We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for weddings...not family vacations...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serre di Rapolano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castello di Modanella
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place for weddings...not family vacations...”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The appartments at the castle are poor - take one in the surrounding builings. We moved from the castle to an appartment at the Sanita house - it was very nice.

I can support the bad reviews concering the restaurant and breakfast

Room Tip: As I said don't take a room at the Castle - take one in one of the surrounding buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
37
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Castello di Modanella is one of the best places we have ever stayed in Tuscany. The castle itself is beautifully well maintained and houses the offices, restaurant, and breakfast rooms. The outlying buildings are apartments and hotel rooms for guests. In addition, there are several completely separate stone farmhouses that have been converted into hotel apartments on other hilltops across the large estate.

We stayed in one of the separate farmhouses, Sanita, which is about a 5 minute drive from the main castle. The building is split into maybe 8 apartments, although we were the only guests in the house during our stay. Sanita is situated on top of a hill overlooking the castle, a nearby pond, and beautiful Tuscan scenery. The apartment was huge with a kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. The building has a private pool, as well. We brought our dog (70 lbs) and had no problems at all.

The room was clean, comfortable, and large. This is an agriturismo, which means that it is a working farm that rents rooms out on the side. The rooms are not luxurious, but we have stayed in many agriturismos throughout Italy, and this is one of the nicest we have visited. The restaurant is also fantastic, and the staff is friendly and eager to explain their wines and produce (with plenty of tastings). Breakfast was wonderful and included yogurt, cold cuts, homemade cakes, coffee, etc.

A few helpful notes:
- Tripadivsor does not list their website (July 2011), but it is "http://www.modanella.com"
- You definitely will need a car to get to the agriturismo. The roads are all clay/gravel, but they are in good shape and a small car will have no problems.
- The GPS coordinates of the hotel are 43.2750N,11.6662E. Our GPS took us along a windy 2-lane road through a national forest to get there, but a MUCH easier way is to take the Serre di Rapolano exit off the SS73 and drive 10 minutes on the dirt road. Check the coordinates on Google Maps and you'll see how to get there.

Room Tip: Email them directly through the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I got married at Castello di Modanella in July and would highly recommend as a wedding venue. Modanella is about 3k from the local village set in stunning scenery. The accomodation is self catering 1, 2 and 3 bedroomed apartments. All are very spacious and have fully equipped kitchens. We had a number of guests who joined us for the week with others staying for 3 nights before the wedding. We were able to select accomodation which kept our party together and was in an area of the grounds where we had it all to ourselves. The restaurant is fabulous. Food was amazing and the Modanella wine is superb. We got married at the church in the grounds and Modanella staff were a great help with the organisation. The reception was due to be outside but it rained heavily on the day of the wedding but the room inside is breathtaking and I'm glad we actually had to move into this room. The evening function was outside in the courtyard and we danced until late! The wedding food was fantastic and we were quite surprised they came round with second helpings of every course! Wine matched perfectly with the food.
You need a car, as it is quite remote and not walking distance to the nearest village. Easy to get to Florence and Siena for day trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Staggeringly Good Location, Fatastic Food an Wine, Incredible Service.
The accomodation is like having your own village and Castle. Well equiped self service apartments and houses, all ensuite, however, no bath in bathroom (showers not great for children)
Beautiful Pool area, exquisitely maintained.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This place is quaint, unique, goregeous, surprising, elegant, rustic, friendly, relaxing... it is whatever you want to make of it! We went with a large group for a wedding and took the entire "resort" over for 4 days and had an absolute blast. We were a fun group that was up late and full of energy, but the owner was so laid back and welcoming. Kind of a quiet guy, but very sincere and nice. The staff did not speak English really at all, which was charming, but a bit challenging. You can drive to Siena in less than 30 mins and tour there, eat lunch, etc. We went at least 3 times in 4 days. We also drove around to different wineries outside the Castle grounds. The surrounding area is breathtaking, I have never been anywhere so beautiful. The castel restaurants have odd hours and it isn't easy to get there some mornings for breakfast if you move slow like I do, but the food is great... for dinner the castle owner goes to the market that morning and gets whatever is fresh and makes AMAZING meals. I can't even tell describe... they were just so good. And the grounds are so rustic and well maintained, it was like being inside a storybook about the 15th century. The castle wines are quite good and so is the olive oil they make there... a little tart for me but everyone else raved about it. The bride and groom arranged a wine/olive oil tasting for everyone and although the owner was not the best public speaker and had broken English, he was really informative and passionate and it was a great treat for the guests.
This is not a place I would stay if I only wanted one room, because it isn't really a hotel. But if you go for an event with family or friends, it was spectacular.
Just bring some snacks in case the restaurant is closed, make sure you have a car for beer/food runs and touring, and bring your relaxed attitude. It is European, your bed will be hard, the bathroom is small, there is no English TV. But you wake up and look outside and - WOW! You could care less about anything that isn't like the comforts of home, because you would seriously rather live here FOREVER.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I've just returned from my wedding at Castello Di Modanella and after 18 months of planning, I can honestly say that is was unbelievable!
Maria the onsight wedding planner and all the staff at Modanella are so friendly and helpful, it meant the whole experience of planning our wedding was enjoyable.
We organised a wedding over email for 55 guests to travel from Manchester UK to Pisa and stay 5 nights at the castle. Maria helped book coaches, restaurants, florists, hairdresser, band, church, photographer, days out, the lot and everyone of our guests have commented that it was truly the best wedding they had ever been too. We did make a trip over to see the venue and meet with Maria back in September and again the staff at Modanella were nothing but helpful.
The surroundings, the FOOD, everything about it can not be faulted. The food that is served at their onsight restaurant is worthy of a michelin star so our guests were in for a treat during our wedding dinner :-). You'll find the prices at the castle and surrounding towns reasonable for Italy as well, not anywhere near as expensive as Rome, Florence etc.
I would recommend this beautiful castle in Tuscany to anyone and everyone, its ideally located for sightseeing - Florence 1hr 15 mins, Montepulciano 30 mins, Siena 20 mins etc.

If you're after a romantic Tuscan wedding or just a beautiful holiday with your partner or a large group, this place has it all.

I just wish it wasn't all over :-(
Maybe we'll return for our first anniversary.......

Book Book Book it NOW!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicmodanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

In search of a wedding venue, we visited Castello di Modanella for three nights in October.

The apartment we stayed in was a converted farm building with plenty of room. They are all rustic but beautifully decorated and clean. From our room we had gorgeous views, in the morning we could see deer and wild boar grazing in the nearby fields. The Castello was amazing, particularly the courtyard. We had a five course meal in the restuarant and I can honestly say, I have never tasted food like it. It was all made with produce sourced from the local area, the presentation and taste was out of this world! The service we received was excellent, the staff were friendly and bent over backwards to help. They suggested places to visit and arranged taxis to the nearest town when we went out for a meal.

The setting is beautiful, it was everything I imagined the Tuscan countryside to be. It is very quiet and peaceful, not the type of place to visit if you are looking for a lively holdiay. You are surrounded by vineyards and olive trees.

The only down side would be the fact it is quite a way from Pisa airport and local amenities. I would recommend hiring a car and stopping at a shop on the way to get the essentials, although the staff at the Castello can arrange a welcome pack for you.

Needless to say, we were so impressed with the location, venue, food and service we have booked our wedding at Modanella!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Powderpink8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre di Rapolano
2.7 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d'Epoca
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d...
#3 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
107 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
A Casa di Rosy B&B
A Casa di Rosy B&B
#4 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il Montino
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il ...
#2 of 6 in Serre di Rapolano
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Buoninsegna
Villa Buoninsegna
#5 of 17 in Rapolano Terme
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Modanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Modanella

Property: Castello di Modanella
Address: Localita Modanella SNC, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Serre di Rapolano
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Castello Di Modanella Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Di Modanella Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing