We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, friendly ambience, lovely little touches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silvaplana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conrad's Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Silvaplana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although this is classed as a B&B, it really has the quality of a small hotel and is one of the nicest, most friendly places we've experienced in Switzerland. From the moment of arriving, the genuine warmth and friendliness of the staff was evident - we were offered complimentary tea / coffee and delicious cake as we sat down in the lounge area (traditional Swiss with a modern vibe) to complete our registration forms. The rooms are of a reasonable size, very clean and well-equipped, including some nice little touches of luxury toiletries, slippers, complimentary water and a little welcome chocolate.

On arrival after a long walk we were all longing for showers before heading off to eat and were disappointed to find that there was no hot water. On mentioning this at reception, we were assured that this was a temporary problem and that a heating engineer had already been called to look into it. It was hoped that the problem would be fixed by later that evening or if not then tomorrow morning. If it wasn't fixed by that evening, we were assured that there would be a reduction in our room rates. Fortunately on returning from our restaurant that evening, we were again warmly greeted by our hosts, who with a smile were pleased to report that the problem had been fixed and that hot water was now available, which it was throughout the rest of our stay. Really pleased by their genuine concern to get this sorted promptly.

Breakfast was delicious, with many continental options as well as scrambled eggs as a cooked option. Again staff very friendly and willing to serve, going out of their way to ensure that we had all eaten enough. Food all tasted excellent and very fresh, with a lovely selection of breads, cheeses, meats, cereals etc.

Another positive is that one of my friends and I wanted to watch a football match in the evening (Switzerland v Argentina, World Cup) and chose to watch it on the large TV in the public lounge area, not realising that this was due to close I think at 9.00 p.m. But no fuss was made even though the match went to extra time - the hosts were more than happy to provide a 'lock in' for us until the match was finished.

All round a great experience, with enthusiastic, friendly staff, a genuinely warm welcome and a truly quality B&B, which is great value for money. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan_2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 92 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

6 of us arrived after a 5 hour hike in pouring rain! Pure R&R. Charming facilities. Caring reception. The welcome hot chocolate and nut cake outstanding pick-me-ups. The waitresses excellent. They dried all our clothes overnight; boots and all. Everything a hotel should be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is one of the places you just love from the moment you walk in. Very friendly staff, superb rooms, very cosy indeed, clean as can be, great location and let us talk about breakfast. Way too good, any longer than 2 nights and we would have to go on a diet! 5 star all the way. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We just return from a 4 day stay and everything was good. We arrived late on the day of checkin, and everything was settle when arrived. Confortable and clean room, but a little small. The location was perfect nearby the ski shuttle to ski areas (corvastach was the best for me...good highways of snow). The skis rent was included at the price (that was great idea) and we got a discount on the lift passes also. Good breakfast to start a ski journey. The stand was very helpful and friendly. Recomended place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The staff was very friendly and engaged in conversation on matters of interest (skiing conditions etc). Breakfast was great - good selection of cereal, fruit, bread and eggs. Loved the bonus of the Afternoon-Tea...which in my case was a perfect Latte Macchiato and local Engadiner Nusskuchen.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Comfortable room, friendly staff, generous breakfast, and a good value for the money. Welcoming atmosphere and a convenient location for hiking and the bus. Close to a great Portuguese restaurant, and the pass for mountain trains is a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 109Bow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have returned to this hotel for the 3rd year in a row now and we are still very much happy with it. Silvaplana is not as busy as Pontresina or St. Moritz and a good starting point for the many hiking and mountain biking routs on offer here.
The rooms are very cosy in rustic wood yet still modern. the breakfast buffet is very yummy and there is free coffee and cake every afternoon.
The staff is very friendly and you always feel welcome .
if you book more than 2 nights you get a free pass for all mountain trains and use of a mountain bike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silvaplana hotels
0.9 mi away
Nira Alpina
Nira Alpina
#1 of 5 in Silvaplana
481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chesa Surlej
Hotel Chesa Surlej
#4 of 5 in Silvaplana
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albana Hotel & Lodge
Albana Hotel & Lodge
#2 of 5 in Silvaplana
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#3 of 5 in Silvaplana
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlas
Hotel Arlas
#4 of 4 in Silvaplana
3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Susom Surlej
Hotel Susom Surlej
#2 of 4 in Silvaplana
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad's Mountain Lodge

Address: Via dal Farrer 1, Silvaplana 7513, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Silvaplana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Silvaplana
Price Range: $82 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrad's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class mountain bikes, skis and snowboards, an absolutely top-notch breakfast, coffee and a piece of home-baked cake in the afternoon – all inclusive. Conrad’s Mountain Lodge isn’t a hotel and yet it adds a new meaning to the word hospitality. A mere 500 m divide Conrad’s Mountain Lodge from the Lake Silvaplana. The house welcomes you bright and friendly with a lot of cosy wood. The generous terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a piece of home-baked cake in the afternoon and take in the gorgeous Upper Engadin views. 19 lovingly furnished rooms with a total of 32 beds await you. And there is more: besides the top-notch breakfast, the use of a first-class piece of sports equipment (mountain bike, snowboard or skis) is also included. As you can see, we spare no effort to ensure that you feel as snug as a bug in a rug. You are our passion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing