We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eptingen
York, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stopped here overnight enroute to Italy. Had not booked. Great location as just off the motorway and very quiet. Very welcoming. Comfortable room. Excellent dinner and a great breakfast. Perfect stopover place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,280 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Only the restaurant will be reviewed here, we did not stay at the hotel. On our way to Lake Como the traffic announcement reported a significant traffic jam on the road to the Gotthard tunnel. We chose for wating for the jam to clear a bit in a nice restaurant garden instead in the car on the motorway. We left the motorway and found ourselves in the village of Eptingen just after lunchtime and spotted the veranda at Hotel Bad Eptingen. We decided to sit there a while in the April sun and have lunch. Despite the fact we were the only guests sitting outside, the service was impeccable. Also the food served was well cooked. It was asparagus time; my spouse had a delicious asparagus dish with cured ham. I myself had chosen saltimbocca; this was also tasty. I suppose for Swiss standards the bill was moderate, but we from the EU found the bill a bit stiff. However this is supposedly the case of most prices in Switzerland, except for petrol.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived late afternoon and managed to find the reception after a little difficulty - it is the restaurant table reservation table in the restaurant. This perhaps indicates the importance of the hotel rooms. Checking in was quick and we were asked if we wanted to have dinner by a not particularly friendly receptionist/waiter who also did not give any information on times for breakfast or dinner. This was a bit unusual as the offer we had booked was for dinner and breakfast.
We were shown to our room 206 which overlooked the front of this pretty traditional hotel. The room was large with a very firm double bed which had two very flat soft pillows and quite a heavy duvet for such a warm time of year. There were also side lights which were located directly above your head, just low enough to bang your head whilst in bed. There was also a quite dated but comfortable three seater settee. No air conditioning or fan. A fan would have made the temperature in the room more bearable, but the room was bright and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a deep bath and overhead shower all spotlessly clean. Unfortunately the towels were all quite hard and worn, and needed replacing. The flat screen TV had numerous German channels but also 2 English news channels and BBC Entertainment which was a real bonus whilst relaxing before dinner. No tea making facilities but a couple of bottles of local sparkling water were available. There was Internet Wi-Fi hotspot access available but we did not use/purchase it.
We did try to find a snack in the small sleepy town but only managed to find a bar that although advertising a restaurant (Restaurant Post) did not serve food. Luckily it took euros as we could not find any cash machine or very much else, only one small shop which was closed. Two glasses of wine and 2 small beers came to 25€.
The evening meal in the beautiful silver service restaurant was excellent. We chose the 3 course set menu costing 68 Swiss francs (56€). There were however lots of other menu choices, all on the pricey side. The restaurant was quite busy with mainly quite affluent looking clientele. Although we asked for a carafe of house wine we were given a bottle of very nice but expensive local Pinot 48 CHF (39€). Interesting when the diner on the next table was given a carafe! What did annoy me more was that we were given a separate dessert menu to choose from with prices ranging from 12 - 14 CHF. It was only when I enquired was this part of the set 3 course menu we were eventually given the set menu option, which was delicious. (A bit naughty trying to add on another 12 francs to our 68!). In fact I found the overly attentive waiter a bit annoying constantly filling our glasses and then trying to 'fleece' tourists for a few more francs. Consequently we left without having our usual coffee and brandy. The nights sleep was not very comfortable, as the room was very warm, the noise from the restaurant carried upstairs, and the local through road was quite noisy.
The breakfast was the usual continental buffet of cold meat and cheese, but there was the option of a boiled egg. There were only 3 rooms in use in the hotel which says it all - Nice but expensive food, with basic 2 * accommodation.

Room Tip: This needs to be a restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel and the dining room really is exceptional with many regional and wild specialities including foie gras and truffles for those looking for a special experience. This pretty hotel looked lovely as it snowed throughout the weekend and the Christmas decorations were up. A budget hotel it is not, but it is really good value for money for Switzerland where rack rate reductions are not at the same level as can be achieved in other parts of Europe. Our waiter was exceptional all staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolZ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed one night in this hotel - myself, my young son and my husband.

Booking: I requested an offer and got one by email quickly. I then asked a simple question about the rate, and received a booking confirmation! After writing back to say I had not yet confirmed the booking and asking my question again. I did not receive any further communication. My husband called the hotel and spoke to a helpful person, clarified everything and we were told we would receive a written confirmation. This was still not forthcoming, and my husband called again a few days later. He was told by the supposed "boss" that we were putting pressure on their rates, and that the hotel was not open to discussing rates like that. The guy was basically rude.

By this time it was too late to book somewhere else, so we confirmed the rooms. We asked for them to be next to each other and in a quiet part of the hotel; since my son goes to bed at 7pm we booked two rooms so we could be in the next room with our baby monitor in the evening, and then one of us would sleep the night in the same room as our son.

When we arrived we were shown the rooms, which were okay sized, a little old around the edges. They both seemed badly ventilated and had a certain odour, not terrible but not very good first impression either. Nothing to write home about but not dreadful either.

We were told that if we counted on eating in the hotel restaurant, we needed to eat at 6pm as they were full. In the end suited us as it was before our son's bedtime. The restaurant was nice, excellent service, food was very good and a high chair was provided for our son.

When we went to bed, there was a huge party going on downstairs. So much for a quiet part of the hotel. Live music, people banging on tables. In fact it was a special evening on the floor below us. We had orginally thought it was good that our rooms weren't directly above the restaurant but it wasn't what was expecting when asking if it was possible to have rooms in a quiet part of the hotel. The party went on until about 2am.

The next morning: no hot water despite leaving the tap running for 5 minutes. No answer at reception when we called twice to ask how to get hot water. In fact you had to leave it running for more than 10 minutes.

At 7.45 am, we arrived at breakfast (which was supposedly served from 7am). All the chairs were still on the tables and the buffet wasn't laid out. Someone came shortly afterwards, but we felt like we were disturbing them.

In short, there is nothing to recommend this hotel apart from the restaurant. My advice: eat in the restaurant and then go back to sleep in a nicer, more welcoming hotel somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William_Mandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We only had one night to spend in this wonderful small hotel travelling to our winter sport destination. Although close to the motor way, you can sleep with the windows open without hearing any noise. Except perhaps for the church bells, but they give you that ‘out in the country’ feeling that you look for. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The pleasant restaurant offers great food. Classic dishes like foie gras, chateaubriand, superb cheeses, mousse au chocolat, all prepared perfectly. Lovely wines and digestives too! Have a look at their menu’s on their web-site! Also the very friendly staff is worth mentioning. Some would say that prices are high, but given the quality it’s worth every Swiss Franc! Perhaps not a place for snobs, but if you just want to enjoy life, this is the place to be. We’ll be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed for one night in this hotel travelling down to our holiday in Italy. We booked it because of its location, very close to the motorway, so we would not have to travel too far. The hotel is very pretty and although it is not far from the motorway we were not disturbed by noise. The room was large and pleasant, as was the bathroom although we had difficulty switching between the bath and the shower. We ate in the hotel in the evening. The restaurant was very busy, that could have been due to the fact that it was a Swiss holiday, but the food was fine. We were the only guests staying and we had a very good breakfast, with a wide choice of cheese, meats, yoghurts, eggs etc. I would have no problems recommending this hotel to others.

  • Liked — its location close to the motorway
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eptingen
4.5 mi away
Landgasthof Kreuz
Landgasthof Kreuz
#1 of 1 in Kappel
108 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Bad Bubendorf
Hotel Bad Bubendorf
#1 of 1 in Bubendorf
147 reviews
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
#1 of 2 in Egerkingen
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bad Ramsach Quellhotel
Bad Ramsach Quellhotel
#1 of 1 in Laufelfingen
37 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Bienenberg
Hotel Bienenberg
#3 of 4 in Liestal
28 reviews
7.8 mi away
Engel Hotel Liestal
Engel Hotel Liestal
#1 of 4 in Liestal
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen

Property: Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen
Address: Laeufelfingerstrasse 2, Eptingen 4458, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Eptingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eptingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Landgasthaus Bad Eptingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing