We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel with great staff”
Review of Alpina Dolomites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpina Dolomites
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alpe di Siusi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spent a week here - it was very relaxing and we were well looked after.

Pros:

* The design of the hotel is largely very impressive
* The view *out* of the hotel is better then being outside looking at the hotel
* The staff are excellent - genuinely friendly and very competent. Some standouts were:
- Angelo (restaurant) ; Paolo and Robert (bar) ; Patrick (front desk)
* Food at dinner (and part of our package) was excellent - really delicious and innovative. Each night there was a five courses plus salad and cheese, so in effect seven courses! This never became boring and was a daily treat looking forward to the dinner each night.
* Pool is great with a nifty sliding door that takes you to an outdoor section from the indoor pool
* Free cake between 3 and 5 pm - always appreciated and very popular. A nice touch after a day of outdoor ski-ing/walking/snowboarding...or whatever you choose to do whilst you're here....
* Pretty reliable wifi in main lounge area
* Good location , close to ski-lifts and local buses to other parts of the mountain(s)
* Excellent guiding with Emmanuel and his dog, Nikki - a really interesting guy and something we went on three times - some excellent snow-walks and introductions to some excellent places for lunch
* Good breakfast (eggs have the most amazing golden yellow colour to them) inc. a jucer for fresh carrot juice (unusual in my experience)
* Transfer from Innsbruck was hassle free and fair value at €220 each way - a 90 minute drive
* Flexible attitude - I became ill for the last two days of our stay and did not want to eat a formal dinner. One night they arranged for us to eat two courses at the bar and the second room service - no extra charges, no hassle - just a case of "the answer's yes, what's the question?" that seems to be the way they run this hotel.

Cons:

* Checkin and check out was a bit slack - no porters on arrival and then bags left unnattended and not co-ordinated with our taxi driver (it's a pretty small hotel, so no excuses really)
* The entertainment system is lacking. It charges €8 for a movie (not that bad) but the limited choice was frustrating - here's an idea: why not have 200 movies in English, German AND Italian and then (a) make some more money and (b) give the guests more choice !!?
As it was there were about 20 movies in all languages, Russia Today (actually a very good news channel) and 15 German/Italian terrestrial TV stations. No Sky Italia, no Sky Sports (beware football fans), no BBC, no CNN etc. eg INVEST in a decent media system and you will recoup that investment as there is not a lot to do post 9pm at the hotel or the local area.
* A Wifi router in the room was requested free of charge, but it took 3 hours to download a movie off itunes (perhaps a positive in itself, but listed in cons as connected to above)
* Whilst shower was immense, it had a 1/4" gap at the bottom which leaked water all over the bathroom - a simple ergonomic oversight that should have been fixed (a rubber sealant/ shower door draft fitting would fix this)
* The safe is not bolted down, so in theory could be cut free with ease and lifted in it's entirety out of the room - this needs to be fixed.

For a winter holiday this hotel is superb, as the staff make it so enjoyable. With a few tweaks this hotel will become a lot more popular, so I would advise a trip sooner rather than later.

Would be good in the summer too and you don't necessarily have to ski either!

Totally recommend,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Alpina Dolomites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

We escaped a bad experience in an other 5 star hotel nearby (Seiser Alm Urthaler) and by luck we managed to get rooms in this hotel. Well, I must say, the experience there was so great that we have already booked for next year.
The ambience is beautiful, the main communal area is big but has lots of nice little corners where you can relax with a book and a hot chocolate (should you get a stormy day like we got) next to a fireplace and amazing views. The rooms are great, modern, clean and spacious. The staff is friendly and professional, the restaurant food is extremely good (and I am fussy and italian!), the swimming pool and the spa is very very good, there is a nice kids club run by two lovely ladies and it is SO EASY to get to the ski slopes: you walk from the hotel ski room (with super modern individual lockers) right out on the slopes...it could not be easier!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Situated on the piste in Alpe di Susi. Ski guiding by Guido who was great. Excellent kitchens, good table service, first rate wellness and the best swimming pool in the Alps!

Rooms were spacious, bathrooms modern and beds comfortable. Try this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We visited at the of August for 5 days of walking. We have visited the dolomites for many years (usually skiing) and I was looking for somewhere luxurious, with an outdoor pool and easy to walk from.

Wow! This is an amazing hotel. The website looks fantastic, which usually means there will be something a little disappointing in the flesh, but not in this case.

We stayed in the cheapest room. It was huge, stylishly appointed, with a large bathroom and even larger south facing terrace with a beautiful view across the alp. Along with the usual 5 star extras there were nice touches like a "beach bag" for visits to the pool and free internet.

The package is half board and the food was excellent. Each day there was a different 5 course menu (choice for each course) plus you can order a replacement for any course from the a la carte at no extra cost and on top of that there is a salad bar and cheese. The wine list is good and fairly priced.

The spa area is one of the best we've used. The pools are lovely, lots of indoor and outdoor loungers, but the piece de resistance is the sauna area. Two saunas, two steam rooms, two relaxation ares with lots of water beds, lots of showers, outdoor area etc. But on top of that every day there is the sauna "event" where the sauna maestro does the most amazing things with ice, oils, salt and towels. Difficult to explain but definitely a must do!

The area is very good for walking and cycling and the hotel helps providing free bike hire, walking sticks and maps. The walks aren't the most challenging, but they are very well marked and the area is well served with lifts and busses too.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheHolidayQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Don't go to Alpina Dolomites if you can't afford it. Otherwise let yourself be spoilt! As you can see on the pictures and the hotel link, the architecture is modern and top-notch. Most of the facade and the rooms are built out of stone and wood. The view on the Seiser Alm is great. Don't miss the wellness part. It's very relaxing after a busy day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Modern, amazing, unique.
Enjoy the panorama viewing for Schlern und Plattkofel during the early morning swimming. Sunrise cames up about 8.15 and the cinema feeling at the seiser begins.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Much J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Landshut82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpe di Siusi
2.9 mi away
Tirler - Dolomites Living Hotel
Tirler - Dolomites Living Hotel
#2 of 24 in Alpe di Siusi
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seiser Alm Urthaler
Seiser Alm Urthaler
#9 of 24 in Alpe di Siusi
244 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Saltria - True alpine living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
556 reviews
18.3 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
3.4 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Dolomites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Dolomites

Address: Localita Compatsch 62/3, 39040 Alpe di Siusi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Alpe di Siusi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alpe di Siusi
Price Range: $445 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpina Dolomites 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Alpina Dolomites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Dolomites Hotel Alpe Di Siusi
Alpina Dolomites Alpe Di Siusi, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing