We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRAUMATIZING EXPERIENCE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saquarema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Saquarema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This review covers our experience at Hotel Maasai and Saquarema in general. My husband and I spent 3 nights at Pousada Maasai in September 2010 during our honeymoon in Brazil. We prepaid for all of our accommodations. Upon arriving to the hotel we were shown a selection of rooms and told we could have our choice. After choosing our room, we settled in. We were surprised to open the fridge in our room to find old food and a half eaten chocolate popsicle. There were many bugs in the room. The TV broke the first night. At 5 AM in the morning fireworks were going off right outside our room. They lasted an hour. It was so loud it sounded like gunfire right outside our window. Because of our TV breaking, the staff moved us to another room, where we spent the next two nights. The new room also had many bugs. The waterfall at the pool was out of service. The sauna was not working and the internet was down. Our last evening at Maasai we were heading out to dinner when the front desk girl told us we needed to check out. We were handed a bill for 400 Real and told that we were upgraded at a cost. We were never told in advance that the room they put us in was more than what we prepaid for. After my husband was on the phone with an engish speaking manager for over an hour, we missed our dinner (the restaurant has closed). The manager threatened us and told us that if we didn't pay that they had "different ways of handling things in Brazil." We eventually checked out without an upcharge, hungry and unsettled. I spent the night scared we were going to be murdered, not an exaggeration.

Also, as a warning to travelers to Saquarema in September, the town is dead. There were two beach restaurants open. Most hotels were closed and we were the only people staying at our hotel. The beach is very dirty and there are dead penguins washing up all over the place. There is graffiti everywhere in the town. The water is too rough for swimming and very cold. And if you came to surf, good luck finding a surf shop. The surf school was empty and abandoned. This is NOT the "surfing capital of Brazil" as lonely planet quotes. If you are looking for good waves, head to Itacare. We had an amazing time there and the town was lively and fun even in the off season with a great culture for surfing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAYULITASALIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 155 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Chilled out....lovely people.......good food......shame about not having a menu in english!!
Atmosphere is nice and relaxed...views are out of this world!
Its definitely a day place....beach...surf....walks....at nite its quiet!!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mabel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Stayed at the Maasai last month. Beautiful hotel located right on the beach, in front of the surfing spots. The hotel is tastefully decorated in African art and has a large lounge area with TV and sofas and a decking area overlooking the beach. There's a nice little beach bar which does amazing caiprinhas however the food in the hotel was average and the staff don't speak any English. Although one of the staff who communicated with us on email beforehand was really helpful and arranged our transfers from Rio and on to Buzios which were much cheaper than getting them from Rio. At the front of the hotel is a small pool set in the lush grounds with lots of flowers and plants and a sauna and open air games room. The bedrooms are quite small and fairly basic but comfortable with everything you need. Ours was at the back of the hotel with lovely views overlooking the beach.This is bar far the best place to stay in Saquarema although it is a bit of a walk into the main town - probably about 30 mins but there are bike and normal taxis. There isn't a massive amount to do here unless you're surfing - we stayed 3 days and 2 nights which was enough.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos no térreo são muito bons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valderez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank rlmavellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Refrota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ronaldo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saquarema hotels
0.7 mi away
Pousada das Garcas
Pousada das Garcas
#1 of 38 in Saquarema
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Espuma da Praia
Pousada Espuma da Praia
#7 of 38 in Saquarema
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Pousada Laje de Itauna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Itauna Hostel
Itauna Hostel
#4 of 45 in Saquarema
16 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Fazenda Sitio Nosso Paraiso
4.0 mi away
Espaco Monte Cristo
Espaco Monte Cristo
#16 of 38 in Saquarema
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort

Address: Travessa Itauna 17 | Praia de Itaúna, Saquarema, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Saquarema
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Saquarema
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort Saquarema, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing