We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serre di Rapolano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castello di Modanella
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch Out”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a wedding event at Modanello. The place is down a dirt road off the highway between Bettole and Siena. We were lodged in a cluster of buildings about 1 KM from the main castle. The rooms were basic but large without aircondioning. The wedding accommodations were fine, as was the food. The problem is that was NO SECURITY. On the day before the wedding, when all 26 people in the party were sightseeing, our rooms were broken into and the theft resulted in thousands of euros of currency and jewelry and personal items taken, including passports. Everybody except the administration felt it was an inside job, including the police officer among the guests. The administration was basically in damage control, and only after 30 minutes of insistent discussion by the couples who lost the most, were their room charges refunded on checkout. Other people who lost valuables had their morning coffee comped. The locks are inadequate, they have no insurance, they have no video surveillance at the remote areas of the property (where we were), and minimal real empathy. Take nothing valuable with you- we didn't, but some rookie travelers in our group paid dearly for their naiveté.
The property is nice but not special by Tuscany standards.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank jwood3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
37
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Praestoe, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It not hard to rate Castello de Modanello excellent! Even for a Scandinavia - we don't hand out top grades easily! My wife, 3 children and I, will be going to Modanella for the 10th time this year. My son have celebrated every single birthday - except his first - there in July, and our 17 year old teenager talks about going with us on vacation even after she has left home. For us - coming to Modanella is much more than just vacation. We are meeting old friends - the entire team at the castle - and often meet with some of the same families from around the world year after year. This makes it possible for us to relax from the moment we get there.

This is not a luxury hotel - apartments are traditionally Italian, and staying indoors are not what they are meant for. The scenery around the castle is stunning. Woods and vineyards, and if you get up early in the morning, you will see wild boars and deer.

It-s not a family resort, but most visitors are families with children that play together in the pool and cross language and cultural boundaries.

For the adults - it's all about relaxation. Enjoy great weather and the large pool. Read a book and visit the beautiful restaurant to get real Italian treats served in the castle garden. The Tatare di Modanella is my favorite! And the wines! If you get the chance to learn from Mr. Fabrizio about the Modanella wines, you will experience a commitment to quality and a spectacular engagement. I love the Sangiovese and the unique Canaiolo.

The last few years the team have arranged pizza-parties, where all guests meet for a feast of wine and homemade pizza in the castle yard. This is where everybody meet and talk.

Ten stays is not nearly enough for us. There are plenty of things we have not seen yet. Siena is close, and just about 40km to Montalcino and Montepulciano. And the nearby villages all have small gems; like Gelateria Snoopy in Lucignano or great local restaurants in Monte San Savino. The baths in Terme di Rapolano... I could go on, but I don't need to. Gabriella at the reception is always helping everyone to a great vacation and where knows where to go.

Cultural, relaxing, beautiful, tasteful, warm, silent, personal and friendly - that's Modanella! :-)

Room Tip: We like to stay in appartments at the castle. Close to the reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersSkjoenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I held our wedding at Castello di Modanella last month and we can’t recommend the place highly enough. We had an absolutely fantastic experience, not only with the day itself, but the whole run up to our big day was made so easy, with such a dedicated team helping us every step of the way.

As a wedding venue this place really is something else. We saw a number of venues before walking into this one and immediately fell in love. It ticks all the boxes; There’s a church on site, so we were able to have a legal wedding, a reception in a stunning castle and have all our guests stay in the immediate vicinity in the apartments dotted around the grounds. There was no messing around carting guests about to different locations and it meant that all our families and friends got to spend a couple of days either side of the wedding getting to know each other.

We held our wedding over the course of 3 days. Guests arrived on Friday and we held a welcome reception around the pool. The team at Modanella helped us organise pizza to be delivered and wine from their vineyards. The wedding day was on the Saturday, where, after the ceremony, guests were treated to a belly busting buffet during the aperitif followed by a sumptuous 5 course meal in the Castle courtyard - all cooked in the Castle’s kitchen. The previous day a temporary dance floor had been set up for us and the band had us on our feet until the small hours of the morning. The courtyard was set out absolutely beautifully, with lanterns ablaze; it really was a sight to behold. The food that was served was of outstanding quality (and quantity!!), and our guests haven’t stopped raving about our wedding cake that was produced by the chefs on site.

The day after the wedding, and our final night at the Modanella, the venue organised a farewell BBQ for us all. A team of staff set out tables and chairs and got the barbie going. Again the food did not disappoint and we all enjoyed a stress free feast with the most spectacular of views.

As anyone who has ever been married knows the day itself goes by in a flash, so to have these extra days with our loved ones all together was absolutely wonderful.

It’s a lot to ask people to come so far for your wedding (most of our guests came from England, but we had a number of guests travelling in from different coasts of the US too), so we really hoped that everybody’s efforts would be worthwhile, and from what we’ve heard from our guests since, this certainly appears to be the case! Everyone enjoyed themselves immensely and we just had the most fantastic time.

Ok, so enough about our wedding. In a nutshell; it was perfect, and that was in no small part due to the folks behind the scenes helping us plan and execute an amazing event with no stress, no dramas and plenty of easy communication. Special mention to Beatrice who helped us book out all the accommodation for our guests and Fabrizio who was the consummate host and real rock throughout the proceedings.

I don’t think this place should solely be seen as a wedding venue though. It makes for a wonderful family holiday too. There’s a raft of airports within and easy 1-2 hour drive. There are also train services from some airports into Rapolano Terme, a station close by. I would recommend hiring a car though as it makes supermarket trips and getting around Tuscany that much easier. The apartments are very comfortable and spacious and have everything you need to cater for yourselves, with supermarkets close by that you can stock up in. However if you don’t fancy cooking, there’s an excellent restaurant on site too, where amazing dishes can be whipped up at your request. The waiting staff are always so pleasant and efficient and the food and wine is top notch, and so reasonably priced. The castle grounds are so beautiful and the pool, table tennis and tennis courts will keep you occupied. There’s also the rest of Tuscany on your doorstep to explore.

I’m looking forward to revisiting this place in the future to relive some of our fantastic memories, make some new ones and to stock up on our favourite wine! I can only suggest you do too…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlylikesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The apartments are very rustic and all rooms are a very good size and overall value for money. If you are seeking luxury then these apartments are not for you. We loved these apartments for a family holiday and the scenery is beautiful. The best part of Castello di Modanella is the food, we ate in the restaurant a few evenings and really enjoyed the food and wine! We would recommed this place if looking for a rustic quiet getaway close to the sights of beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I got married at Castello di Modanella in June 2012 and we couldn’t have asked for a better day. Fabrizio and his team did a fantastic job of making our wedding a day we’ll never forget. Special mention has to go to Beatrice for all of her help in planning the logistics of the wedding in the run up to the big day and on the day itself. Nothing was too much trouble - from finding a florist, photographer, car, translator, legalities for the ceremony - it was all in hand and easy to do by e-mail and telephone.

You could not ask for a more perfect wedding setting. The majority of our guests arrived on the Thursday and we had an informal BBQ (tables & BBQ provided by Modanella). On our wedding day (Friday) we got married in the Town Hall of Lucignano at 3pm - about 10 minutes away by car. Lucignano is a pretty, medieval town and provided a gorgeous backdrop to our wedding pictures. There is an amazing ice cream shop there called Snoopys where our guests had an ice cream whilst we had some pictures taken. The room in Lucignano Town Hall is so pretty with frescoes on the wall. We had fifty guests - some sitting, some standing - and it felt very intimate. I wouldn’t consider it necessary to travel 40mins to Sienna Town Hall unless you have a large number of guests. When we returned to Castello di Modanella after the ceremony there was a large table of canapes which were a meal in themselves. We then enjoyed a five course wedding breakfast- the quality of the food was outstanding. And there were seconds as well if you wanted them! The wine was so good that we’ve ordered some more from Fabrizio to have at home to remember our day. All of our guests stayed at Castello di Modanella and made good use of the swimming pool, playing lots of games. The day after the wedding, Modanella put on a pizza night for our guests. This included freshly made pizza, mozzarella and tomatoes and fruit. A perfect setting, fantastic food, wine and hospitality - and a wedding day we’ll never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryjsteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Castello Di Modanello is a bit of an anomaly. Perched midway a Tuscan hillside, 30 minutes drive from Sienna, Arrezo or Montelpulciano. It is approached via a rather bumpy 4 mile stony road.

When you get to the entrance you are barred by a huge wooden door. You ring the bell and a distant bell rings loudly like a scene from a horror movie before the smaller door is opened electronically. Be careful to bend down as I and many other people banged their heads on entry.

You enter the coutyard of this beautiful 12th century castle and check in at the reception on the left. The restaurant is on the far right and what a great restaurant it is. Beautiful painted ceiling in the rather starchy room and the food and wine is just as beautiful. The wine is extremely reasonable at €8 for a Chianto rising to the most expensive €18 for a '98 Sangiovese. The food is excellent. Try the tortelloni filled with a lemon flavoured marscapone or if you are a carnivore the fiorentina steak, slightly charred on the outside and succulent on the inside. The food is not as cheap as the wine though, but worth the money.

As good as the dining room is, is offset by poor accomodation and a terrible breakfast. Fruit juices that look like they have seen more of a chemist than any fruit. Tepid coffee in vacuum flasks. Tiny slices of something that purports to be bread. It is an excuse and the castle should and could do a lot better.

As for the self catering accomodation. I know its good value at €90 a night, but it is obvious that it has been done on a budget and no money has been spent on it in many years. Size is no problem as the rooms are huge. Bathrooms with chipped baths and no shower screens so that the shower head which is on the side of the bath would flood the floor if you stood up in the bath and clipped the shower head on the wall. A spare put you up divan that is covered in dirty, torn material that has seen better days and a wooden table and chairs with cracks in the table top. Antique it's not. Past it's sell by date it is. The beds are extremely hard and if you are unlucky, as we were, to have a family with 3 young children above you you will have thumping feet disturbing you throughout the day and into the evening.

The pool area is lovely but most of the sunshades that are attached to the bed are not working. The pool is bracing and you want a nice day to brave the temperature of the water.

I have heard that the castle and vineyards are for sale, so that would explain the lack of investment. This could be the most fabulous place with some care and attention and financial input and I for one would be happy to pay €50 a night more for that priviledge, but until that happens do not expect luxury and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are not underneath another room to get some peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Just a couple of weeks after my last review of Modanella we were fortunate enough to return and we didn't want to come home!

Please ignore the reviews that this place is not for families as it is. It's not if you don't have a car though BUT why wouldn't you want a car here when it is the perfect base to tour Tuscany! The place was fully of happy families - mainly Danish (Copenhagen had closed due to lousy weather) and they were all loving it - as did we. Our first summertime visit and the weather was fab too!

The restaurant doesn't seem to get much of a mention on TA but it is high quality cuisine served my a calm and efficient staff. Depending on what you eat though, it can be a little in the mid/high price range. A beautiful setting whether eating out or in and then to return again for an outdoor breakfast in the lemon garden is lovely too, though no cooked breakfasts available.

The quiet efficiency of all the staff is impressive. The location and views superb and the pools welcoming. The apartments are big and comfortable and the Sangiovese wine is just fabulous and at only €12 makes this almost a reason to go to Modanella itself!!

Stay here and within just a 40 minute drive you can get to sone magnificent vilages and towns such as, Siena, Lucignano, Cortona, Montalcino,, Pienza, Monte San Savino .. Tell me when to stop .. And through some stunning countryside too!

Modanella is a 'must'.

PS if you are looking for the perfect wedding venue and planners, again, this place is a must!

I'll stop now. Modanella is a 'must'.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre di Rapolano
2.7 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d'Epoca
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d...
#3 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
107 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
A Casa di Rosy B&B
A Casa di Rosy B&B
#4 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il Montino
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il ...
#2 of 6 in Serre di Rapolano
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Buoninsegna
Villa Buoninsegna
#5 of 17 in Rapolano Terme
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Modanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Modanella

Property: Castello di Modanella
Address: Localita Modanella SNC, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Serre di Rapolano
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Castello Di Modanella Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Di Modanella Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing