We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nira Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nira Alpina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silvaplana
Certificate of Excellence
Genoa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My Husband and I travelled to Silvaplana for a three days break recently. The Nira Alpina Hotel has recently changed ownership and it's newly built. The entire hotel is very modern but with an alpine feel. The materials used to decorate the hotel are natural woods and dark limestone.
We stayed in a standarn room with a large balcony overlooking the mountains. Room size is not big but feels very cosy and confortable. The attention to details is the aspect I enjoyed the most, we had lovely books available in the room, on each bedside table there was a jug of water which the guests can feel up with fresh mountain water before going to bed (without using the minibar) the bathroom was small but still fitted a large tub plus shower. The spa and the pool have to be the best asset of this hotel, also the rooftop bar is very welcoming and the views are amazing. Position is ideal, with lovely views and just a short walking distance from the lake and the town of Silvaplana. Best aspect is the proximity of the Corvatsch lift which brings you to 3300 meters where you can enjoy amazing views and a lovely lunch. Tickets to all ski lifts and cabins were given us for free as part of a promotion that many hotels in the area partecipate to. Parking is very convenient with underground direct access to the hotel, it costs CH25 per day but it can be expected in this region.
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at the Nira Alpina hotel and would definately come back, probably during winter skiing season next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescacanneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    86
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
98
217
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel has everything that they claim they have. It is new, it is well located next to the slopes, they drive you to St Moritz any time you want to go.
Best thing is the staff, including managers and reception - they are friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Did not like their dinner too much. Chef ambitious, but food below expectations.

Spa and swimming pool are very good, but can be crowded. The crowd is international, but the middle aged German speaking guests did not use bathing suits in the sauna. Did not find that attractive or considerate to other guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

modern and spacious rooms with french windows opening onto a little garden. very nice staff and the swimming pool as well as spa area ( had a relaxing massage) are beautiful and calming. will definately go again!!

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank barca02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We just loved this place (couple and dog), the service is tops all round, the location is 10m from the cable car, the view from the balconies is lovely, the room and bathroom were huge, modern, and super comfortable. The spa was fantastic and we loved the bar upstairs. We had innovative tasty cocktails and huge and delicious appetizers in the bar. We ate at Stars one night and it was very nice, service was terrific and the food was well done and tasty but not overly special, it certainly fit our plans for an evening in. The breakfast is expansive and again with great service. We booked under their last minute special to stay 3 get one night free special and at that price, it was an exceptional bargain, but it would be worthwhile at full price as well.

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor so our balcony was a patio, very useful if you will have a dog w you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prooproo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Twon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

When we saw a new Design Hotel of the World had opened in Silvaplana, our favourite part of Switzerland, we couldn't resist booking.

Our concerns were put to rest immediately when our friendly concierge fetched us from St Moritz train station. We were checked into our very comfortable regular Corvatsch room 20 mins later, a largish standard room with stunning views and huge balcony. No upgrade needed (and we normally never book standard room.)

The super service was the highlight for us, and something that is often poor and a bit snobbish in this part of the World. Carina, Sandra, Antonio and crew couldn't do enough to help us with our requests. 10/10 here guys - well done!! We felt like chilling and watching DVDs one night and came home to find a selection waiting for us in our room!

With its in-house bakery, stunning top deck bar and scrumptious breakfast, we were always well satiated. Room service was fast and accommodating, esp as we are vegetarian. Antonio is such a mate!!!

The spa and massages are perfect and a great way to relax and recover. On-slope access is rare in the Engadin so this makes Nira Alpina even more attractive.

We walk a lot and the staff were always happy to fetch us in the complimentary shuttle which meant we could just walk in one-direction and didn't have to backtrack home.

We have already made our booking for next year and hope that the hotel goes from strength to strength!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Although ideally situated and directly linked to the Corvatsch gondola, our experience was quite unhappy. Not really an alpine hotel, the feeling is more likely of an airport' one. Inadequate personnel, poor literacy in foreign languages and unfriendly handling of guests' wills. It's pitty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank agoodskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The Location direct by the Gorvatsch Station is very convenient. The Junior Suites are nice and modern but not big.When you have problems to sleep, your should take some other rooms, you can hear the people walking around on the floor above the Suites. The Stars Restaurant is nice and modern, but completly overpriced. I was eating there once and the food was not great and the service needs improvments. The portions are small and not very tasty. The other Restaurant was better but also overpriced. The service there was good. One problem are the price of the bottled water, the one liter water costs over $8. This is a bad habit in most of the Swiss hotels and restaurants, the tap water would be great but they don't offer it.The breakfast is exellent.
Some service people speak only English, one or two of them are Germans, they are very nice and helpfull. The best part in this case are the people on the Rezeption. The Managers are not connecting that much with there cast's. There is no " family feeling" in this Hotel.
The SPA is nice and modern. When you want silence and relaxion you have to go late there because until 6pm there are many kids in the relaxing pool. Everything is clean and in good shape. The massage service at the SPA is very good. Overall a good and modern hotel, but the Restaurants are overpriced and the price/value is not great. A good place with kids.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silvaplana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chesa Surlej
Hotel Chesa Surlej
#4 of 5 in Silvaplana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.5 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#1 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.2 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Alpina

Property: Nira Alpina
Address: Via dal Corvatsch 76 | 7513 Silvaplana, Silvaplana 7513, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Silvaplana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silvaplana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nira Alpina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Alpina, a 4* Superior hotel situated in the Swiss ski resort of St. Moritz, is connected to the Corvatsch cable car station via a private walkway. Within our hotel, winter or summer, you'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style - we're not a typical St. Moritz hotel. You'll sense an ambiance that's buzzy, bordering on Bohemian... Our Swiss spa resort is for worldly, well-travelled individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nira Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing