We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mare Nostrum
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sveti Petar
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Mare Nostrum Hotel is an excellent choice for anyone staying in Zadar. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food for breakfast. The location was ideal for us as we had a hire car. It is only a 15 minute drive to Zadar where it is easy to find cheap parking right in the town centre. The hotel itself has free parking. The view from the hotel is stunning.

To anyone travelling to Zadar, it is a lovely town with plenty of culture and good restaurants, cafes and bars. As we had a car we travelled to the sandy beach at Nin. I would recommend this beach to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

The rooms are clean and airconditioned.
Buffet breakfast with large choice.
Dinner (half-board) good value for money and also 'à la carte' possible
Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prika-team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Excelent location, excelent service, very good value

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This small hotel was lovely. The rooms were a good size, with a balcony, and were cleaned daily. The staff were fantastic, they went out of their way to help us and were extremely friendly. There was a good buffet breakfast, with a vast amount of food all good quality. You could walk straight out of the hotel on to a beautfiul quiet beach (which was pebble/rocky but so is everywhere in Croatia) or use a sun-lounger.
The only slight downside was the location, as unless you have a car it is quite difficult to get to places. I would recommend renting a car as there are some beautiful places quite nearby which are great for day trips, including the National Park Krka which is stunning. Also Zadar town is only a ten minute drive, and the hotel is also near the airport.
Overall I would definitely recoomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We've just returned from a three night stay in this wonderful family-run hotel. Everything was lovely but what made it memorable was the fantastic hospitality and generosity shown by the family. I'd recommend it whole-heartedly

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernyWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Friendly, family run hotel. Nothing to much bother. Excellent service, fresh towels and linen daily, kept really clean.
A little remote, a car helpful but not essential.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We recently stayed 5 glorious days at this hotel which enjoys a superb location overlooking the sea.
Beautiful views from the front facing room with balcony - just so wonderful to gaze out at such a stunning vista. The family who run this hotel were so helpful and informative - they were delightful - a very warm welcome, and indeed a fond farewell. The food was surprisingly good - freshly cooked and delicious. The overall cleanliness was superb - polished and spotless throughout, with lovely white bed linen and towels. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and look forward to a return visit. A special thanks to Luca for great gin & tonics - you really are both professional and personable - a delight to meet - cheers Luca!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sveti Petar
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ilirija
Hotel Ilirija
#2 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
211 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#3 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Donat
Hotel Villa Donat
#3 of 6 in Sveti Filip i Jakov
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#5 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
102 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 5 in Sukosan
27 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crvena Luka Apartments & Villas
Crvena Luka Apartments & Villas
#1 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Nostrum

Address: Sv .Petar 375b | 23207 Sv.Filip i Jakov, Sveti Petar 23207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Sveti Petar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sveti Petar
Price Range: $81 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Sveti Petar
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Croatia/Sveti Petar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing