We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked two nights through KGB and have to say this is the best hotel deal so far. We expected just a "pub" with rooms, but were very pleasantly surprised. Inside is a total surprise and the refurbishment is a real compliment as you walk up the stairs. Our room No. 7 was absolutely lovely, large, super king size bed, large en suite with power shower and everything was spotlessly clean. hospitality tray refreshed each day as were the towels. Free WiFi was easily accessed. Staff were lovely, very welcoming and friendly from the minute we arrived. Restaurant meals had a wide choice, food was hot and very well presented - delicious. Breakfast was fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts and cooked breakfast of your choice, toast, butter and assortment of jams/marmalade. There is a courtyard off the restaurant which was really enjoyable to relax and enjoy a drink in the sunshine. Car park is at the back and easy to carry your luggage through the courtyard into the building. Hatherleigh is a really lovely quaint place to walk around with craft shops, cafes, there is a Co-op and petrol station. The old church is worth a visit on your walk around. The next day it was raining and we drove to Port Isaac and then on to Boscastle which was ideal for our second day. I would highly recommend the George to anyone we had a really lovely visit and would most definitely consider a return trip. Apparently if you upgrade the rooms 1-4 have roll top bath and 4 poster bed so may try that next time.

Room Tip: Definitely five the George a try you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 421 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

The George was incredible! I cannot say enough good things about it. Nestled in the quaint country town of Hatherleigh it, and the town, is warm and inviting. The staff was wonderful, the room was clean and comfortable and the food at the restaurant is delicious. I would strongly recommend The George for anyone looking to stay in Hatherleigh and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenF920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed two nights on a KGB deal in a standard room. The room was a good size with a nice bathroom with powerful shower. Everything was very clean and the room well furnished although lacking in much information regarding the hotel and local area. The bed was large and comfortable. Food in the restaurant at night was very good with excellent service and nice wines at reasonable prices. Breakfast was good but a menu would be useful when choosing what to have for the cooked breakfast. The bar stocked a couple of good cask ales. Staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The George Hotel was booked with the KGB deal. We had read a few reviews earlier in the year and they were mixed and not that great. THANK GOODNESS we IGNORED THEM, we have just returned from a fabulous weekend away. The hotel is a very old Thatched building that has been completely remodernised/built due to a fire and it is a beautiful ! The rooms are all a bit different and decorated in soft Farrow and Ball type colours, we had room 14 which looked over the back of the hotel with amazing views over the hills and wood.(our friends had room 9 a very large room on the ground floor with disabled facilities - but again very nice room ) We had a wet room type ensuite which was lovely with a really powerful large head drenching shower (ladies they provide shower caps in the room) along with shampoo and shower gel and body cream, and even a little sweing kit - what a lovely gesture, we have stayed in much more expensive hotels and just got the non descript shower gel that hangs in a horrible plastic container on the wall!! The house keeping is immaculate and our towels were even changed the next day (which we did not expects these days but was nice).

We had breakfast each day in the hotel which was large- I had to drop down to poached egg on toast the next day,with lashing of hot tea or coffee and toast on tap with selection of jams, cerial and yogurts.

We had an evening meal on the Saturday night which we could not fault everything from starter to pud was delicious - Well done chef. The bar staff were so friendly and welcoming and made us feel such special guests. We will never forget their hositality and would love to return some time in the future (we live approx 6 hours drive away) otherwise we would book back in again like a shot.

The little village of Hatherleigh is so pretty with a few shops and other pubs, the pottery shop/workshop is well worth a visit and nice to just wonder around.

Room Tip: Room 14 is on the back of hotel looking over trees and hills I did not see the other rooms, but unde...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelofthemorning_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Westayed here for two nights last week. I had read the trip advisor reviews which recommended upgrading to one of rooms 1-4 - We had room 1 which was fabulous, free standing bath in room with a 4 poster bed and a big arched window overlooking the square. Caught a glimpse of 'lesser' rooms which to be honest looked perfectly adequate. The village was bigger thanweexpected and fine for a little mooch around. Food wasn't fantastic but was very acceptable and I know they've got a new chef. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpfully. We had a lovelystayand the location is ideal for exploring the north Devon coast, the southdevon coast and dartmoor area. I know this hotel burnt down 2 years ago and has had mixed reviews since but we had a fantastic stay, made fab by the lovely staff. The rebuild has been done to very high specs and there was nothing I would complain about. Recommended unless youare really really fussy about your food in which case I'd say go for the whitebait and the sole, there was also some very reasonably proced wines

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to rooms 1-4 - room 1 is the best - very comfy and enormous 4 poster bed
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We purchased a KGB deal for a 2 night stay in the George including a meal on our first night and breakfast both mornings.
The hotel is beautifully decorated with a lovely bar area, though no reception, so you have to ask at the bar when you check in.
Our room (3) was STUNNING with a HUGE 4 poster bed and a roll top bath on a raised tiled platform next to the bed, the furniture was all beautiful and in keeping with the rusitc 'olde worlde' style of the hotel.
Upon arriving, we met Paul who was there covering as management was ill. He works for @leisure, the company who own the pub, he was lovely abd incredibly welcoming, showing us up to the room and explaining what was in the surrounding area. We were looking for some food at around 4pm and the kitchen was closed in the hotel, he very kindly offered to make us sandwiches, but we went next door to the lovely cafe and got a snack there.
Hatherleigh itself is very small, but pleasant, the only pubs are the george and another just up the road called the tally ho. Its 7 miles from Okehampton which i believe is the closest of the bigger towns.
On our first night we ate in the restaurant and the food was beautiful, we had chicken wings and crab cakes to start followed by a lamb special. I was a little disappointed that if you ordered off the specials menu it was an additional £5 if you were on KGB, as the price of the specials was the same as on the main menu, but we accepted that and it was worth it.
On our 2nd day there, after a lovely nights sleep (which would have been lovelier had we been able to turn down the heating in our room!) we ventured out on a walk along the river in Hatherleigh, and then drove up to Bude for the afternoon/evening, which was gorgeous as it was so sunny.
We returned to the hotel having eaten fish and chips in bude and had a quiet night and relaxing bath in the room before departing the next day. The breakfasts were very nice, though there was no breakfast menu which would be a nice addition. The sausages were the best i have ever had on a cooked breakfast, unfortunately the bacon was very undercooekd, however that is personal taste, and i am sure they would have cooked it more had i thought to complain.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and welcoming. Our only negatives were that we couldnt adjust the heating so it was very stuffy in our rooms (we did tell them about this though and they endeavoured to fix it but as it is underfloor heating it takes far longer to cool down).
Otherwise a lovely stay that i would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was a little worried that The George was not going to be as good as our previous stays after reading recent reviews. However, I found everything to be very good. When I booked the only room available was the ground floor disabled room due to the popularity of KGB deals. We did not have the deal ourselves. We like to stay at The George to break up the journey to Cornwall and just stay for one night. We found the room to be a very good size and the disabled facilities in the bathroom did not cause us a problem. We ate in the restaurant, the meal was very good as was the breakfast the following morning. The hotel was much busier than it had been last year. Much better than it being too quiet. We hope to return again next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms. All were excellent. Some have showers, some have baths and some...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyhally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
9.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
585 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
257 reviews
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
9.8 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range: $135 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing