tidied on our 1st morning, but the bathroom had not been touched. Towels draped around exactly as we'd left them and shower gel etc. not replenished so we resorted to using very small piece of soap supplied.
Be warned, there is no hairdrier in the room.
We ate there 1st night (as part of the deal) and it was so-so. My partner's steak, which he asked for medium-rare, was very thin and was "incinerated" really. Served on small plate on top of the chips so difficult to cut. This overcooked small steak cost £5 supplement. Actual menu price was £12.95 and certainly not worth that.
Staff were friendly but seemed untrained and disorganised.
Breakfast again so-so but nothing thought out. Why put cereal spoons over on serving table and not on the guests' tables ? Why put fruit juice glasses on guests' tables when the fruit juice has to be poured from the serving table ?
When our toast arrived, 3 small pats of butter were unceremoniously dumped straight onto the table! Just needs a bit more finesse. I don't know why they don't put a breakfast menu on the tables, then poor waitress wouldn't have to keep saying same things over and over again and guests would have time to choose.

When we asked for Pimms at the bar, he asked if we wanted ice, then asked if we wanted fruit in it - surely its not a Pimms without.

Despite sounding negative, we enjoyed our stay but would not come again. We generally find Tripadvisor reviews to be a good guide, but thought them rather over the top for this hotel.
The Tally Ho pub over the road has a good menu at good prices, good ambience and good staff and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamJar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights mid July, really couldn't find fault, lovely young staff in kitchen bar, and houskeeping - the building has been completely rebuilt after a fire destroyed the place, (I gather an ex-employee is still doing time) It has been re-constructed to an excellent standard, to the original specification. The breakfast is good, old fashioned English fare, so tasty I would guess ingredients are sourced locally, no arty, farty items on the breakfast menu just good old bacon, sausage, eggs etc - and really delicious 'set you up for the day' sort of meal. We also had dinner one evening which was OK, though I did think the dinner menu lacked innovation - but as long as you are not expecting haute cuisine you will be OK , there was nothing left on my plate so I have no complaints. Hatherleigh is a great centre for exploring, Exmoor and Dartmoor (between the two) and all the surrounding villages. There is an interesting 'Charge of the Light Brigade' memorial a mile from the town - and if anyone can tell me what the large concrete bell shape is alongside the memorial is, I would be obliged.
The standard of the rooms is excellent, everything you could wish for and very comfortable, go there you won't be disappointed.
The 2 nights we stayed we were experiencing a rare heatwave and found it necessary to sleep with the windows open - the church bell tower is a matter of a few yards from the hotel and chimes every quarter of an hour - shouldn't complain really but it did ware just a bit thin.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard - next time I will ask if there is a 'quiet' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here like many people on a kgb deal at 99 pounds for 2 nights including 1 evening meal and 2 breakfasts, it was an absolute bargain. We have previously stayed here and we enjoyed that stay as well.
The hotel is well situated, you have dartmoor close by and you are within 30 minutes of Bude and torbay by car. Hatherleigh is quiet and there are a few walks in and around hatherleigh.
The rooms are modern and tastefully decorated. Staff are friendly and helpful.
The food was very good, we ate in both nights and we enjoyed the food. The breakfast was very good.
Well recommended stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
13.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
12.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing