We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$99
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Percy's Hotel(Virginstow)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
250
100
48
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
100
48
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomroll top bathposter bedthe pubtwo nightson arrivallovely hoteldisabled roomcar parkgreat showergreat weekendyogurtwarm welcomelovely rooma lovely stayfull english breakfastdartmoor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 433 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The George is a fab place, we stayed in room 5,which had a sleigh bed,which was very comfortable a modern bathroom,the only downside was that the room was very warm at night & the window did'nt open that much,a fridge in the room would have been nice, you have tea/coffee provided,it would have been nice to have stayed in a room with a four poster bed & free standing bath (request this if you can) the staff are lovely & are happy to help,breakfast is fab too!! Hatherleigh is a quaint little town & is quiet, you can get to many places from here,we visited clovelly (40mins drive away approx), very steep cobbled place but lovely, about half mile down to beach, the worst is climbing back up, but you can stop & have a beer, cream tea etc to help you on your way ;-) (not suitable for wheelchairs or those with walking difficulties,pushchairs were struggling too)!! would def return to the George, keep up the good work

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank michelle31Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My partner and I have just enjoyed, despite a far from auspicious start, a short break at this jewel of a hotel, having tried unsuccessfully to book further nights due to the hotel being fully booked which was hardly surprising given the ambience and decor of this recently restored building. The inauspicious start was due to my arriving at the front door of the hotel suffering from an acute attack of food poisoning and having to be virtually carried into the hotel by an off-duty chef and neighbour from across the road. The next twelve hours were spent twixt and between bedroom and bathroom! Fortunately the next morning I had recovered sufficiently to be able to appreciate the decor of the large newly-decorated and spotless bedroom which, a neat touch, had complimentary bottles of water in addition to the other usual facilities, and the spacious bathroom with its toiletries and pristine white towels. (NB. take care with the hot water which is REALLY REALLY hot!). The bed was extremely comfortable and the linen etc crisp. During the whole of our short stay, the staff were very solicitous as to my welfare and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Given my delcate condition, my breakfast was somewhat limited the first morning but my partner has a more than adequate choice (including fresh fruit) and both of us took full advantage of and enjoyment in the meal on our second day. We have rarely if ever stayed in a hotel which had so few faults, such faults as there were being miniscule and not detrimental to the overall impression. And to top it all, we could take our dog! A big thankyou to all the staff at the George and, rest assured, if the opportunity occurs, we will be back! NB. Finding the car park IS difficult but if on entering the town over the bridge you proceed up the hill, take the first left, then turn immediately right opposite the bank and drive up the outside of the market (public) car-park, you will find the hotel car-park on your right! Simples!

Room Tip: We had Room 5 which was fine but Room 4 has a four-poster bed!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a K G B deal with the George so we didn't pay the full price, first ,the menu that you see on their site isn't the menu you get when you arrive, it has been greatly reduced in choice, next, the room was very comfortable except for the heat , no air con, they spend millions on the refurbishment and forget to install the air con units, apparently it is cooler in the rooms at the rear of the hotel, next the choice at breakfast,(or lack of it), a couple of different cereals, no fresh fruit or croissants and if you don't like butter, then you would have to bring your own Flora as they do not keep any flora on the premises, the staff were friendly but in the bar area some of the locals are a little vocal with there language (Foul) no doubt if we were to use foul language in front of there family , they would probably chin you, still after these comments we would not consider returning to the hotel for a stay, especially when you would have to pay the full rate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Food was excellent. We had dinner and breakfast. Breakfast chef, friendly and chatty.

The bedroom was very very comfortable and beautifully decorated. They have done a really good job with refurbishing this hotel. The public areas and our room were of an excellent high quality.

If in the area again I would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PipLongsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed at the George for two nights 30th and 31st of July on a groupon deal .my partner and i had booked it a few months ago, on arrival in this pretty village we had a very warm welcome very friendly. we were lucky enough to have booked room 1 and wow what a room. iv'e stayed in some nice rooms but for a small village inn this was outstanding. Huge four poster bed, huge bath, stunning wet/shower room, waterproof TV with LCD lights and a waterproof remote .... and yes a Bottle of wine too. My Partner being 6ft was in awe... Could of just stayed in the room for the entire stay.. We ate in the restaurant the first night very good if just a tad pricey.... both for the food and drink.... Breakfast on the first morning was superb well presented and plenty of choice second morning was a shambles waited over an hour for our breakfast ( forgot us had to ask twice ) no juice no glasses no bread..... in all fairness the waitress said everyone arrived at the same time but dont think one waitress is enough.. but it was fine in the end.. one suggestion the room has a huge window and the whole village can look in and see you so if your in the bath you have to keep pulling the heavy curtains thin vertical or roller blind would be good.. All in All excellent stay, great place, brilliant staff, awesome room well worth a visit..... Thankyou all..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews