We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average for the price, Poor otherwise.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rovio
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Average for the price, Poor otherwise.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The problem with this place is not the service, the restaurant or the hospitality, it's the physical building itself, it's rooms, it's decor...

It is so old, even my grand mother would consider it outdated. I do understand that the prices are relatively low for Switzerland (100chf per night), however for the same price one could stay in an excellent hotel a short drive across the border in Italy, which is what I will do the next time round.

The room was extremely old, old beds, granny style bed linen, old furniture, tiny 9 inch TV and looked as if it belonged in a museum exhibiting life in the 1950's. I was happy to spend only 1 night here.

The grounds are beautiful, however, only when the sun shines. During bad weather, there is nothing to do in the garden. I asked about the swimming pool as they claim that it's heated, but the receptionist said it probably wasn't. I went to check the temperature of the water and it was very cold.

Food on the other hand was outstanding. My main course was an Osso Bucco and it was outstanding. It was the best one I have had in Switzerland. My partner's pork escalope was also superb, extremely tender, juicy and full flavoured. Service was top class too as was the dining room and the set up. Breakfast the following morning was also superb offering a wide range of breads, cheeses, cold cuts and eggs. Only let down was the sub standard coffee. Cappucinos cost extra, unlike the hotel we stayed at the previous night in Varese.

Would I return? Not until they refurbish their hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    123
    45
    18
    8
See reviews for
61
166
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here whilst working in the local area & only planned one night but such was my satisfaction I extended one more night. Staff are really helpful & attentive, location is beautiful.
For the price I paid I didn't expect the Hilton & I refuse to criticise anything because I could have easily paid one night elsewhere for 2 nights here, in that respect I was very happy with The Park in Rovio.
One more thing, lovely breakfast, great coffee& a pleasant surprise...Roast Beef for breakfast!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel Rovio over Easter 2013. The hotel is great, all the 4 family members do their job with great passion and are very kind. The food they serve is simply great. They keep renovating regularly. There's even a convertible swimming pool - open or indoors according to weather. The view from the large and wonderful park is spectacular. Everything was simply great, thank you very much, Vera and Jakob

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are satisfied with service and comfort in the hotel, but were surprised to read in the elevator cabin restriction: it is not allowed to bring to the room meal and drinks, bought not in the hotel. We believe that this restriction is important for customers and it necessary to tell about it in the hotel description on the booking.com and hotel web portal. Possible, we choose another hotel, if knew this restriction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeriy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

but not a BAD hotel. Not perfect the cleanliness of the room. It smelled not bad, but not fresh either. The view was wonderful, if only we had seen it (too much fog!). We remember a vey nice waiter (from Portugal), clever and wise, we chatted with him after breakfast. Breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

That's what we found at Rovio. A very nice hotel and a very nice staff. The family Sabino was watching over us. Tutto bene? was the question we often heard from Mr. Sabino. We had a nice room with a view over Lake Lugano and we enjoyed breakfast and diner. Other facilities we used were the sauna and the swimmingpool in the beautifull subtropical garden. Monte Generoso was nearby and we made some nice trips (2000 M)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

To find this hotel could be a problem as signing is minimal and the road is very steep winding up the hillside , but well worth the trip up. Our room was on the second floor and very spacious and a large bathroom with 2 basins and shower, clean and plenty of hot water if slightly dated. Our windows looked out onto the hillside with the local sheep paying us a visit in the evening. Dinner was either a la carte or from a large buffet, but the breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice from cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meat, boil your own eggs, freshly cooked bacon and eggs, omelettes if you wished. Loved the owner cooking breakfast in his suit. We had a excellent waiter who spoke English he had worked in the Four Seasons in London. Beautiful gardens looking down onto the Lake, swimming pool with cover which we hoped to use but the rain arrived with us. The village of Rovio is charming, ideal place to return to after a walking or cycling day out. All of the staff where very friendly and helpful, lots of things to do whilst staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not at the rear overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aging_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovio
2.2 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
4.5 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#2 of 3 in Bissone
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Colibri
Hotel Colibri
#20 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco

Property: Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Address: via Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Rovio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rovio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel Rovio on the south side of the Monte Generoso Rovio, is located only 2 km from Lake Lugano and 15 km from Lugano. It offers an outdoor pool and free parking.A delightful park and lawn invite you to a sunbath and offer views of Lake Lugano and its surrounding mountains. There is a heated swimming pool (open from April to September) in the park.Fine regional cuisine is served in the restaurant of the Park Hotel Rovio.For children there is a little play area. The Park Hotel offers a small and simply fitness room with a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing