We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel, with interesting 'moments'”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed on a Groupon deal and when booked I cheekily asked for room 1 to be told (very quickly) it was booked, so held little hope for what we would get But was amazed, the hotel was so nice (parking at rear which we didnt realise). Reception is unclear but by going to the bar we were helped instantly and it was really friendly service. The room we were allocated was FAB (room 3), large room, free standing bath in the room, four poster bed and good ensuite. Plus points - great room, good helpful staff. Negatives - Lack of toiletries (the white co order hadnt arrived BUT if we had travelled without shower gel we sould have been stuffed). Many things not available on evening meal menu (no fish/seafood though half the menu was encompassing this (fish man didnt deliver?), no pannacotta. we ordered starters and mains. We were served ours mains, the starters were overlooked. we declined waiting for the starters! offered an after dinner drink as an apolgy, asked for a baileys, no they didnt have any!.
Sleep was restless as the room was boiling hot (no heating on but no way of cooling room either) and w had to open the window onto the main street (it was quiet and cooling but a lowish sash window and i felt uneasy)
Breakfast = FAB
When checking out was charged for 2 bottles of wine we hadnt had, knocked off bill no hassle but... watch your tab!!
Overall, was a good welcome, fabulous room, lovely hotel, staff were friendly, and we would return for the same price (£65)

Room Tip: ask for room 1, thats the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 425 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

We thought the rebuild of the hotel was amazing. Stayed in room with great four poster, roll top bath in the bedroom and separate wet room. Loved the styling of the hotel and the attention to detail. Saff were friendly and helpful and there was an excellent choice of food for the evening meal. Loved the breakfast - more smoked salmon with my scrambled egg than I have ever seen on a single plate.

Room Tip: Ask for room one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreboroughLIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel has taken notice of feedback from previous trip-advisors. It now provides tea making in the room along with everything else you would expect from a good hotel. We were in room no. 1. This was a large well furnished room with 4 poster bed and a wetroom. It had the quirky features of a bath tub in the middle of the bedroom, a waterproof TV with flashing disco lights (!?!) and a very large window that had no net curtain. Great for exhibitionists and those wanting to re-enact "Life of Brian" scetches. (He's not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy!)
The staff were friendly and the service slow by city standards. Although this hotel is in a small town it is ideal for those wanting a relaxed country retreat from which to explore the moors and National Trust attractions like Lydford Gorge.
The eating area is more like a country pub than a hotel. The food was certainly up to restaurant standards, the breakfast was really delicious and the beer was as good as most pubs.
This was a memorable hotel for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 for an unusual experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JewelHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had the Groupon offer & for this it was a really pleasant evening and good value for the money. Our room was of a really high standard (Room 7) although the new kettle made the water taste of burnt plastic. Dinner was excellent for my wife (belly pork) but mine was really spoilt by the poor quality chips. For such a lovely menu this matter should be addressed and when I spoke to the manager she didn't seem to be bothered so I suspect the same chips will be used in future. Also no small gesture of goodwill was offered. We had to wait for a long time for breakfast but when it arrived it was good.
The hotel was superbly refurbished and was a pleasure to see

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank john402204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at The George to break up the journey to Cornwall. Booked a double room on laterooms for £70. We were given a super room (unexpected). Stand free claw foot bath in the bedroom. Wet room with monsoon shower and twin sinks. Room was lovely but the extractor fan above the bath was noisy and did disturb my sleep. If a light sleeper it would be better to be in a room without a bath.
Had an excellent meal in the restaurant and a very good breakfast.
Hatherleigh is a quiet village. There is a pub the Tally Ho across the road which we visited for a drink after our meal. You don't really need to leave The George though. It is immaculate!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyhally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My belly of pork for dinner was delicious and beautifully presented, in stark contrast to the Crème brûlée, which was everything other than what one would expect in consistency and taste (inedible). The room was tidy & the bed comfortable, although we had to ask the staff to provide us with missing toiletries. The highlight however, was being called post departure and accused of stealing the tea & coffee making facilities. In fact they had failed to provide us with them in the first place. Not a hint of an apology from the hotel manager on realising their own mistake.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Booked through Groupon, one night stay at the George, Hatherleigh. Disappointed with the size of room, not worth full price but everything else exceeded expectations. Bubbly as first drink with meal, gorgeous food, cooked to perfection. All staff welcoming and helpful, would like to return again and would recommend to others. Stayed in Room 12, ventilation system could be heard but not disturbing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightnurse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
406 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range: $137 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing