We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Nascar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nascar Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This small family run hotel made our stay in Sardinia! It exceeded our expectations. There is an atmosphere in this place, a vibe; some kind of energy that makes you feel looked after from the moment you step inside. When Stefania welcomes you she really means it and her attention to you is undivided - she is a professional hostess and a charming, very warm person.

Our room was simply furnished, with crisp white linen and splash-of-colour cushions. It had everything you need to cool down and relax. The breakfast here is an event! Beautiful Italian bread, perfectly cooked scrambled eggs and bacon, freshly squeezed orange juice, and plenty of choice if you prefer continental breakfast: cheeses, meats, fresh fruit, a selection of jams and honeys etc. There was a freshly baked cake of the day as well. For me the bread was a real hit. Breakfast/dinner tables are set outside under the canopy and you can have a drink sitting on soft chairs under the shade of trees.

If you are looking for somewhere posh and pretentious Nascar is the wrong choice, but if you value a homely, comfortable, well run establishment in an ideal location with good food and usable outside space you will not be disappointed.

The village beach is delightful. The sea during our stay was cold but you soon get used to the temperature, and the gorgeous emerald water is impossible to resist.

The loungers and umbrellas are reserved for you by the hotel and there are all necessary facilities nearby. The little cafe (on the right if you stand on the beach facing the village) serves good lunch food; do not miss pizza with tomatoes – you will be back!

We had dinner at the hotel and in a restaurant on the main street opposite the “gelateria” and found the food very good in both.

I highly recommend this place. Thank you Stefania and sisters for these unforgettable days in Sardinia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelika3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

A beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated hotel, with simple comfortable furnishings. Our room on the top floor had views of both the sea one side and the mountains on the other. We stayed for 10 nights as we had wanted somewhere quiet to purely 'chill out' and this was the perfect spot. A few minutes walk to the beach, loungers and parasols provided by the hotel free of charge, lovely warm clear waters and perfect weather. We ate at the restaurant on 3 occasions and found the food very good and also good value. The buffet breakfast was excellent...from the freshly squeezed orange juice (do it yourself) to a variety of freshly made coffees. There are also plenty of Pizzerias a short walk away which we also tried for our evening meal. We hired a car so were able to get out and about easily, the caves (Grotta su Mamuri) are well worth a visit. The staff were excellent when my husband was taken ill and needed hospital treatment, from calling the ambulance, acting as a translator with the doctor and then ordering a taxi to bring us back to the hotel and being there to meet us. The next day they offered to bring breakfast to the room for him. It was so reassuring to have this support. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel either for a short or a long stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Most reviewers are very positive about this hotel, and our experience confirmed their sentiments. The hotel is tightly run; everything is in good order; the breakfast buffet includes the bacon and eggs that comfort the travelling British; and above all the sisters are exceedingly helpful. The hotel is not actually on the beach, but the beach is very close.

If you stay at the Nascar, be sure to take an excursion on the trenino verde. This under-advertised narrow-guage railway climbs into remote and magnificent parts of the Sardinian mountains. Travel as far as, say, Gairo and then hike among the forests and nouragues (http://www.sardegnaambiente.it/j/v/874?s=3&v=9&c=6713&ids=11) before returning by the evening train. A more celebrated hike is the descent from Golgo to Cala Goloritzè: the beach is indeed magnificent (though stony). However, you need stout shoes, a generously sized beach towel, and a good 2 litres of water for the 2-hour return ascent; and you must be pretty fit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our 2 week tour of Sardinia. We had a good room on the top floor with a view of the sea. Despite initial concerns about the hard flooring, we found the room and hotel generally to be very quiet and comfortable - there were no children staying there, which I think made a difference. Not sure whether this is hotel policy or luck!

The staff were incredibly friendly and praised my attempts at speaking Italian to the heavens which was very flattering!

We made use of the local beach where the hotel had reserved loungers and umbrellas and did a number of beautiful drives into the mountains. Most of the local towns in this area (including Santa Maria) are pretty small, so there is not a huge amount to see - we were ready to move on after the 4 days.

We ate at the hotel one night - the food was very good, but sadly eating outside we were bitten alive by the insects, which also put paid to future attempts to sit and drink outside.

Overall, this was a quality little hotel and we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for the sisters who run this hotel, and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left 4 days later, we were well looked after, and felt refreshed and relaxed. The rooms were lovely with fantastic beds, linen and en suite facilities, so that we all slept very well. The restaurant was fantastic, so that we ate there two out of three nights. Highlights were the beef, pasta, mussels, lemon sorbet with prosecco, gnocchi, I think we managed to try everything on the menu, and we're never disappointed, and the wine recommendations were just right. We enjoyed an all sandy beach about 20 minutes away, as well as hiking for 2 hours to reach a stoney beach with crystal clear turquoise water to swim in. To sit outside under the pine trees, on the terrace with a pre or post meal glass of wine or beer, was very relaxing. The roads over the mountains were fantastic, and we will definitely be returning for a celebratory long weekend at some stage.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank tdejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here. This hotel represented the best value that we had experienced so far in Sardegna. The rooms are lovely, we had the one you see on their website, at the corner of the house overlooking the street and also took the room adjoining for our daughters. The quality of the beds, linens, furnishings etc. was much higher than anywhere else we had stayed.
Also the food in the restaurant was simple and of a high standard. The wine list is very interesting and Stefania is well informed on local wines. Sardegna is producing very high quality wines and Stefania knows a lot about the boutique wineries around the island.
The hotel is run by 4 sisters who care about the standards set here and are always available to offer advice and assistance. They all appear to be multilingual; speaking fluent English, French and of course Italian and Sardu. This would be the place to stay if in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparklehorse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Hotel Nascar
This family ran Hotel is owned and ran by three of the sisters that own it. All helpful, attentive and speak French and English. We were on Honeymoon and wanted a quiet room .We went for the Gloroizte room which at first glance was not a quiet room as it is situated on the corner of the Hotel facing a main road and over-looking the Hotel restaurant. But we stayed in the room and with the windows closed and the air conditioning on slept ok. Nothing like seeing the sea and watching the sun rise whilst sitting on the loo. Corner bath with shower and fresh towels daily this room/ suit was superb. The food in the restaurant was superb although some items were a little over priced when compared to other places but we didn’t have much choice on an out of season honeymoon but were never disappointed with the food.
Pictures of Hotel on the internet do not show you the main road it is sat on. On a hill so cars rev there engines when going up. But no problem at night just from 7ish to 6pmish.
Grounds of Hotel very nice as pictured however it's like sitting next to a motor way at times.
We got bitten to death at this hotel due to ants in our room and in our bed - we simply got directed to the pharmacy.

Room Tip: get one at the back so you can your windows oopen at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria Navarrese
0.1 mi away
Lanthia Resort
Lanthia Resort
#2 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nicoletta Hotel
Nicoletta Hotel
#1 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#3 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#5 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agugliastra
Hotel Agugliastra
#6 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
68 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nascar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nascar Hotel

Address: Viale Pedras, 08040 Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Santa Maria Navarrese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
Price Range: $184 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nascar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most delightful corners of Sardinia, at just 50 meters from a crystal blue sea, in the center of the charming village of Santa Maria Navarrese. The hotels is one of the most ancient buildings of the village, built in local granite at the end of 19th century and totally renewed in 2008, in a contemporary Sardinian style. The 12 rooms are tastefully decorated with local materials as wood and granite. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Nascar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nascar Hotel Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing