We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will NOT be back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Carona
Ranked #1 of 3 Carona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“we will NOT be back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Unaccomodating receptionist (male), although there was plenty of availablity inflexible to change rooms. Close to the road, no view of the valley or the lake, old house squeking and shaking floors, paper thin walls, can hear all conversations and bathroom flush from next door and upstairs to keep you awake. Terrible quality thin beds to give you backache. Long way from Lugano..Good breakfast is not enough to justify the high cost for what little get out of it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarona, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Carona, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We feel sorry that you were feeling uncomfortable staying with us. The man at the reception was me, Mr. Deubner, the owner and manager of the hotel. I did my best in trying to find a solution for a room change. Unfortunately it was impossible which is not unusual as we were fully booked. The Hotel Villa Carona is a Swiss Historic Hotel and the house is 200 years old. It is situated in Carona, a lovely 1000 years old village in the mountains with a nice view to the mountain Monte Generoso. We are proud of our historic hotel and are taking care of it with all our heart and passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    27
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

A very nice little hotel, well run and very peaceful. A lovely garden where you can eat a sumptuous plentiful breakfast. We had a lovely romantic weekend here, Carona is very pretty. Would certainly return. Didnt see any ants like a previous review said, maybe we were there at a different time of year?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tresadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarona, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Carona, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Superb! very delightful...

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank schwarzerPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carona
2.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
16.0 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#2 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carona

Property: Hotel Villa Carona
Address: Piazza Noseed, Carona 6914, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Carona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Carona 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 200 year old patrician estate with a lot of history, is bordered by an attractive quaint village, where Herrman Hesse spent many precious hours. The 40 bed hotel is managed and owned by the family Deuber-Marty. Each room is individually decorated and furnished with antique pieces.All our rooms are non-smoking rooms.Our garden is a small paradise, in which one may enjoy breakfast outside; lounge around in the sun or shady spots and play table tennis. It also features a grape pergola and a restaurant for healthy meals Each room is individually decorated and furnished with antique pieces.We wish our guests a Buon Appetito in our newly renovated Ristorante La Sosta. The Villa Carona service team cordially welcomes you!We would like to spoil you in the cozy and romantic ambience with a light, mediterranen cuisine - based on original Italian cooking style. Our chef Mr. Hendrik Wurst and his team use only fresh and choose ingredients from the region. A drop of fine wine from our wine cellar completes the culinary experience.We are pleased to welcome you for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on our terraces or under the pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Carona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing