We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Air, Killer Views, Great Food”
Review of Hotel Seelaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Seelaus
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Alpe di Siusi
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 as part of the Rick Steves Best of Italy Tour. Great, spacious room. View of the closest, large peaks from our balcony. Wonderful fresh air at night with the window open.

Breakfast was large and satisfying. We had two five course dinners that were above average.

In the winter this place would be heaven for skiers who could ski in and ski out right from the front door.

Several hikes of varying difficulty are available without driving anywhere, although the altitude is 7500 feet or so and you need to keep drinking water to avoid headaches and other problems. On the day we went hiking it was 42 degrees with a brisk wind so have some warm clothes even in Spring/Summer.

Not much was open when we were there (before their summer season) but there were a few places to eat up the hill in Compatsch.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The sheets of beds were not changed when we got there, they had several hairs on them

Parking was OK but a bit tight, when the hotel is fully booked I doubt if there are enough parking for everyone

Location is a bit far from the center of the town, other hotels are better located for those who are interested in hiking and using the cable cars.

Waiters and waitress were nice and friendly.

Dinner takes more than 2 hours, a bit too much...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved our time in the Sud Tyrol staying at the Hotel Seelaus. The owners, Roberto and Helen, we always nearby and very professional, gracious, and helpful. It's a gem of a hotel, recently renovated, in gorgeous place. There are other modern hotels but they don't have the charm and warmth of Seelaus. The food was really outstanding, even if there was way too much for us. We had prepaid for the evening meals for all four nights (as it was so reasonable) and had intended to go out a couple of times. The food was so good, and the staff so welcoming, that we ate there every nite, and were not disappointed in the fixed-menu meals.
Rick Steves tours frequent the place in May and September. You can take that as a big plus, if you can put up with the noisy Americans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at hotel Seelhaus for 3 nights last week. The room was nice, beds comfortable, clean, with a lovely view from the deck. The staff of Christian, Jan and Elana were as attentive as they could be. Breakfast was adequate, typical European-- croissants, muesli, yogurt, assorted meats and cheeses. Dinner was a 4-5 course fixed menu with no choices..it was delicious...but took way too long to eat..although with nothing else to do in the evening...why not sit and dine? The spa facilities left much to be desired...the pool with attached jacuzzi was warm..although cold water in the jacuzzi. The steam room and sauna on,y worked for 3-6 pm...often couldn't get back in time for those hours after a long day of hiking...I wish the spa was available after dinner. Dinner is one seating..you must arrive between 630 pm and 7 pm. The wifi was available..only in the bar,lounge area. The password was so long it was crazy! They have a beautiful dog named joy, and a cute cat..tinker bell. we were definitely the only Americans there, many Germans or Austrians. The hiking and the ease of navigating the trails was great. Driving up there was wild...steep, windy, glad I had my driving skills on! I would stay there again....not sure the rate of 140 per nite was great...but...when in the mountains...things are more expensive.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank me11860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is very well located and very convenient for doing trekking and going around. We did not use the car at all for one week. Staff was very kind and keen to help. The room was comfortable, sufficiently big and clean. Food was good, but we regret that we've never been offered anything typical of the region. Cooking is italian style and probably foreigners appreciate it, but for Italians (like us) the expectation is to taste the food of the region. Dinner takes definitely too long. Not less than two hours for a fixed menu (four courses with no choice). Breakfast could be better (e.g. with home made jams instead of industrially packaged). The spa capabilities are good but the hotel website does not explain that there is a small pool which is not a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed two nights in the summer of 2013. It appeared that we were the only Americans there, but able and entertaining waiter/bartender, Christian, spoke English well (and six other languages) and made us feel very welcome. Rooms were quiet, spacious, comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was excellent with many choices and an outstanding view of the Dolomites. Manager of the hotel gave us good suggestions for our hikes. Five course dinner was delicious and quite affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anaveragejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Seelaus Hotel as part of a Rick Steves Italy tour in September of 2012. As luck would have it, we managed to get a suite, which consisted of a huge bathroom, a large bedroom, a separate room with a couch, single bed, table and chairs and a good size balcony overlooking the mountains (all of the rooms have balconies - not just the suites). The bedroom contained a king size bed with side nightstand with good lights for reading. The bed was quite comfortable with an assortment of comfortable pillows. There was more than ample closet space. The bathroom had a good size shower with separate tub. The vanity ran from wall to wall so there was more than enough room for toiletries for an entire family (even though there were only two of us). The room had room darkening drapes, even though it may not have been necessary considering the location of the hotel.

The hotel had a very good breakfast consisting of assorted fruit, meat and pastries. We also had dinner at the hotel during our stay which was very good - and way too much food. The desert was fantastic.

The hotel had wi-fi available, but only in the downstairs bar and lobby area (with the longest, most complex password I've ever seen). The bar area was good size with comfortable chairs and tables - a great place for checking e-mail or socializing.

The hotel staff were wonderful people who went out of their way to help in any way. The resident cat and dog were also friendly!

The hotel was around 10-15 minutes (largely uphill) to the nearest town where we picked up the chair lifts to take us to various hikes in the area. We didn't spend any time around town, but a couple in our group who opted not to hike, did spend the day in town and really enjoyed it. From their pictures, it looked like a cute mountain town. I would definitely stay at the Seelaus again if I were to go back to the Dolomite area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be good since street noise wasn't a factor and all had balconies, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aschneider703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpe di Siusi hotels
0.1 mi away
Seiser Alm Urthaler
Seiser Alm Urthaler
#11 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tirler - Dolomites Living Hotel
Tirler - Dolomites Living Hotel
#2 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Icaro
Hotel Icaro
#7 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santner Alpine Sport & Relax
1.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#14 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seelaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seelaus

Address: Via Compatsch, 8, 39040 | Seiser Alm, Castelrotto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto > Alpe di Siusi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Alpe di Siusi
Price Range: $140 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seelaus 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seelaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seelaus Alpe Di Siusi, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing