We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence 1300 feet up in the hills above Lake Constance”
Review of Hotel Heiden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Heiden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Heiden is an Appenzeller hill town which was rebuilt in the Biedermeier style after the fire of 1838. Its white walls and red roofs seen against the Lake below are uniquely beautiful. The hotel's restaurant, lounge and northfacing rooms all have a panoramic view of a 25 mile stretch of this lake through windows that are always clean; the German 'Riviera' towns can be seen on the other side. The leafy terrace cafe is very popular especially when the cool pure evening air for which Heiden is famous takes over from summer heat. The staff are mainly Swiss, welltrained, effective and friendly; key staff speak English. The restaurants have a GaultMillau rating of 13, the half board menu changes every day. The spa facilities are modern and comprehensive; the 'thunder and lightning' shower is an amazing experience. St Gallen with its high quality fashion shops is halfanhour away on mountain roads by PostAuto: modern doubledeckers, four per hour, highly recommended: you don't have to drive or park and watching the scenery and the roads from the upper deck is very interesting...With the variety of walks in the hills around and the support from the transport system and backup from the hotel (even a free computer terminal in the lounge for Test Match scores), it is a great place to recharge your batteries. And when I compared the bill with the one I received from a similar English hotel in the countryside near a lake, I found that the Swiss bill is one third cheaper even with the Swiss franc at 1.60 to the £.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johannes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Heiden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a wellness hotel, and therefore has unusual features such as crutch holders adjacent to most tables. Lots of people getting around on crutches. They have daily exercise programs posted in the elevator. Clearly skews old. I suspect that there is a mineral bath somewhere around, although I didn't see it myself. That said, it has exceptional views of Lake Constance (German: Bondensee) from the rooms on that side of the hotel. There is no train service there, but they do have a trolley stop within 150 meters that ends up at a train station. As for the hotel, it's pretty rudimentary. No air conditioning, which is not surprising but nevertheless was a bother on the stifling hot days we were there. I didn't pay myself as I was a guest of my hosts, but I got the feeling it was pricey. In-room TV's but while there is no in-room internet, there is a computer with internet connection in the lobby. In short, not exceptionally good, but not bad either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank readont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: mit Seeblick buchen!
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Obere Etagen mit Blick auf Bodensee sehr schön und ruhig, grosse Zimmer und modern.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bauerhorses3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Holgs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiden
10.5 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
192 reviews
4.9 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
9.9 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rebstock
Best Western Hotel Rebstock
#2 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
112 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Bad Horn
Hotel Bad Horn
#1 of 1 in Horn
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
#1 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heiden

Address: Seeallee 8, Heiden 9410, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Heiden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiden
Price Range: $189 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heiden 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a guest at our hotel means one thing above all – enjoyment all day long! A stay at Hotel Heiden is an experience for all senses. Enjoy the culinary highlights of our outstanding regional cuisine, the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel, the wonderful panoramic views far over Lake Constance, the stillness of each new day and the scents of the nearby forests and meadows. Immerse yourself in an Appenzellerland idyll.We look forward to welcoming you to your "home from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Heiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing