We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Des Horlogers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plan Les Ouates
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
1,168 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
“3 stars”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

the room was very clean and reasonably well decorated. there was a small but well supplied mini bar, coffee making facilities, an in room safety box, a small falt tv with 7 international channels and a lot of swiss and german alternatives.

the bed was a bit hard, but at the end you get used to it.

despite of being in the ground floor facing a busy street, few noises were heard from the street (more noises heard from the interior fo the hotel).

the bathroom was very clean but very basic, the less attractive facility in the room.

the heating system was too low for a cold december night, with a not enough warm radiator. even when waking up in the morning, the radiator was cold.

the free wifi worked well.

the staf at the reception was very polite. when i need a towell for my room (being two persons, we had got only one) they brought in a few minutes. they offered themselves to explain about the hotel small watches and watchmaking material exhibition and even they politely refused to charge me 15 sfr for my dog as he is a very small dog.

i did not try the continental breakfast as i woke up late (which can be a problem on sunday as all the bars and cafes around are closed).

the hotel does not provide carpark (which is not a problem in week ends).

when you pay for a double room in this hotel 115 sfr, it is good value for money. however, in working days price can be double, which is not value for money (the very close ramada encore geneve is a good alternative to compete).

the low temperature at the room and the aspect of the bathroom have left this hotel with a 3 tripadvisor points, instead of four.

Room Tip: try to avoid low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
33
16
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a charming little hotel, the decor is older but is.....extremely clean and quiet !!!
We loved it ! There are restaurants near by, so it is very practical. It is perfect for a short stay on a tour of europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is not located in the city but it did not matter for us because we had car, we saw some public transportation around the hotel and the staff provided us with free public transportation cards. The hotel is standard not the best but pretty good considering the price. They give us room on first floor, but we changed it right away because it was right next to reception and you can hear everything. They gave us room on second floor it was good with nice big bed. It wasn't too hot but room kind of felt a little stuffy I'm not sure why. The breakfast was not included in the price so we did not have it. The staff was very friendly and helpful in terms of how to get to the city and were main attractions are.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was just 1 night in this hotel, "family" feeling, nice, room is fully equipped (I was ground floor, 10h50 is the room number). The hotel is a small building (see pic), nice, nice people, very comfortable for public transportations.
Good: room is quite large, equipped, free wifi, right price, silence.
Bad: some corners of the room were not clean, moquette in the floor.
I had breakfast at separate cost, but it's nice (see pic).
Pics of the room are attached.
Notes: there is no wardrobe but the room is equipped with a practical open air wardrobe where you place your clothes. Safe, tv flat, possibiities to have your clothes ironed, and more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianluGMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The small staff was very helpful regarding transportation and where to park and their English was good. We were able to find street parking in a residential neighborhood a few blocks away. The rooms are small but very clean and nicely decorated. I give them an average rating because they are so small. The breakfast room in the basement is nice with a good variety of cold food for the 15 euros. There is a nice neighborhood boulangerie a few blocks away and a wonderful restaurant right across the street where we ate dinner twice. Taking the bus into Geneva was easy and the hotel provides a free transportation pass for the time you are there. Our wifi on the third floor was fine. If you don't mind staying outside the city it's a good hotel. It's nicer inside than the outside photo would lead you to believe. I felt like a resident rather than a tourist.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were pretty much the same (small) size. There was no noise in the hallway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

A little out of Geneva but with easy access thru public transport or taxi, the hotel is week on service (reduced presence) and has no facilities (no parking but you find places nearby, no receotion room, no bar) but the price is fair and the bedrooms are very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice, clean and well maintained hotel close the industrial zone in Plan-les-Ouates. Ok but cold breakfast buffet. The Wi-Fi is free but super crappy. (I bet they have the same issue as many small hotels, they use a cheap 16 user router set to a default 24h IP lease which fills up too fast)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plan Les Ouates
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 105 in Geneva
439 reviews
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
929 reviews
Geneve Cottage
#2 of 2 in Versoix
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Horlogers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Horlogers

Property: Hotel Des Horlogers
Address: route de Saint-Julien 135, Plan Les Ouates, Geneva 1228, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Plan Les Ouates
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plan Les Ouates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Horlogers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 32 rooms and junior suites, the Hotel des Horlogers was entirely renovated in 2008 to resemble a small museum reflecting the long history of watch-making in Switzerland. The interior design plays on the theme of watch-making, allowing you to discover and admire a collection of over 250 tools dating back to the 18th and 19th century. All the rooms benefit from quality bedding, a minibar, complimentary tea and a coffee, free Wi-Fi and an LCD television set with a wide selection of international channels. Breakfast is served in the form of a cold buffet, and the hotel has a garden graced by a beautiful weeping willow. Located in the centre of Plan-les-Ouates, the building is less than 3 minutes away from the main Swiss watch-making district and the Geneva stadium. The Geneva International Airport and Geneva Palexpo are a 10-minute car ride away; the city centre and lake are 15 minutes away and accessible by public transportation (bus and tram). A large public park and numerous shops surround the hotel, and a variety of restaurants can be found nearby. Parking is available on “route des Chevaliers de Malte”, and a complimentary public transportation card will be given to you upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Horlogers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Horlogers Canton Of Geneva/Plan Les Ouates

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing