We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Bike Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Active Hotel Aurora
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Alba di Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Since 11 years, we're organising a cycling trip in a mountain region into Europe.This year we went to the Dolomites and spent 6 nights in Hotel Aurora (half board).It was an excellent choice! Great cuisine, very good 4 course dinner and a nice breakfast every morning. We will remember the special menu on wednesday night! For bikers the hotel offered a lot of extras: safe storage for the bikes, good advice,laundry service, free wifi and wellness facilities...But the most important to us was the great hospitality and the service. At the end of our trip we were surprised: the bill was less than we thought!Good quality for a very reasonable price. This was the best bike hotel we've ever had! Thanks to the Rosa family...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego_Meyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 519 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my second stay with Terri and Ugo. They have so much knowledge of the area and can point you in the right direction for many outdoor activities. The hotel is located a short walk (less than 5 mins) from the Ciampac lift. A nice large communal area with comfortable tables to plan your next day's activities. Dinners were also great. Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the NW side have views of the Rosengartens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked two nights at the Hotel Aurora on our cycling tour of the Dolomites so we could ride the Sella Ronda. The hotel was very comfortable with secure bike storage, excellent food and invaluable advise on local cycling. Terry and Ugo were very helpful and went out of their way to provide for my gluten-free diet over and above the good cyclists' meals. I've never eaten such a variety of foods and so well! The area is beautiful and fabulous for cycling and the Sella Ronda is something else. I'd have happily have stayed far longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We experienced the epitome of fine Italian Hospitality from the wonderful Terry & Ugo, fine cyclists themselves. A family owned hotel since 1953. The hotel is just outside the busy town. it is well suited to cyclists and skiers. We had planned to ride the Dolomites, but since we had just completed the Stelvio pass we were not yet recovered for the family ride of the Sella Ronda, and so with excellent advise from Ugo we did a beautiful alpine walk and found 2 refuges where one could purchase lunch, drinks and best of all gelati's. Followed by a light ride the next day again suggested by Ugo. We stayed with half board and would highly recommend this. It includes a hearty breakfast, with a 4 course dinner and they bring the leftovers around for you to top up your plate ( but there is already enough on your plate, but the food was so tasty it was hard to resist having just a little bit more.) 1st nights desert was the best creme brûlée ever tasted, followed the next night with little chocolate cakes that when opened oozed chocolate sauce all with a white choc dipping sauce, magic. They also have 2 coffee machines (bliss), bike storage, free laundry service, nothing is too much trouble, cleanliness we envy for our house. We will be proud to wear the Hotel Aurora cycling jersey back in Australia.

Room Tip: We had a front room and had a beautiful view from our breakfast table and room just above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just came back from Canazei, where my girls competed in figure skating competition. After reading reviews I expected far more from the hotel. It is is 3 star, but I would give it 2 star. First, we were supposed to get a better rate due to competition, and that is what lady in the hotel through mail promised. But then when we checked the price that was stated in the room, we realized we got charged the full rate, or they did not update the list in the room. Then, the towels in the room were so old, and all different. We had 4 bedroom and the room was small, with twin bunk bed pulled from the wall. The top bed had a barrier against fall, and it was not stable, it fell once. As far as breakfast, there was only meats, cheeses, bread, and hard boiled eggs, nothing amazing. Coffee is from the Nescaffe machine. Also, the parking has only few spaces, not enough for entire hotel. Another thing that was annoying is that walls are so thin, that you can hear someone knocking to the room few rooms away. The room for the skiis is a great plus, and bus stop to Canazei ski place is close by, but then Alba is so small, that all bus stops are near by. I plan to go there again, since ski place is absolutely amazing, but will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing road, since it is very loud late at night and in the morning if you like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa C, Proprietario at Active Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Miss Roberta,
we thank you for your feedback that you left for our hotel.
I find myself disagreeing though with some comments that you made .
Ours is NOT a 3 star hotel as maybe you were searching for. We are actually a 2 star hotel with many features and services that you find in a 3 star hotel. I am sorry that you were expecting more . Usually our guests are very satisfied with what we offer . Our buffet breakfast, besides what you mentioned, offers also 4 different kinds of cereal, yogurt, homemade cakes, cookies, juice, milk jam, chocolate and fresh fruit.
As far as price is concerned , your rate was preferential due to Skating Competition. You paid an average of 36 euro a day bed and breakfast while normal price , considering the Easter weekend is of 45. I also offered dinner for the small difference of only euro 13.50 per person a day which included a 3 course meal with salad buffet and dessert (which you denied) . It is hard to find elsewhere a complete dinner and of very good quality for that price!
I am sorry that our hotel wasn't up to your level and expectations . Our main objective is to provide a clean, homely atmosphere , kindness and very good food ! Best regards. Teresa Rosa - Manager Hotel Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed there one week in march 2013.
Advantages:
1. Good location - about 1,5km from center of Canazei, next to free skibus stop.
2. Very nice and helpful staff.
3. Fantastic local food !!
4. Rooms are well equipped and clean but not modern.
5. Sauna and wellness area
6. Boxes for ski equipment

We strongly recommend this place ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcinKrakow_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in Aurora hotel for one week at the end of February. The hotel is perfectly located, away from Canazei of 2-3km, right in front of hotel there is a ski bus which will take you whereever you want in Val di Fassa. Ski region is perfect! We had a nice room with balcony and beautiful mountain view. The owners treated us very well, they were present at all times, and were pleased to help with everything. Also very friendly staff. The food was amazing, every day we had a choice of various,local, delicious meals. There was a sauna and steem room. Every room has dedicated locker for ski equipment. There is a small car park next to hotel, but a minute walk you can also park your car for free. In general I recommend this hotel because definitely you will rest there and forget about daily duties.

Room Tip: It's better to get the room at 1st or 2nd floor because the elevator works only at these floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexAndriA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba di Canazei
0.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Wellness
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Welln...
#7 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sassleng
Hotel Sassleng
#1 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Alpino Al Cavalletto
Albergo Alpino Al Cavalletto
#3 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Lupo Bianco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Active Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Active Hotel Aurora

Address: Via Costa 240, 38030 Alba di Canazei, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei > Alba di Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alba di Canazei
#2 Family Hotel in Alba di Canazei
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alba di Canazei
Price Range: $112 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Active Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Active Hotel Aurora is located in the heart of the Dolomites and is a perfect location for winter and summer sports and outdoor activities. We provide a family atmosphere with warm and friendly staff, excellent food and rooms with all necessary comforts. Small but cozy wellness with steambath and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Active Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Aurora Alba Di Canazei
Active Hotel Aurora Canazei, Italy - Alba Di Canazei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing