We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nourriture du coeur - Merci Benjamin”
Review of Le Bistrot de Caro

Le Bistrot de Caro
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Lunel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $56
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Stepping off the Main Street of Lunel you enter a beautifully kept garden hideaway. Entering Le bistro we were warmly welcomed by the Maitre’d Benjamin, on a buzzing Monday lunch service (most places in France would be closed) the menu is straight up and to the point. Honest but precise and unfussy approach to classic French dishes, the Dorade tartare was flavoursome and clean... the beef Tartare had an Asian inflection but it worked well and is was thick cut and rustic. Around the room you have a blend of old posters, maps and some art noveau touches... like a classic bistro should. One of us went for the set menu... a garlic coup with smoked oysters, which was fantastic. The wine list is varied, some great biodynamic wines on offer and local favourites... they offered an antique high chair for our baby which was a nice touch... we will be back as soon as we can.... Merci Benjamin et ton Equipe aussi!!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank RAMOS-MER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

Aside from the decoration ( lots of pig ...but a lot less than at Rossano’s @bangkok, Thailand ) , the menu offers a couple of dishes with pork as the hero. On the day we went, the plat du jour was pork tandoori. Not quite the Tandoori most Indians would associate with. But it was okay. In fact , the kid’s menu = grilled/ pan fried pork with home made French fries looks appetizing. The beef menu (half-cooked beef with Parmesan) at 30 euros is good. There is also a squid dish. The main dish selection is rather limited though. The staff is friendly and helpful. Most of the tables were occupied. Seating in the patio is best.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lantis7481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Not nouvelle, but la vraie cuisine a l'ancienne, cooked old school, i.e., bursting with flavor. I can still taste, in a good way, the country-style terrine, the seiche and mackerel with spring peas and herbs, In the US, people stand on line in trendy neighborhoods for frites this good. You can't do better than this. Very friendly atmosphere, this is country French bistro à la campagne, comme il faut (done right). I want to go back and eat sausages. Next time I will reserve and avoid that brief moment of anxiety. You should too.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Having been blocked for 3 hours on the A9 from Montpellier, the gendarmes opened an emergency exit, and we left a gridlocked motorway and moved onto the routes nationals surchargee.
Desperately in need of a loo and to eat and relax, Tripadvisor guided me to Le bistro de Caro.
The menu heavily leant towards all things porcine. The service was rapid but could be sharpened. The general atmosphere was warm, welcoming and one felt oneself to be in an establishment who welcomed regulars and newcomers alike.
I chose pate as a starter, grey uninteresting lookin slabs arrived which were surprisingly tasty. Swiftly followed by the mijote de veau with an excellent purée and delicious sauce. Only criticism too much meat.
This meal set me up for the remaining 3 hours or so of road finishing with a dinner service I had to prepare, cook and present for my own clients....
En vous remerciant Chez Caro, si je n'avais pas eu ces problèmes je n'aurais vous pas trouvée, pour chaque négative il y aune positive.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank milady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

Wonderful meal, great service, thank you. Fresh produce, pleasant ambiance, all around lovely. We will be back!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noelg835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de Caro also viewed

 

Been to Le Bistrot de Caro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing