We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, disappointing food”
Review of Bar La Fontana

Bar La Fontana
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: located in town centre
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, disappointing food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a fantastic ambience and the outdoor, tree canopy covered dining area is very romantic. The service was reasonable, friendly and English was spoken but the food was rather disappointing. We had gnocchi with tomato sauce and it was as described by an earlier reviewer, like Heinz ravioli sauce. We also had pasta with pesto but the sauce simply tasted like olive oil mixed with cheese. Our green salad was a plate of shredded iceberg lettuce. The wine was very good, however, a local sparkling variety. Cute place to eat but don't expect top quality nosh. We would give the food two stars and the ambience four.

Helpful?
Thank mikeanddani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    39
    47
    49
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Seafood dishes”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very nice food and reasonable prices. We had mainly seafood dishes, and they were all great. The service was perfect and the evening spent there was relaxed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat291983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heinz Octopus”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere on the roadside in S Maria N. An extensive menu with lots of seafood but very expensive for what u get. Starters at €9 were nice but not worth this. For main course we had octopus with chilli sauce and grilled prawns. Grilled prawns were fantastic but overpriced at 4 for €16 with no side. Octopus was fresh cooked perfectly but unfortunately the sauce tasted exactly like that with Heinz tinned ravioli - a coincidence I'm sure! With the mains we ordered sides of fries and grilled veg but these were very average and at €5 each, priced double what I would have liked to pay for them. All in all an ok meal let down by the prices and sub standard sides

Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“village restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

friendly little restaurant; lots of choice and fresh fish of the day, not somewhere you would go out of your way for, but honest and pleasant to watch everyone walk by with their children and ice cream cones.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nessou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This restaurant is a little gem in the middle of Santa Maria ! We went to eat there for all our stay .we try other places but always come back in la fontana .. Amazing fresh food and amazing service .. I am sardinian and I can tell you that the service is not normally the priority ...but we felt very welcome, comfortable plus the food was very good !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Fontana also viewed

Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
 
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
 
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
Santa Maria Navarrese, Province of Ogliastra
 

Been to Bar La Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing