We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Carona
Ranked #1 of 3 Carona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We only stayed one night at Villa Carona but were glad we made a stop at the place. The hotel has an ambient atmosphere and the beautiful garden and the small details made us feel very welcome. We decided to eat dinner at the hotels restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised about the service. The waiters were very friendly and competent. Also the breakfast buffet at the hotel was delicious and offered lots of variety. We would have loved to find more dark, rich bread, but that was the only downside regarding the breakfast. In spite of the mattress, which was very soft, Villa Carona is a nice place to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    28
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

wonderful gardens, lovely people and a scenery beyond imagination! Not for the newly rich, only for the experienced traveller that knows the world. Rooms are between luxurious suites and good three star comfort. Very good breakfast with local specialities and always a welcoming smile. We sat in the garden in the sunshine and enjoyed the tranquility and fresh air with a glass of prosecco.

Room Tip: rooms to garden & lake / south
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolitancary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a Swiss hill town, the staff and owners are very helpful, the honesty bar great and the breakfasts superb, allow plenty of time to eat in the garden soaking up the amazing views and don't miss the hotels own restaurant

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Very expensive, with a ridiculously expensive restaurant. They make a big thing about being a classic Swiss hotel, 200 years old, etc., but mainly that meant that the walls were thin and the floors squeaky, so the room was noisy all evening and much of the night. We asked to move to a quieter room, but were told they were keeping all their empty rooms for long-standing repeat visitors.
Nice location, though a pain to get into Lugano.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogershields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Unaccomodating receptionist (male), although there was plenty of availablity inflexible to change rooms. Close to the road, no view of the valley or the lake, old house squeking and shaking floors, paper thin walls, can hear all conversations and bathroom flush from next door and upstairs to keep you awake. Terrible quality thin beds to give you backache. Long way from Lugano..Good breakfast is not enough to justify the high cost for what little get out of it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarona, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Carona, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We feel sorry that you were feeling uncomfortable staying with us. The man at the reception was me, Mr. Deubner, the owner and manager of the hotel. I did my best in trying to find a solution for a room change. Unfortunately it was impossible which is not unusual as we were fully booked. The Hotel Villa Carona is a Swiss Historic Hotel and the house is 200 years old. It is situated in Carona, a lovely 1000 years old village in the mountains with a nice view to the mountain Monte Generoso. We are proud of our historic hotel and are taking care of it with all our heart and passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

A very nice little hotel, well run and very peaceful. A lovely garden where you can eat a sumptuous plentiful breakfast. We had a lovely romantic weekend here, Carona is very pretty. Would certainly return. Didnt see any ants like a previous review said, maybe we were there at a different time of year?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tresadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarona, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Carona, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Superb! very delightful...

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank schwarzerPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carona
2.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#3 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
16.0 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carona

Property: Hotel Villa Carona
Address: Piazza Noseed, Carona 6914, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Carona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Carona 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 200 year old patrician estate with a lot of history, is bordered by an attractive quaint village, where Herrman Hesse spent many precious hours. The 40 bed hotel is managed and owned by the family Deuber-Marty. Each room is individually decorated and furnished with antique pieces.All our rooms are non-smoking rooms.Our garden is a small paradise, in which one may enjoy breakfast outside; lounge around in the sun or shady spots and play table tennis. It also features a grape pergola and a restaurant for healthy meals Each room is individually decorated and furnished with antique pieces.We wish our guests a Buon Appetito in our newly renovated Ristorante La Sosta. The Villa Carona service team cordially welcomes you!We would like to spoil you in the cozy and romantic ambience with a light, mediterranen cuisine - based on original Italian cooking style. Our chef Mr. Hendrik Wurst and his team use only fresh and choose ingredients from the region. A drop of fine wine from our wine cellar completes the culinary experience.We are pleased to welcome you for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on our terraces or under the pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Carona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing