We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't hesitate!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful gardens beautiful salt water pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Beautiful gardens
beautiful salt water pool
dining room if too fresh to eat out on terrace
Salt water pool
Terrace for eating out
small private terrace
salt water pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
San Martino in Freddana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brighton3...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate!”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If anyone reads this and is considering booking La Pianella, please do it! La Pianella offers something that I have never seen before. It is a home first and business second and the minute that you start the drive up towards the villa you feel yourself relaxing and soaking up the truly magical experience that this place offers. We booked the villa and the farmhouse for our wedding so it needed to be extra special, and it needed to accommodate all ages from 8 weeks to 80 and the place performed spectacularly. Every single person had an amazing experience in this beautiful estate, we formed wonderful memories, it genuinely brought people together and we hold it very close to our hearts now. The owners are extremely accommodating, everything you could wish for was there including fresh fruit baskets and flowers, wine and even plenty of sun tan lotion for lounging around the pool. The owners can connect you with great caterers and even taxi drivers to take you to Lucca for an evening out. This is a very special place and we highly recommend that if you are considering booking to contact the owners to not miss out! Simply perfect! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: not being able to stay longer
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana034
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC TUSCANY”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a large family group of 16 celebrating some big birthdays. A big mixture of ages - 5 months to 70!
A great rustic property high in the valley with spectacular views. The property suited us perfectly. Masses of space with bathrooms for everyone. Don't expect contemporary chic, this is a rustic farmhouse type style which felt cosy and comfortable..
We LOVED the tennis court, big pool - even further up the valley so lots of steps to get there...but the views..... table tennis - we were kept very busy.
BEST OF ALL WAS PROBABLY THE WONDERFUL DONATELLA who came in to cook for us and babysit on quite a few occasions. Eating out on the Terrace with everything prepared and cleared away - some great family evenings with lots of noise and no-one to disturb!
Easy journey from Pisa - just over an hour to Florence. Great taxi service from Andrea whenever we needed him. We should have spent more time in the lovely walled city of Lucca
English speaking Doctor - we went to his surgery in Lucca with a couple of hours notice as one party member had left all his medications behind - we were charged 69CENTS!!!! Take your European health card! Be ready for the final windy road to the house - first time is a bit of a surprise but when you get there.....WOW!
Very friendly, helpfuly pro-active owners- THANK YOU FOR A VERY HAPPY MEMORABLE STAY.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, this is most appreciated and will hopefully be encouraging for future guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorger...
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantasic”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in La Pianella with a group of 14. we loved the place, its view is beautiful, the surroundings are lovely, 20 min to Lucca, 1 hour to Florence and half an hour to the beach! The place is well maintained and the garden is superb! The salt water pool is great, no chlorides, so you can swim all day! The owners were very friendly in helping out. Ons point whichcould be improved , is the WIFI connection, which is poor and unstable, so take your own 3G connection

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and pool
Liked least: wifi connection
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GingerBar...
Winchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing villa, stunning location, lovely owners!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay - 10/10!

A beautiful and well catered villa in a stunning location - a perfect place to set up a very stylish camp for a tuscan holiday adventure.

Great facilities ranging from everything you need in the kitchen to very comfy rooms and garden wifi, tennis court & a pool with a view!

Loads to do and explore in and around the area, beach resort within a short drive, beautiful countryside to explore, great local restaurants and sights - or just the perfect base to stay and enjoy some quiet time.

Would love to return one day and enjoy again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall luxurious feel of the villa & the views!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstateNY...
upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

La Pianella was the perfect place for our extended family of 15 to spend a week. We loved everything about this house-the views, the pool, the garden, the rooms and the kitchen. We are a family of cooks and loved that we could grill, make pizza, bread, etc. with ease and enjoyment. The house and grounds are even more spectacular than the pictures and the lay out of the house is really designed for both individual privacy and common spaces. The memories of this week will definitely last a lifetime. Working with the owners was easy, directions were spot-on,, minor repairs were made immediately and the local area is truly lovely. So highly recommended-I would go back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful place in the Tuscan hills near Lucca”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2011

We spent one week with 8 adults and 6 childeren from 3 -9 years old. A beautiful and well furbished house with a nice garden with a great view. The tennis court was a highly appreciated extra. We were welcomed with a fruit/vegetable basket. Making our own pizzas was fun as well (but a lot of work). The pool is 100 steps above the house, which has advantages as well as disadvantages.
The dishwasher worked poorly. Shopping takes a 20 minute trip down a steep and narrow road to the village but that's the price for absolute quiteness and privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of everything the place offers.
Liked least: the location with respect to daily shopping in the village and to make day trips passing Lucca is alomost inevitable and time consuming
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing