We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South African lodge experience in the south of Switzerland”
Review of Albergo Losone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Losone
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Losone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The feeling I immediately got when waling onto the courtyard of this fantastick place naar Ascona in Switzerland, was the one of entering an African lodge. The way the pools are designed, the rooftips are constructed and the terrraces are outlined, the amount of palms which have been used are close to the way you see it in Africa. The hotel personnel is superb and very friendly, the rooms are spacious and well decorated with a private terrace as a plus. I can recommend this place for a short stay with friends or family. You can really relax and forget about a busy week at work here in Losone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice place to be and its not like a hotel full of tourists and the breakfast is perfect and its on the perfect location because ypu can bike and find fun things to do so this a good hotel. For me its a super place so i would advise it

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to the South of France. The hotel caters mainly for families not couples, but that was fine with us as we only spent one night there. Rooms are spacious with well-thought-out amenities and comfortable beds. We only had a short stay and so were not able to make full use of all the facilities on offer. Service was very good and friendly, we even got a small gift at departure. We travelled with our small dog and found this hotel very pet friendly. There is a very nice dog walk behind the hotel along the river.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We just came back from a perfect short holiday trip from the Albergo Losone. So, if you are travelling with your kids and need some time off, it is the perfect spot. Very nice hotel with beautiful surroundings helpful and friendly staff. Very clean and well organized excellent child care and decent food in the restaurant. A lot of interesting places to discover and most of the time sunshine :-). We will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_G017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

calm and well-maintained small resort hotel. 10 minutes by car/taxi to locarno center or station. neighbour -area type: industrial sites

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn_Vienna_8gbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a great 6 night stay here in this lovely hotel. The rooms are beautifully done and spacious. Food delicious and the waiting and bar staff very friendly and attentive. Nice spa rooms and good treatments. The children's club is good if a bit dis-organised, better for older children - I wouldn't have left my 3 year old without her older sisters. The pools and gardens are lovely and it is a truely relaxing hotel. It is expensive but as is everything in Switzerland!
Would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We had a terrific 6 night stay at Albergo Losone with three generations -- our parents (in their 60s), my husband & I, and our two small children (ages 3 & 1.5). Albergo Losone exceeded our expectations -- they go out of their way to be friendly to children, including having highchairs available at every meal equipped with bibs, "kid" utensils, and plastic cups. They have a large playroom in the basement of the hotel that serves as a hotel day care (for children over age 3) as well as play area for younger children, and they also have a large and unique outdoor park area where we spent many hours playing! Rooms are large, beautiful, and well maintained. Restaurant was pricey (though large breakfast buffet was delicious and included in room rate!) but very nice and accomodating to special requests. Our only complaint was the rainy weather -- not Albergo Losone's fault. Also, I wouldn't recommend this to couples or honeymooners -- unless you're OK with the place being overrun by kids and families...Overall, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klanghorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Losone
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 26 in Locarno
329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Delta Wellbeing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#13 of 32 in Ascona
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Losone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Losone

Address: via dei Pioppi 14 | Losone, Losone 6616, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Losone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Losone
Price Range: $301 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Losone 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Losone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing