We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Place to Discover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seehotel Sternen Horw
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really Nice Place to Discover!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were very surprised by that hotel which is very nice. It is well situated, with a free private parking and a garden by the lake. The rooms are very nice, big, comfortable and clean. The service is excellent (everyone is smiling and happy to help). We would like to go back for a longer period. The only "negative" comment we would have regarding that hotel is the quality of the food, which we found to be average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    49
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
62
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with my 91 year old father in law. We made sure he had a room with a view over the lake which he appreciated. The food was good and although we thought it was expensive, when we looked at other restaurant menus in Horw it didn't seem so bad. The hotel is a bit out of Lucerne but if you are fit and able, a 10 minute walk will take you to the bus which takes you to the city. However our 91 year old could not do that so taxis were required which at 30 SF a go each way, made this an expensive place to stay.

Our rooms were fine but totally lacking in any local ambience. You could have been in any hotel room anywhere in the world. Bathrooms are small with towels to match. Housekeeping is disappointing in that bottled water was not replaced each day, towels were not rehung tidily and a dirty wine glass was not removed.

Restaurant staff deserve a special mention for being really friendly and efficient and meals were really very good although we couldn't really manage more than one course such were the portion sizes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PerthshireClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is very Swiss and has a gorgeous view of the lake and the mountains. If your goal is to visit Luzern (city center) you're better off staying in the city. Otherwise the staff was friendly and is very clean.

Room Tip: The rooms were too hot. Maybe putting the air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acm0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Not the best location if your goal is to visit Lucerne without spending too much time traveling back and forth to the center of the city. Typically swiss hotel with traditionnal service and very friendly staff. Very quiet. The breakfast was also excellent. Just one piece of advice: spend the extra money to get a room with view on the lake. We did not and got a room with view on a roof and ventialtion stuff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Almoni06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stooped for one night in this calm and cool hotel, Location of he hotel is perfect all main attractions was in a short ride
The girls in the reception was extremely Polite and serving us without getting bored
The hotel offers free car parking and WiFi
Rooms are comfort relaxing with a new furniture
View is amazing kind of view you which you never go away
Restaurant was one of the best in this area a bit expensive but worth every penny
Strongly recommend this hotel for families and couples

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aboaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is a great celebration of Swiss quality: cleanliness of room, competenece of (traditional) Swiss food and a brilliantly fresh breakfast with no shortcuts. The view of the lake and mountains from our balcony was stunning.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a lake view: wonderful balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel whilst travelling through Switzerland. Fantastic location, excellent room, fantastic restaurant. Would DEFINITELY stay here again. Very friendly staff who even provided with us with bottled water and mints for our onward journey. Our meal in the restaurant was excellent. There were 5 of us travelling and each had something different and one of my friends (who eats in top hotels a lot) was impressed. Would even recommend the local white wine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arich64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horw
2.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.2 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Pilatus
Seehotel Pilatus
#1 of 3 in Hergiswil
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Felmis
2.7 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Sternen Horw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Sternen Horw

Property: Seehotel Sternen Horw
Address: Winkelstrasse 46, Horw 6048, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Horw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Sternen Horw 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Seehotel Sternen Horw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Sternen Horw Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing