We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepy town, superb accomodation”
Review of Lanthia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanthia Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sleepy town, superb accomodation”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the Lanthia Hotel for 3 nights. It was one of the most relaxing experiences that one could hope for.

Our room was located near the pool and had a large bathroom with an excellent shower. The shower was an excellent hight and had multiple settings for the water pressure. The room also had a courtyard where there were a small table and chairs for relaxing at the end of the night with wine, cheese and meat if you were looking for something more casual.

The resort is directly across the road from a beautiful beach and a series of islands that you could venture out to in a boat if you were that way inclined.

There are a lot of people that rave about the restaurant at the Lanthia. I personally thought it was good but not great. The grilled steak was not a particularly good cut of meat but it was cooked quite well. However, very under seasoned.

My partner and friends all enjoyed their meals as well, but also considered the food to be better than average but not fantastic. The service at this hotel though was second to none. The staff were extremely friendly and catered to every need that you had. They even offered to prepare a picnic for us on a day where we were going to hire a boat.

Overall, this hotel is delightfully simple, with excellent staff, wonderful facilities and, in all honesty, not a bad restaurant.

Please, do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the detached rooms that has a yard. These are the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    55
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
159
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We booked a four-night stay at the Lanthia Resort via Charming Sardinia and stayed in a junior suite close to the pool. We liked the lavish garden, the discrete layout of the rooms and bungalows and the tidiness of the place in gerenal as much as the very professional and friendly staff and the excellent food in the restaurant. Wine recommendations were also superb, and so were the drinks!
To our spacious room was adjacted a little atrium with a tree, separated from the room by glass windows and surrounded by stone walls. We also had a jacuzzi bathtub, which allowed us to give us a massage after our long bicycle rides. Great place that we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a great stay and liked the cosy rooms (junior suite) and the nice public facilities as well as the delicious food in the restaurant. The service was perfect and the location nice in a small village.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've now been to Lanthia twice - once in June 2013 and once in September 2013. We absolutely love the location, the service and the general ambience of the place.

Location - 2 hours from Cagliari Airport on fairly decent road, it's easy to find once you'd found your way out of Cagliari...

Hotel - split by a small road (with a tunnel underneath for guests) the property is beautiful. Clearly a lot of time is spent on the grounds and the wooded area by the beach is perfect for a post-lunch snooze. We were welcomed back like family the second time we visited - such a lovely feeling.

Food and drink - despite being on the edge of town, we have not left the hotel to eat. The food is fantastic - fresh and tasty. The wine selection is great and, while we know it's never going to be cheap to eat there 24/7, we do it nonetheless as it's just wonderful.

Room - we have been upgraded both times we've visited (thank you!) but the hotel hasn't been full in the slightly off-peak times we've been. The room (Lotzorai) is spacious - the only small gripe is the water pressure in the room could be higher.

Service - always attentive, by name and very personal. Fabio and Katherine were there both times and they were fantastic. Our flight is quite early back to London and we have been sent of both times with lovely breakfasts to take with us.

The pool is lovely - we've spent many hours there - and on the days where the weather may not be so good, we'd recommend a drive north to explore the rocky and mountainous region just near Santa Maria Navarrese - it's beautiful.

One word of caution - if you're used to sandy beaches, this does not have one. The beach is gritty (not stones, not sand) and can be a little painful on the feet. Take light shoes for a walk and a swim.

We love this place and we did wonder if we should even write a review - why would we want more people knowing about this fantastic place?!

Room Tip: Lotzorai is behind the hotel, while there are many set as bungalows in the grounds. There are a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a very relaxing four days at the Lanthia in September. A truly first rate property - approaching five star, but with a casual beach resort-like atmosphere. Indeed, the hotel is a few hundred yards from a lovely beach, accessible by a private tunnel under the main street of Santa Maria Navarrese. The architectural style is definitely "Euro-beach" with few indices that you are in Sardinia. But that's fine for a sea-side resort with modern rooms (and air conditioning that was almost adequate) and a lovely outdoor dining and bar area, because access to the stunning east central coast of Sardinia is why you would come to this hotel. The staff were uniformly friendly and engaging, yet professional, and the restaurant, which was excellent, offered a range of traditional Sardinian dishes as well as high-end preparations of Italian and international cuisine. In addition to having its own beach and pine tree shaded beach bar, the hotel is a about a 1/4 mile from the port of Santa Maria Navarrese where one can rent their own small inflatables for exploring the coast, or take one of the many group boats that provide day-long tours of the plunging cliffs and secluded beaches of this part of Sardinia. Between the hotel and the access to great hiking, beaches, boating and spectacular coastline, we could easily have stayed a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

First, I have to thank our Sardinian friends who introduced us to the Lanthia Resort. Then to Andreas, it's Managing Director, and his staff for making our stay simply incredible.

We booked a small suite of rooms located above the reception, overlooking the entry and gardens of the hotel. The living room was ample, offering a sleeper sofa, Satellite TV, long desk and chairs. The bedroom was laid out in an open plan that included a balcony with two chaise lounges set up to overlook the gardens, a corner Jacuzzi tub and double sinks. Adjacent to the sinks is the bath with toilet, bidet and a nice large shower. The decor of the room was in cobalt blue tile and bright yellow taffeta curtains from wall to wall. A fine anigre veneer was beautifully crafted into cabinetry and wall panels around the room.

The beach at Lanthia sits across the roadway and is accessed by a walking underpass. The area overlooking the beach is shaded with limbed-up evergreens that provides a welcome breeze, which is cherished on Sardinia's hot days. A small kitchen serves luncheons, drinks and snacks for hotel patrons in the shade of the woods.

Just beyond this area is their pristine beach where white sand runs along multi-hued waters that are as beautiful as they are refreshing. A lifeguard/attendant provides protection while swimming and umbrellas that shade you from the heat of the sun. It's as quiet and restful as one could seek and many people are found napping there after a light lunch at the hotel.

The restaurant at Lanthia is very popular; both with hotel guests and visitors from other hotels and nearby towns. A reservation should be made each morning. Their menu is ever changing and the food is superb in quality the the understanding of its preparations. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner most days. And while we went to the village or a nearby pizzaria for lunch, it was clear that one simply couldn't find a better dinner than Lanthia provides.

The staff speak excellent English and are very kind and helpful to guests. You can plan an excursion on small inflatable boats for part of all of the day to a secluded beach nearby or the little islands just offshore. Or the staff will arrange for a larger boat to ferry you and other passengers to the same or similar beaches. As I said at the start, Andreas has the staff and restaurant on its toes by day and night to bring you all the pleasures that you desire.

Yes, we will return one day soon. We love Sardinia, its residents, cuisine, wine, beaches and mountains. And Lanthia Resort is at the top of my list.

Room Tip: Tancau beach offers a pizzaria very nearby (across the street) which offers wonderful lunches and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Froggy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice rooms and well kept. Reception is friendly and professional. the restaurant is one of the better places around with original dishes and served on a pretty patio.
The manager and staff are available and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria Navarrese
0.1 mi away
Nascar Hotel
Nascar Hotel
#3 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nicoletta Hotel
Nicoletta Hotel
#1 of 6 in Santa Maria Navarrese
225 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.0 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
10.6 mi away
Galanias Hotel & Retreat Domos Galanas
4.5 mi away
Hotel Club Saraceno
Hotel Club Saraceno
#2 of 12 in Arbatax
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanthia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanthia Resort

Property: Lanthia Resort
Address: Lungomare, 08040 Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Santa Maria Navarrese
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanthia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanthia Resort is located in the town of Santa Maria Navarrese, on the eastern coast of the island of Sardinia. This 18 room boutique resort is located next to the Mediterranean sea. Fully serviced with bar, restaurant, and an outdoor infinity pool. A natural park is also on the property. Each room is named after a town in Sardinia and each room is distinguished by a color from the traditional dresses worn from within each town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lanthia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanthia Hotel Santa Maria Navarrese
Lanthia Resort Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing