We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but an average restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo dell'Agenzia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pollenzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Albergo dell'Agenzia for one night. Our high expectations were met as regards the hotel and the related services, including the Wine Bank providing a magnificent selection of wines from the region and also from other parts of Italy. The entire complex was impressive and the hotel facilities of high quality (pool, gym, underground garage, wifi etc). Also the restaurant was stylish, with a beautuful view to the garden. Unfortunately the food served in the restaurant did not impress us. We had three courses and none of them contained any fresh vegetables. Vitello tonnatto was dry, and one of the main courses, lamb, was tasteless, while the other main course, veal, was one of the 'raw' (or almost) courses. It could have been ok, if the portion had been smaller and if it had been served with something fresh - now it was just too much (5 slices) of almost raw meat with oily potatos.
And one more thing about the hotel: the information leaflet in the room said that the check-out was by 10 o'clock, whic we found too far too early for a place like this. When I mentioned this at the reception, the person working there told me that it was not correct, but the check-out was by 11h00. Well, nobody told us that when we checked in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIHKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base for exploring the Piemonte region. We were initially concerned about its isolation (we wanted other dinner options in walking distance) but found excellent options very close (5 min walk) in Pollenzo. Hotel staff were very helpful; free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan-GordonSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Piemonte it is a great region to visit. If you ever have the opportunity to spend some time there you will discover one of the best places in Europe. Hotels like this one help to understand why a great service, extremely nice and very helpful crew and the Slow Food concept in motion make your stay wonderful and very pleasant.
Excellent breakfast, very good restaurant and big rooms. Maybe some improvement in terms of lightening and bathrooms, but very nice all together.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Fenoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel in the beautiful Piemonte region in the north of Italy is highly recommended. Home of the Slow Food movement and in a wonderful location surrounded by magical historical towns. The historical installations are first rate and very spacious. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The wine tasting and a visit to the magnificent wine bank is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as part of a tour of Piemonte. Lovely, historic surroundings and friendly staff made our stay memorable. Reception staff helped with making and changing bookings and were pleasant. Rooms were very comfortable with good Wifi and not noisy although a little warm... and we couldn't figure out how to change the temp. Traditional menu in the restaurant provided a good sample of local produce with attentive service. The lounge for coffee and drinks was nice and we preferred it's relaxed attitude. Breakfast was excellent. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or spa areas but they looked nice. A walk through historic Pollenzo is a must and this makes a great base for Piemonte touring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wonderful stay. We had the cannubi suite with his and hers bathrooms. They didn't offer conditioner or body lotion which I found strange. The room was spacious and clean other wise. No American channels but free wi-fi that at times was slow.
Pool area had a lot of bees but everything was clean. Small gym area. Breakfast was okay but satisfying. Dinner in the property was good. They have a full bar and a gelato station (that I thoroughly enjoyed). Turn down service doesn't change your soiled towels? They have what I would call a courtyard / park that is inviting in the evenings. One night they even had a DJ playing music very nice touch. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would return. About 1/2 hour from Neive, la Morra, Barbaresco, Bra or Barolo.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NPC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great place to stay. Also with small children like everywhere in Italy.

Clean. Leader sofas in the room smelled. Otherwise top.

Nice staff rounds up the stay.

Excellent food and good breakfast.

Excellent wine choice also for open wines. But what do you expect in the heart of the piemont.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollenzo
8.0 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
436 reviews
2.7 mi away
Somaschi Hotel
Somaschi Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cherasco
361 reviews
7.9 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
484 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Castello Santa Vittoria
Hotel Castello Santa Vittoria
#1 of 1 in Santa Vittoria d'Alba
178 reviews
3.7 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo dell'Agenzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo dell'Agenzia

Address: Via Fossano 21, 12042 Pollenzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Pollenzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pollenzo
Price Range: $180 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo dell'Agenzia 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo dell’Agenzia arises from the idea of Slow Food and it’s particular suggested for the persons who are looking for the pleasure of good taste and ideal but surely welcoming and pleasant.The 4-star Albergo dell'Agenzia hotel is situated on the beautiful restructured neo-Gothic country estate of King Carlo Alberto of Savoy.The site also comprises the University of Gastronomic Sciences, the Wine Bank and Guido’s restaurant. The hotel itself welcomes guests to Pollenzo in an atmosphere that is once warm, friendly and why not smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo dell'Agenzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Dell`Agenzia Hotel Pollenzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing