We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Esperanza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Arroyo B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 La Esperanza B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommended !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

A good get away place. Just out of town but close enough to still go back and forth and they staff will even be your personal taxi driver so no worries. The walk is nice to. Service was great and nothing was to much trouble. Location nice and quiet, all you could hear was the river out front. Great overall experience and the perfect place to relax from your travelling. Also do the local villages / area a tour. A real bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were only looking for an overnight stay in La Esperanza to break our journey and chose Casa del Arroyo based on good reviews. It turned into one of our highlights of Honduras. It's a litte out of the way but if you call they'll come and pick you up from the town. We were welcomed with a pot of coffee and when we asked about lunch although they don't do lunches, Claudia gave us corn on the cob and delicious cake which did the trick! The location is beautiful and we enjoyed a walk in the forest in the afternoon. In the evening Claudia drove us to La Esperanza to go for dinner and picked us up afterwards. Our room was beautifully furnished, spacious and comfortable, especially the huge bed, and of course the views were lovely. Breakfast was a real treat, the full
Honduran works. It's worth the trip for that alone. We would happily have stayed longer enjoying the place and the hospitality if we hadn't been on a tight schedule. As the location is not so easy to get to it would be good to have a car or be able to borrow a bike but the owners are so helpful in taking guests places it doesn't really matter and it is a great place to chill out and enjoy the countyside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I made the smart decision to make one of our stops while traveling Honduras to Casa del Arroyo located in a small town at one of the highest points of the country. Our stay began with our Host Marvin and his good pal Alex picking us up at the airport, showing us many sights on route to La Esperanza. Before reaching our destination, we stopped at a busy restaurant "cafeteria style" that had the best food ever and great entertainment! Upon arrival at Casa del Arroyo, everyone made us feel right at home. Our room was cozy, full of beautiful artwork, and the food was excellent. The town is located 1/2 mile or so from the B&B and has many sights to see, treasures to buy, and restaurants to dine at. Thanks to Claudia, Marvin and friends for the hospitality and making sure we had transportation to and from Casa del Arroyo. They are the best hosts ever, and a stay at Casa del Arroyo is a must when traveling Honduras.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LFredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Casa del Arroyo is not easy to find if you don't know the small town of La Esperanza/Intibuca but they sent a pickup into town to meet us and guide us up the hill to their lovely inn among the pine trees. When we wanted to dine at one of the better restaurants back in town, they wouldn't hear of us trying to find it ourselves and guided us back. The next morning, after a filling and tasty breakfast in their homey dining room, we joined a shopping trip to a nearby town that took us past so much spectacular scenery that we stopped our two-car convoy countless times for photos. After buying colorful fabrics we asked for directions to our next town, Gracias, and again providing a map or directions would not meet their stellar level of guest care - we had another twenty-minute follow-the-leader trip over bad roads just to be certain we didn’t take a wrong turn before the highway.

I have rarely experienced such attentiveness. They even tightened a shock absorber on my Jeep! When I asked where I could find a mechanic, they asked if I knew which size wrench to use and had it done before I made the second trip to the parking lot for a bag we forgot in the back seat. Go there, stay, enjoy, take a walk in the woods. It's gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACE_Thibodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have traveled a good deal in central america and we enjoyed Claudia and Marvin of Casa del Arroyo the best. Claudia's English was incredible as she used to teach it for a living. This is a good place to learn about real Honduran life. The bed and breakfast had been Claudia's father's country home near La Esperanza that they have turned into a great B&B with about 10 rooms (two each in 5 different little cabins). It has a great common area for guests where a good typical breakfast is served. The place is located along a stream with some playground equipment in a pine forest. The place is very safe and was the quietest place we stayed in Honduras. There is a nice bar sitting out in the middle of nowhere within walking distance that serves good drinks and bar food. He also had a paint ball field in a cow pasture and rented equipment. The best part were the tours with Claudia. We arranged to be picked up by Claudia and her husband from our place in Zambrano, about 45 minutes from the Tegucigulpa airport. At a very reasonable cost, it sure beats riding in the back of a chicken bus doing hairpin turns in the mountains. We stopped for a great lunch and cheked out some churches and town squares on the way there. Then we took a half day tour with her to see all the local sights, which are very beautiful and interesting, She can craft a tour around any particular interests. I wanted to see the local cemetery and sewer treatment plant, that are not on the usual trip. We then had her take us to Gracias to our next stop. I would highly recommend arranging local travel with Casa Del Arroyo, as it was the best way to get from Tegucigulpa to Gracias. The bus that we took later in the trip broke down in the middle of an intersection for an hour and a half, which is not the best way to spend a vacation. Bring as sweatshirt as it is cool (60's) in the mountains for highs.

Room Tip: We liked the room with the king size bed, but I think all rooms were good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Arriving at Casa del Arroyo was so refreshing after a long day in the car. The location is one of the most beautiful places I have seen throughout the whole country. Greeted by the friendly owners, beautiful scenery, and comfortable bed. I recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Honduras.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shea1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Antonio from Casa de Arroyo picked us up just outside a restaurant in La Esperanza. He even drove around and asked if we needed to stop at the market or wanted to sight see. However, we didn't do much because after a strenuous day of travel we were excited to relax at the bed and breakfast. , runs this bed and breakfast consisting of a handful of rooms in various spots, set up almost like cabins at a campground – the rooms were not “cabin-like” just to clarify. The ranch is set in a mountainous area surrounded by pine trees. It was gorgeous to say the least and the temperature was perfect. There are a couple trails that run up into the woods and around the property, a picturesque stream that runs through, a paintball field, and even a bar a minute's walk away.

The common area is a room attached to the owner's residence and the kitchen. It's stone walls were decorated with Lencan pottery and textiles (actually might not be Lencan so someone correct me if wrong) and included two cattle-skin chairs to add to the atmosphere. There was an earthy aroma to the place that was quite pleasing.

Our room, the Azalea, was spacious with a king-size bed and hot shower. It had a rustic feel and felt “homey”...though I guess this is what B&Bs strive for. We paid a little more here than most places on the mainland but I would say it was worth it.

Claudia, a very friendly and hospitable host offered us delicious coffee with cinnamon and sweet pepper upon our arrival. She even brought out a boatload of DVDs for us to choose from in case we decided to watch a movie, told us about things to do in the area, and gave us dinner options (some places deliver to the ranch!).

We opted to join locals at the bar and grill that was on the property...literally a two minute walk from our room. The beer was cheap, the bartenders friendly (one invited me to play paintball the next day which I would have loved had we not set up an early departure), and the food was decent. For the price, we got way more than we needed. I will say, however, that this was a weird place. It was a circular room, dimly lit, smoky, and the walls plastered with movie posters. It was definitely a local drive bar, making me think of what a bar ran by my friend Nino would be like. I'm sure they are catering to the local crowd, and there's nothing wrong with that, but I would look to other options for food if staying here again.

Sadly, something made my wife sick and her trip was not the same after this point. We're not sure what caused it so I won't point fingers and make accusations...really it could have been anything and we had already heard several stories about fellow travelers getting ill. In the morning we were treated to a traditional Honduran breakfast (eggs, sausage, refried beans, plantains, tortillas) with a twist...the eggs were creamier and topped with green sweet peppers.

My wife and I are unbelievably grateful for the hospitality we received from Claudia and Tonio. She allowed us to stay in the room as long as we needed because it wasn't occupied the next night. My wife laid in bed most of the day and we left at the last minute we could to get to Gracias before dusk and still take the tour offered by Casa del Arroyo. Tonio in this regard was extremely accomodating because, as our driver, he wouldn't be getting back until after dark.

Unfortunately the tour was a huge mistake. It was an hour (or more) into the mountains on an insanely bumpy road in an old truck. We didn't have time to make it to the waterfall portion of the tour but we did see Laguna Chilligatoro and the looms. The views through the mountain passes were amazing but it was overcast and rained all afternoon so there wasn't much to see. The lagoon was a joke of a tourist destination. One guide calls it “picturesque,” but surely the mountainous altitude had affected the author's perception It was a large pond with buildings around it, set in the mountains but with no good views. I would avoid this at all costs unless you have to head in this direction (and for that I can't imagine what you would be doing.) The looms were neat, and Rachael bought two nice handmade scarves, but they were hardly worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keenan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Arroyo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Arroyo B&B

Property: Casa del Arroyo B&B
Address: Barrio Las Delicias, La Esperanza 14101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Intibuca Department > La Esperanza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Esperanza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and a relaxing environment away from the city. Let us spoil you! We offer a soothing environment surrounded by nature with all the comforts you need. With warm efficiency and a smile, we strive for our customers’ satisfaction. Come enjoy our beautiful scenery and relax your senses, meditate… take a walk, read a good book, enjoy the mild weather… That is what Casa del Arroyo B&B is about. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing