We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Kaposvar”
Review of Hotel Dorottya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dorottya
Ranked #2 of 12 Kaposvar B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of Kaposvar. I travel all the time for work and leisure and have very high standards when it comes to hotels. This hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean, modern, and nicely appointed. They have a free parking lot right next to the hotel, which is rare to find in many European cities. The breakfast offered each morning was delicious and offered a wide variety of items. The staff was kind and helpful, especially Sandor, who was in charge of breakfast. Sandor was so warm and welcoming, and we really enjoyed speaking with him each morning. He clearly took pride in his work and was always ready to help. My group also traveled to Lake Balaton and Budapest after Kaposvar, and we all agreed that staying at Hotel Dorottya in Kaposvar was our favorite part of our trip to Hungary. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms face the street so there is some noise, but it was not excessive. I am a light sleeper and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dorottya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Outstanding hotel in central Kaposvar. we were in a wide, perfectly clean and very comfortable standard suite (room 111, first floor, 83 euro for a double). high quality bed, two tables to work, extremely silent, spacious, fast wifi and parking in a private courtyard are free. the bathroom is wide and there is a very nice shower. We had to leave early and the staff arranged an early breakfast at 6.30 (eggs and bacon, vegetables, fresh fruits, bread...) The building was recently renovated and they keep a very nice liberty art-deco' style.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a traditional 4 star hotel near the centre of Kaposvár. People are very kind. The interior is wonderful handwork made from veneer. Today it is rare to see wood even in high level hotels...
Unfortunately the restaurant is not open yet (07/10/2013), but last time the breakfast was served in and I had chance to see it....it is very nice I hope they will open it soon.
The only unfortunate thing, that the hotel doesn't have fitness room and sauna. Otherwise this is a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel impressed us from the moment we walked in. They had most of the check-in paperwork completed for us and had the room setup for us. We asked for one of the superior suites and it was impressive. The room was quite large. There was a second Water Closet and a huge first bathroom. The room included a nespresso (brand name) machine and that was great for getting going in the morning before breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast, the sausage and cheeses were amazingly fresh and tasty. There was also a great selection of teas as well as another espresso machine. They also had syrups for making Italian sodas as well as good juice. It looked like their was some good items for kids as well.

The hotel location was really great being on the end of the walking street and gave us a good central location to start from with our walking tours. The only issue we had was the GPS has a bad location for the hotel. It is further south. I also noticed this with the Google Maps location so be careful.

The hotel also has parking so if you get there with a rental car, there is a gated area for you to park.
(One Warning, if you park on the street to check in, make sure you pay for parking. we got a parking ticket within 15mins).
Finally, I asked about the limited reviews online and they explained that they recently reopened. I highly suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: الغرفة المفردة لن تكفى الا لشخص واحد
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ameer_T_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamer 317 heeft geen goede gordijnen, waardoor het al zeer vroeg licht op de kamer is
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLuke040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Néhány szoba a "sétáló utcára" néz, ami az adventi időszakban nagyon szépen ki van világít...
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vica8513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaposvar
22.4 mi away
Park Hotel Nagyatad
Park Hotel Nagyatad
#1 of 2 in Nagyatad
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Kapos
Hotel-Restaurant Kapos
#1 of 1 in Kaposvar
37 reviews
18.1 mi away
Gunaras Resort SPA Hotel
Gunaras Resort SPA Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dombovar
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pergola Vendeghaz
Pergola Vendeghaz
#1 of 12 in Kaposvar
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Pension Kaposvar
Palm Pension Kaposvar
#5 of 12 in Kaposvar
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laetitia Panzio
Laetitia Panzio
#3 of 12 in Kaposvar
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorottya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorottya

Address: Szechenyi ter 8, Kaposvar 7400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Kaposvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kaposvar
Price Range: $96 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dorottya 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dorottya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing