We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little hotel”
Review of Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mare Nostrum
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sveti Petar
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay in Sept '08. Overall I would recommend it to everyone, unless you want a hotel in the town centre or you don't have a car.

Pros - clean bedrooms, quiet (ie so easy to sleep), very friendly and helpful staff, right on the beach so we had a lovely view of the sea from our balcony (although didn't actually go to the beach as was a bit chilly for that), well signposted and easy to find on a main road that runs all the way down the coast to Dubrovnik and beyond.

Cons - you need a car as it is about 15min drive from Zadar. We had a car so was fine, and it was a good base to do a day-trip to Zadar, a day-trip to Krka National Park, and a day-trip round the Kornati archipelago on a boat. Also the car-park there is quite awkward to park and drive into and out of due to cars parking whereever they want (ie not in proper bays) and a sharp turn as you drive into and out of the car-park.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emperorpenguin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2008

If looking for a nice and peaceful place to stay at the beach, this is an excellente choice.
This is a small family runned hotel with private beach and on just 10minutes driving from Zadar.
Breakfast was buffet, with lots of things (from cheese and ham to marmelades, drinks, fruite...).
We had also a dinner in the restaurant and it was very good.
Once we registred, nobody was asking us again for the room no. or name, thay would just know who we are and what we were ordering in the morning for the evening (even if there were different persons working).
And the view from the terasse, amazing.
Rooms were not big, but were comfortabile with SAT-TV and AC.
Would definitly come back again and would recommend this to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NaviDominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We spent one night in this wonderful hotel and were impressed with the high level of service and fantastic waterfront location. The room was both cosy and clean (although the bathroom was quite small) and we had a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the water. We ate in the hotel dining room which was of a good standard and reasonably priced. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Zadar area.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jane22Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

The views over the sea to the islands from our room and balcony, the enormous breakfasts, tasty evening meals, the beach and accomodation are so far above the price range.
And it gets better - our stay at the Mare Nostrum was our first with our baby son. The hoteliers and their staff made our holiday. They were so considerate both of ourselves and the others guests. We couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SIDESH0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I stayed 2 nights at the hotel end August 2006. It is a recent small hotel with nice and helpful staff. Its main advantage is the direct access to a pleasant beach.

The hotel is located 15 km south of Zadar. There's no much activity around and access without car may be difficult. I therefore advise only people with cars to consider this hotel. There are few small towns around with much beach activity at night or Zadar itself.

Rooms are of average size, all having balcony with sea view. Some of them are situated in front of the sea, providing a better view and isolation from the road (which is quiet close). As the hotel is recent, it is in good shape. It's a pity that water pipes are not well isolated, so that you I could hear my neighbour's' bathroom noise. Curtains are not thick enough, which allows too much light to penetrate the room in the morning.

Breakfast is simple but of decent quality.

In summary, an above average hotel which may be considered especially if you're looking for easy access to the beach.

Stayed: August 2006
9  Thank eylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MartamariaGiovinazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones con vistas al mar son deliciosas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angels N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sveti Petar
4.7 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#3 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
84 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#5 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sv. Petar
Villa Sv. Petar
#2 of 5 in Sveti Petar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Markusi
#1 of 5 in Sveti Petar
1 reviews
1 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Esperanca
#2 of 2 in Sveti Petar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Nostrum

Address: Sv .Petar 375b | 23207 Sv.Filip i Jakov, Sveti Petar 23207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Sveti Petar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sveti Petar
Price Range: $84 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Sveti Petar
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Croatia/Sveti Petar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing