We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service, average room and resort.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mare Nostrum
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sveti Petar
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and service, average room and resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights in July after seeing reviews on here.
The location (right on the sea) is perfect, but the resort itself wasn't great. I would definitely only recommend to those with a car.
Not many options for restaurants within walking distance, though the food in the hotel was very good and well priced.
Room was dissapointing. Not as clean as it could have been and had been patched up (rather roughly) in places. In contrast, view from balcony was superb!
Staff very friendly and amenable, spoke very good English.
In summary it suited us well as we were visiting the area (Zadar, Patlenika) and were able to relax in the garden overlooking the sea after day trips. Might not suit those looking to spend a lot of time in the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25yoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This hotel has fantastic views is right on the beach, very calm and peaceful. Good breakfast. However we arrived just before 2pm and were told our room wasn't ready. We were told it was due to the cleaning company not having delivered the sheets. We sat on the terrace and had a drink. An hour laterand still no room so we ordered lunch and more drinks. We had no car so were rather stuck. Eventually we were told it was ready after 5pm. Nothing was taken off the bill..a small gesture would have helped.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

family run hotel with about 20 rooms located between major road with heavy traffic and a very narrow pebble beach. all rooms with balcony and (partial) sea view. Rooms are very small with only basic furniture but dozens of mosquitos. A/C didn't work and no fridge to chill drinks or snacks.
Breakfast buffet was also very basic and you need to be there early to have any choices.
This hotels was one of the cheaper ones in the area but this part of Croatia's coast isn't really worth a stoppover.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oeddel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We just "happened" upon this hotel after a full day of driving and sightseeing and boy were we lucky! We were greeted warmly at this small hotel right on the sea and spent a quiet evening on the terrace overlooking the blue, blue water. The owners (family owned) went out of their way several times for us. They were always helpful and gracious. The breakfast buffet was a nice addition to a terrific accomodation. For us, this was all a wonderful surprise package wrapped up with a pretty bow. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjosetrvlngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

About 25 minutes bus from Zadar bus station. If arriving by bus make sure you ask driver to drop you at the bus stop just as you come into Sveti Peter. Then it’s about a 5 minute walk to hotel but there is a lack of footpath along the main road.
10 minutes from Zadar airport by taxi. Around 2000 Kn.

Hotel rooms are very clean with balcony. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is very good. Choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit, juices, tea and coffee, bread rolls, toast, jams, boiled eggs and chocolate croissants.
Main meals are of a good standard and reasonably priced (even with the Pound Sterling as it is) working on a rate of £1 – Kn8

The Mare Nostrum is great if you want to get away from it all and relax.
Hotel is very well situated on the waters edge 5 metres from the decking area of the hotel.

The sea is great (but not for toddlers) and is pebbly but water still warm in September.

Great to have a drink and watch the sunset go down.

Apart from the hotel for meals there is a restaurant over the road (closed when we were there) and found a small pizzeria restaurant near the bus stop towards Zadar. The only other place I found was a very small local bar/cafe a 2 minute walk away. For nightlife the best bet would be either bus/taxi to Zadar or the closer resort of Biograd which is about 10 minutes by bus. There are a lot of bars and restaurants there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19zico67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

This is a wonderful, welcoming hotel. The staff are brilliant. With only the hotels terrace between you and the sea, it's great for a refreshing dip or sitting enjoying a drink and the view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Mare Nostrum Hotel is an excellent choice for anyone staying in Zadar. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food for breakfast. The location was ideal for us as we had a hire car. It is only a 15 minute drive to Zadar where it is easy to find cheap parking right in the town centre. The hotel itself has free parking. The view from the hotel is stunning.

To anyone travelling to Zadar, it is a lovely town with plenty of culture and good restaurants, cafes and bars. As we had a car we travelled to the sandy beach at Nin. I would recommend this beach to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sveti Petar
18.3 mi away
Zaton Holiday Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#4 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pinija Hotel
Pinija Hotel
#2 of 9 in Petrcane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#6 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#5 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Esperanca
#2 of 2 in Sveti Petar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Nostrum

Property: Mare Nostrum
Address: Sv .Petar 375b | 23207 Sv.Filip i Jakov, Sveti Petar 23207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Sveti Petar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sveti Petar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Sveti Petar
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Croatia/Sveti Petar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing