We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a bad experience”
Review of Nira Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nira Alpina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silvaplana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Even if the hotel was priced at a 50% discount to its current prices, it would still be terrible value for money
- service was appalling - the staff were unfriendly, and not helpful
- food was terrible - the hotel restaurants were overpriced with bad food and breakfast was mediocre at best
- tried to charge for everything imaginable, from parking to the "gift" free ski pass
- had to re-issue room keys on a daily basis
- although the hotel is on the slopes, to go from the ski room to the slopes requires both stairs and the elevator (that is extremely slow)
- some rooms are literally outside of the hotel's restaurants
- screaming kids in the hallways
- the heating is very strong and extremely dry
- would suggest you do not opt for the garden rooms unless you want mice coming and going in your room

Room Tip: Avoid garden rooms Avoid rooms that are close to the elevator as there is no divider
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yannoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai U, Manager at Nira Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Yannoa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Alpina - a Nira Resort - on Tripadvisor.

Overall I am sad to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us as it is always our aim that all guest arrive as residents, leave as friends and return as family!

As we included for all room bookings the complimentary ski pass I do not necessarily agree with your comments regarding the pricing of our hotel but please feel free to personally contact me to share your experiences as I would like to hear more about what we could have done better to serve your needs and meet your expectations.

Remaining at your service.

Best Personal Regards

Kai W. Ulrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 470 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with three adults and three children of 1, 2 and 4. The hotel is practically on the slopes so perfect for skiers. For non skiers there is a spa and pool area, little library space and a fantastic play area for the kids. The bar and restaurant on the top floor have amazing views and the food is fabulous. But best of all, without a doubt is the staff. Nothing was too difficult for them, they did everything they could to help out and were genuinely interested in us and the children. The most fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungrytraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we are just back from 3 excellent nights at the Nira Alpina with our 3 small children (aged 1, 2 and 4). the hotel is modern alpine chic, really cool decor, and the location is great - right next to the Corvatsch lift and also right next to the beginners slope for the kids. the ski school is about 200m down the piste so the teacher met us at the hotel the first day but after that we just skiied down the hill with the girls on reigns so it was easy enough.
the thing that blew us away was the service at the hotel. in switzerland (we live in Zurich) service is generally dire - whoever put together the team at the Nira Alpina has done an amazing job. They were absolutely brilliant and couldn't do enough for us from the moment we arrived. They were exceptionally kind to the children and very very accomodating.
The childrens play area is very good compared to other hotels. The toys and furnishings are all brand new and very clean. It is not a supervised room (except for in the evenings, so more appropriate for older children) but it was easy to hang out in while the children coloured/played. The internet in the hotel works well which also helps - there's no password so once you're logged in you're logged in, you don't have to do it again every 5 minutes.
We will definitely return, very very impressed.

Room Tip: if you have children you should go for a room on the 1st floor - this is the level of the playroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I visited Nira Alpina for a skiing / snowboarding long weekend with friends (with various levels of experience). The staff at this property could NOT have been more accommodating with every request from setting up ski lessons, dinner reservations, shipping items, assisting us with transportation alternatives due to weather and general outstanding service in every category. The location is perfect for full-days on the slopes but beyond that, the decor and atmosphere of the entire hotel is stylish and cool. The rooftop bar is gorgeous with amazing views and a cozy fireplace to hang out nearby. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steftravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited the Corvatsch ski area in St. Moritz two years ago and loved the conditions so booked Nira Alpina for our family ski trip during Xmas. The main reason we selected it was quite new (I don't really like old creaky hotels no matter how many stars they have) and the location at the bottom of the tram, so easy for the kids to return anytime. There is now a ski rental shop there too - super convenient.

We had a great stay, mainly because of the great food and service. We got to know F&B head Marek, who was so kind and accommodating especially for my youngest son and me who have dietary restrictions. The kids happily ate in (room service or restaurant) nearly every night. At Stars Restaurant, there is an international menu so you don't need to be eating rosti and Swiss food every nigh; the spare ribs and tiradito were particularly good. The breakfast buffet featured fresh squeezed juices, a lovely selection of muesli, nuts, honeys, and dried fruits, smoked salmon and deli, plenty of bakery choices plus hot breakfast options (e.g. eggs/bacon/sausage, crepes) and a variety of gluten-free breads on request.

The spa has a great sauna. There's also a whirlpool tub (which was not hot enough when I tried it), steam room, showers and rest area. As one of the reviewers mentioned, some people do use it naked which is a plus or a minus depending on your perspective. Massage is available but I recommend you book ahead during holiday season.

The rooms are modern and all face the valley. The standard rooms are a bit small by US standards; Corvatsch rooms are more spacious. Both had enough hanging space and a room safe. I found the pillows a bit limp but housekeeping quickly replaced them with firmer ones. WiFi is free and does not require constant re-login which I hate. I liked that they provided slippers and robes. The bathrooms have a tub/shower combo with rain shower head. My only complaint is the keycards are easily deactivated by the magnets in iPhones.

There's a ski locker room on the 1/F which we wished was on the 3/F closer to the slope, but it is close to the lift so still OK. It is close to the underground parking. The door locks are activated by the room key cards so make sure everyone who needs a key has one.

The front desk staff were helpful and efficient. This winter they had a package which includes an all-area ski pass, so it was good value. I would definitely recommend the Nira Alpina for families looking to ski in Corvatsch; we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: 3/F rooms are on the same floor as the reception and front exit, and a bakery that emits wonderful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowjoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Definintely one of the best hotels I have stayed in Switzerland thus far. The location can't be better, sits at the foot of Corvatsch and I believe most if not all the rooms offer a great view overlooking the lakes.

Hotel was very modern and stylish and comes with all the comfort and luxury associated with a 5 star hotel.

Food served in the hotel restaurant was just as good, breakfasts spread was also one of the best I have had in Switzerland

Definintely perfect for a ski holiday as it is right next to the cable car station, highly recommended and would definintely return to stay if I were in St Moritz

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nira Alpina, in the Swiss resort of Surlej at the foot of Mt. Corvatsch, is an artistic and stylish hotel designed for independent travellers. It offers an alternative experience putting pleasure before protocol and fun before formality. Warm service and a cool, quirky style makes it a far cry from a typical St. Moritz hotel; you sense an ambiance that is buzzy and unconventional.

The hotel is perched at the highest point in the small village of Surlej, few kilometres from St. Moritz. Unlike a normal St.Moritz or Silvaplana hotel, they provide ski in, ski out access being connected to the Corvatsch cable car station via a private walkway. In winter you have a direct link to the skiing area and in summer you are connected to spectacular alpine hiking trails.

All rooms feature a large terrace or balcony overlooking Engadin mountains. Inside, the rooms are spacious and modern, neither glitzy nor folksy. Natural materials like wood, stone and suede are used and hi-tech bits include a flat-screen TV, iPod docking station and of course free Wi-Fi. Modern granite bathroom have both bath and waterfall shower.

Service is efficient and relaxed, they prefer friendly care to formality. Same about cuisine which is natural and fresh with most ingredients farmed or caught within a few kilometres. Truly devoted to pleasure and convenience, Nira Alpina provides a fresh and exciting approach to the world famous winter resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silvaplana
0.9 mi away
Hotel Albana Silvaplana
Hotel Albana Silvaplana
#2 of 5 in Silvaplana
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chesa Surlej
Hotel Chesa Surlej
#4 of 5 in Silvaplana
59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#3 of 5 in Silvaplana
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
171 reviews
23.2 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Alpina

Address: Via dal Corvatsch 76 | 7513 Silvaplana, Silvaplana 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Silvaplana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silvaplana
Price Range: $258 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nira Alpina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Alpina, a 4* Superior hotel situated in the Swiss ski resort of St. Moritz, is connected to the Corvatsch cable car station via a private walkway. Within our hotel, winter or summer, you'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style - we're not a typical St. Moritz hotel. You'll sense an ambiance that's buzzy, bordering on Bohemian... Our Swiss spa resort is for worldly, well-travelled individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nira Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing