We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and staff who go out of their way for you”
Review of CasaRemi Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CasaRemi Farmhouse
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is a very comfortable, attractive hotel with views to Lago di Bolsena. We loved its location near the lake and close to several medieval villages with galleries and museums, restaurants and shops. We spent New Years Eve in nearby Orvieto and attended some GREAT concerts at the Umbria Winter Jazz festival (www.umbriajazz.com). The complimentary brunch January 1st was out-of-this-world with all kinds of stuff. The hotel was full so I guess it is popular, especially during Italian holidays… I understand why! Great value for money!!

+ for the nice rooms and beautiful interior in general, the food and the service
- no sign at the road so we had to call to get directions
(staff explained approval for road sign was pending at local authorities)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ItalianGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

Situated 7 kms out of Bolsena, close to Lago di Bolsena. OK location if you have a car. Some hundred meters walk from nearest bus stop. Half a dozen bikes (with helmets) for free use (road to Bolsena mostly flat). If you don't have a car they will arrange arrival / departure transport from / to bus (Bolsena / Montefiascone / Aquapendente / Wherever) or train (Montefiascone / Orvieto) if booked in advance. Nice terrace, sittingrooms, cozy interior, nice kittens, nice dog -. Sunchairs, sitting groups in garden. We had the suite, TV was in bedroom. Small but adequate bathroom with shower and toilet. Large terrace with table and chairs. Waterboiler for coffee and tea. Welcome fruits and chocs. Good breakfast, accomodating hosts who will feed you and help you in any way. This is a B&B I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank rjsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you dream of experiencing the true Italian countryside atmosphere at its best you choose Casa Remi, in Bolsena! This is the place you will feel at home at the same time as you will find the perfect holiday spirit. This is all due to the hosts who know how to balance friendly, attentive service with professonalisme and knowledge. After reading all of the well deserved reviews I feel like sharing my own great experience with Casa Remi last year.

My sister and I visited Italy for the first time in Oct 08, and after hearing about Casa Remi from friends we decided to visit Bolsena after four busy days in Rome. Our stay at Casa Remi surpassed all our expectations. The guesthouse we stayed in had a warm but modern atmosphere, decorated with rustic interior clearly inspired by the traditional Italian country style mixed with Scandivanian comfort. Great rooms with comfortable beds and real quilts, and access to a private balcony. From the a kitchen they served a memorable breakfast buffet with homemade jam, fruits and vegetables from the B&B's own garden, which we were able to enjoy on a large and comfortable terrace overlooking the surrounding olivetrees and vineyards as well as the Bolsena Lake.

During our one week stay we enjoyed walks in the nearby surroundings accompanied by the hosts Golden Retriver, Turner, whom is happy to show you around on request. We were also able to explore Bolsena and the beautiful area by bikes provided free of charge by the guesthouse. We easily rented a car to make daytrips around Lake Bolsena, as well as to historic Siena only two hours drive into Tuscany (Listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site). Due to the guesthouse excellent location in central Italy a car is highly recommended. At arrival from Rome the hosts picked us up at the trainstation in Orvieto, 20 min drive from Casa Remi, for a small fee. Through Casa Reminiscenzas website we found a great offer for car rental, picking up the car in Orvieto, accompanied by the hosts, and delivering the car at the airport in Rome before leaving Italy. After a long day exploring it felt like home arrviving at Casa Remi by the end of the day.

During our stay we where so lucky to be invited to participate in the grape picking. It was an experience of a lifetime for my sister and I, the northern europeans! We spent the day picking and pressing the grapes accompanied by the hosts (including «wine and sandwich breaks»:). Afterwards we were served a nice dinner at the terrace, accompanied with last years house red watching the sun set behind the green hills and Montefiascone. So this year we are off course going back to taste our «own» wine, and Casa Remi has for ever got a special place in our journeyplanner!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laikatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Now also we have visited the famous “piccolo hotel” by the Bolsena Lake, and despite very high expectations (after numerous recommendations) we are overwhelmed by the hospitality, the facilities and the food and wine at this place! It’s the perfect spot, -not only for a romantic getaway but also for a family holiday as we had. Our boys loved to play on the fields with outdoor games provided by the hotel, and mum & dad enjoyed lazy afternoons in hammocks hanging in the shadow. Informal outdoor dining every night and occasional BBQ’s suited us perfect! Montefiascone, the hilltop town where grapes for the Est!Est!!Est!!-wines are grown, has a scenic park with striking views over the volcanic crater and the lake. A car is recommended if you want to go on excursions further than the nearby villages. There are a few good Golf courses within reachable distance for a day on the green (the staff will surly help get information and prices). Also do the ferry-sightseeing on the Lake, starting in the harbour in Bolsena, and jump off in the picturesque village Capodimonte right across the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JCHGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I had the pleasure of spending the christmas holidays at "The Casa". After the seamless transfer from the airport to the casa, which I had dreaded without reason we were checked into a fully airconditioned room of the highest standard. The rooms being all brand new it was delightful to see fresh spacious rooms with comfortable beds all done in the "warm thy heart" spirit.

We had the pleasure of meeting some of the "locals" who now and then popped by. By locals - it was other expats who lived in the area telling stories of Italy. This gave it all a homely feel that comlipmented the over all experince of the stay.

I especially loved the common area with that "quietly raging" fireplace, the christmas stocking on x-mas day morning and the decorating of the tree. X-mas like home, away from home and it all done for you, just participate where you like.

Even in winter it was refreshing and possible to go for a run and dip in the lake, quite refreshing. The area was perfect for running and walking. One day we wnt for lunch in Orvieto the other for pizza in Bolsena. Both unique experiences.

I am going back the first opportunity I get. I recommend it for all, family, couples get-aways what ever. The Casa is ready for it all - and welcome all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I had two memorable stays at this extraordinary property in 2008, and would like to share my experience with others. The first time I stayed at Casa Reminiscenza was at an extended weekend with girlfriends of mine. We wanted to combine adventures in Rome with peaceful recreation and good wining & dining on the countryside. Our expectations were more than exceeded at Casa Reminiscenza! I brought my family to the guesthouse for our summer vacation a few months later, and also this stay was absolutely wonderful!! The location is just perfect as a “home base” when doing Central Italy!

The farmhouse is restored to a very high quality and the interior is elegant and comfy! The guestrooms have everything you would expect in a full service hotel, and the breakfast is out-of-this-world with a lot of homemade stuff and a variety I have never experienced in Mediterranean countries before. Of course you get Italian coffee and the sweets that are typical breakfast in this part of the world, but you also get to choose from many kinds of breads; delicious cheeses and cold cuts; jams and marmalades; vegetables and fruits; and fresh juices (among other stuff). If you don’t want to have lunch or dinner in the village they have a menu with cold and warm food at the guesthouse (you can even have wine from their own vineyard). They also do theme nights with BBQs and Italian buffets several times a week in the summertime. Between the olive trees in the garden you’ll find hammocks and sun chairs. Going to the villages and the beaches around the lake was quick and hassle-free with bikes provided free of charge by the guesthouse.

The bilingual staff is friendly and helps with everything from transport to reservations, shopping, and info about what’s worth doing/seeing in the area. I will definitely go back, hopefully this summer already!

Sincerely yours
Kirsten J.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KirJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Lorenzo Nuovo hotels
0 mi away
Agriturismo Renaccio
Agriturismo Renaccio
#2 of 4 in San Lorenzo Nuovo
9 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
La Francigena
#4 of 4 in San Lorenzo Nuovo
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo Le Torrette
Borgo Le Torrette
#1 of 1 in San Lorenzo Nuovo
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo B&B Vallegiorgio
Agriturismo B&B Vallegiorgio
#1 of 4 in San Lorenzo Nuovo
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to CasaRemi Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaRemi Farmhouse

Address: Via Cassia Km 119,800 | Località Valleponte, 01020 San Lorenzo Nuovo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > San Lorenzo Nuovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Lorenzo Nuovo
Price Range: $61 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Reminiscenza is a fully renovated farmhouse, located by the Bolsena Lake, in the heart of Italy, right where Tuscany, Umbria and Lazio meet.The guesthouse is surrounded by vines and olive trees and has a magnificent view over the largest and cleanest volcanic lake of Europe. All guestrooms are fully equipped, with a private bathroom, and a furnished balcony or patio with splendid views. Breakfast is served from the country style kitchen, with direct access to a large terrace for "alfresco" dining overlooking the crystal clear lake and the green hills of the Italian countryside. The garden is furnished for recreation. Casa Reminiscenza is designed with a mix of traditional Italian country style and contemporary art and design. Guests enjoy friendly hospitality, in a comfortable, elegant and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your CasaRemi Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CasaRemi Farmhouse Italy/San Lorenzo Nuovo, Province Of Viterbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing