We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel in the Dolomites”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alba di Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
La California, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Dolomites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent a week at Hotel Aurora in early September for a cycling trip. The owners, Terry and Ugo and their lovely children, made us feel like we were at our home away from home. Our room was clean, quiet, and well maintained and offered a breath-taking view of the mountains. The food was excellent and plentiful, and we were even treated to a special Ladin dinner one night! The hotel is ideally located just outside of Canazei, which is an easy walk along a beautiful pedestrian walkway. For cyclists, the hotel offers all the amenities of a "bike hotel": secure storage, laundry, and most importantly, local knowledge from Terry and Ugo who are both avid cyclists and outdoorsmen. All of our concerns and questions were addressed immediately in a friendly and helpful manner. All the family speaks excellent English but they are also quite patient if you want to practice your Italian.

Room Tip: Upper story with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    139
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
190
144
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brucken, de
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Both my wife and I sneezed and coughed all night from dust or lint or ??? In and around the bed. I am asthmatic and couldn't stay there again.

The breakfast was good, dinner not so good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank mrkip1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are looking for a simple, clean hotel in the Dolomites with very friendly service, then I strongly recommend Hotel Aurora. It is also a great location if you have come for hiking in the Dolomites. There are two lifts within an easy (less than 15 minute) walk and there are also local bus stops close by. Those lifts, which I highly recommend you use, will get you up to great spots from which you can undertake a variety of hikes. The owners of the hotel, Terry and Ugo, gave us great advice every evening or morning on what our next hike should be and they can supply you with a decent map. Terry also gave us great advice on buying a discount pass for the lifts and local bus service and supplied us with the bus schedule. Good maps are also available at the local TIs or at rifugios along the hiking trails, and I recommend you get one (but the one from Hotel Aurora was sufficient). The rooms and beds are simple, so some people might want a higher level of luxury, but I thought it was just fine for a retreat in a European mountain village. The bathroom and shower were new and everything works just fine. Also had a tiny balcony with a place to dry clothes. We took the halfboard arrangement, which supplies breakfast and dinner every day. I thought that was the smart choice. After a tough day on the hiking trails, going out to find a restaurant was not very appealing. The meals give you plenty to eat and the food was pretty good -- I'm a pretty tough food critic and I would say the dishes ranged from mediocre to excellent and generally pretty good. The food was especially good on their special Ladin dinner, which they do once a week. (For you foodies/hikers or bikers out there, the best I had was at Rifugio Frederich August which is near where the Campitello lift lets you out -- time it to have lunch there). Also, the servers in the hotel dining room are very nice and the owners of the hotel will come and chat with you during the mealtimes -- very nice and welcoming. They have parking right there at the hotel although I think I used the car only once or twice during five days there because of the nearby lifts and bus pass.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to travel to Hotel Aurora in May this year after staying there 2 years ago. We were once again made so welcome by the staff and enjoyed our stay immensely. We were travelling in a party of eight and appreciated having such a gourmet restaurant with non-gourmet prices at the hotel after a long day of site-seeing. We stayed for 3 days but wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We have requested both times a room with a balcony which has been great and we choose to stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjallerup, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our stay was in every way pleasant, with gourmet food and a cozy environment. Thanks, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were originally booked into the Hotel Aurora for 3 nights. When we arrived dinner was being served and we were greeted by Terry who immediately asked us if we would like to join everyone at dinner. A nice greeting which we had to decline as we had eaten en route. We did have dinner later in our stay and it was delightful, simple, local produce nicely presented.

Our room was on the third floor, note here the elevator only goes to the second floor so if you have a problem with stairs ask for a lower floor. The room was very pleasant with a small balcony that revealed beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was very small and showing some signs of wear (cracked tiles on the floor etc) but very clean and functional. It was supplied with the essentials, soap, shampoo, shower cap and plenty of clean towels. The room was thoughtfully supplied with lots of places to hang damp sports clothes, a large wardrobe, desk, TV and free internet.

The hotel is on the route for the free ski bus which stops right outside and runs very regularly into the town and to the Canazei gondola. From here the skiing is wonderful, we did the "Sellaronda" our first day a 42 km tour that is not hard and gives you a good taste of what is available in the area.

Back to the hotel, on our third day there I became very sick and even though we were to leave the next day Terri was very kind and said we could stay longer and agreed not to disturb me while I tried to get over my bug. We finally had to stay two extra days and I have to thank both Terri and Ugo for their concern. We would love to get back here one day so we can explore the area more and enjoy more time with our kind hosts.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor if you need an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywonderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed in Aurora for a week (4) 2012 - and it is just perfect for groups to stay on this hotel. Exellent service and the standards are high for the rooms and surroundings. The food is just perfect for active people like our group ( skiing) - variated and tasteful. I would like to return to specific this hotel and its friendly athmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba di Canazei
0.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alla Rosa
Hotel Alla Rosa
#2 of 51 in Canazei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Lupo Bianco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sassleng
Hotel Sassleng
#2 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#3 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Via Costa 240, 38030 Alba di Canazei, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei > Alba di Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alba di Canazei
#2 Family Hotel in Alba di Canazei
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alba di Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is located in the heart of the Dolomites and is a perfect location for winter and summer sports and outdoor activities. We provide a family atmosphere with warm and friendly staff, excellent food and rooms with all necessary comforts. Small but cozy wellness with steambath and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Aurora Alba Di Canazei
Hotel Aurora Canazei, Italy - Alba Di Canazei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing