We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Magnificent Treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello delle Serre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First off we just want to say thank you to Sal, Antonio, Shelley and Fabio for being such wonderful hosts and for sharing their beautiful castle/home with us. They treated us like family and went out of their way taking care of all of our needs; helping us prepare for day trips with lots of recommendations/ideas to ensure every day would be memorable.
Location couldn't be better as it's right in the heart of Tuscany and can easily make day trips to places like Florence and Siena (just to name a few).
Castello delle Serre is so beautiful and surreal - you are actually taken back in time living in a castle on top of the hill above the town of Serre di Rapolano. Views are just breathtaking - it's memorizing to watch the birds flying lower then you are. If you're lucky Sal will give you a little history lesson on how the Castello delle Serre came about - fascinating story!
We are really excited to plan our visit to the castle next year as we can't wait to see all the finish renos Sal is doing to the castle; adding more rooms as well as an indoor dining area. We will cherish all the memories of staying in this very special place. Thank you Sal! Kevin & Katie

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkers338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 612 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

After 30 days, driving over 2100 miles, and staying in 10 small hotels and/or B and B's from Tuscany to Sicily, the 3 nights we spent at this family owned and operated 'castle' was the highlite of our trip. The rooms were by far the most spacious and comfortable, pool inviting, but putting that all aside, the Gangale family makes you feel like this is your home away from home. They (Salvatore, Antonio,Shelley) are always available to suggest and direct you to all the wonderful sites of the region. 20 minutes from Siena, 1 hour south of Florence, puts you perfectly situated in Tuscany to use this wonderful facility as your base of operations. And if you're really lucky, you might be able to talk Salvatore into into one of his delicious dinners. You will find, as we did, that 3 nights is not enough........my wife and I would have loved to have been their a week. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Each room different but the one's we saw were all special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here about halfway through our three week trip through Italy for our honeymoon. We feel in love with Castello Delle Serre. It was beautiful and the location was perfect to the other wine towns. The Gangale family is amazing and so helpful and gracious. Shelley, Antonio, Sal and Fabio were unbelievable. We felt right at home there and feel asleep looking up at the starts each night. It was a slice of heaven on Earth and we were sad to leave. We would love to return someday!:)

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper suite that had two floors and the rooftop. It was SPECTACULAR!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I and another couple just returned from our otherworldly visit to the Castello. Not given to many reviews, this one is a must. Without repeating all the details of the superlative reviews which precede this one, I have to say "Castello delle Serre is a feast for the senses." The castle is beautiful in every detail, and in every light from sunrise to sunset.

With all the charm and authenticity of its historic past melded with the modern conveniences of today, you will appreciate its splendor and be enchanted by its panoramic surroundings as you are immersed in the ultimate Tuscan experience.

The castle is overseen by Salvatore Gangale, a true Renaissance man, his affable son, Antonio, and lovely and unflappable daughter in law, Shelley. Along with ultimate helper and always smiling Fabio, the Gangale family will spoil you with a magical experience not to be found at many 5 star properties.

Try not to miss Salvatore's gastronomic delights at the dinner prepared especially for guests - it will be one of those "special meals" you come to Italy for and among the best you will enjoy there! Soon the family will open a very unique restaurant on the castle grounds which is certain to be a fabulous addition.

Just go!! You will not forget it, as its imprint will linger in your mind and touch your soul long after you are there. Thank you Salvatore, Antonio, Shelley and Fabio for the memories. Diana and Marty

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one night at Castello delle Serre and had a lovely time. Luckily it was warm enough to use the pool which was just perfect - lounging in the sun while looking at a castle is quite the luxury!

Shelley, Salvatore, Antonio and Fabio do all that they can to make you feel at home as they are more than ready to provide hand-drawn maps to get around to other points in Tuscany or even call ahead to let restaurants know that you will be dining there that evening (we thought that was a really nice touch on Salvatore's part).

Our room (131) was nice with a large, modern bathroom and a comfortable bed. It was not the most spacious room compared to other places we stayed in the area, but it was far from small or cramped. I wished our windows had been a bit bigger to enjoy that amazing view and evening/afternoon sun! The property itself is great - you can tell that the family has poured its hearts and souls into this project and are still working to make it even better. Currently, the first floor of the actual castle is under renovation and should bring some exciting new developments to future guests once it's done.

Breakfast and aperitivo next to the pool are just great - relaxing and fun, a nice way to interact with the other guests. It's a perfect way to unwind and enjoy being in Tuscany when you aren't running around doing loads of day trips! You're just 30 minutes or so from Siena and 30 from Montepulciano.

Two "cons" I would mark would be the current parking lot (when you arrive Fabio or Salvatore are kind enough to park for you), as it is a bit tight and can be hard to maneuver (especially at night), and the lack of a restaurant (though this will soon not be the case as the next step of renovation includes plans for one!) Given the price of the hotel, we would have expected for there to be a restaurant, at least for a lazy lunch or even a dinner in - though since we stayed just one night, we were more than happy to visit a delicious agriturismo restaurant that was just 2km away.

We were happy that our stay in Tuscany included a stopover at Castello and would definitely recommend it. It's a special place that provides a great escape from life with personal and professional service. Thank you for a lovely stay and all the best with the next chapter of the Castello!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paige_davis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights at Castello delle Serre (May 10-12, 2013). Simply put, it was incredible! I emailed back and forth with Shelley for a couple of months prior to our arrival and she always replied promptly and was very helpful answering any and all questions I had. I booked our stay as a surprise to my girlfriend and Shelley made sure that we had a bottle of prossecco and 2 glasses waiting for us in the room when we checked-in. As it turned out, I proposed to my girlfriend that afternoon (she said yes!) and spending a couple of days at Castello was the perfect way to celebrate! I highly recommend the Tower Suite. It's expensive but worth every penny. We especially had a great time sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine enjoying the sunset.

Both Antonio and Shelley were wonderful hosts and helped us out with anything we needed (include great recommendations of what to see and do in the area). The food was great and the castle is beautiful. We can't wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Tower Suite. Best room in Tuscany.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avk2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May and wished we could have stayed a week – Castello delle Serre was a highlight of our trip and the hospitality is unsurpassed. We stayed in one of the newly remodeled suites and everything was comfortable and the beautiful bathroom was a real treat. Breakfast every morning was leisurely and we thoroughly enjoyed the stories from other guests and the tips and stories from Salvatore, Antonio & Shelley. From the very moment we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel “at home” in this beautiful castle. The grounds look amazing, though during our stay it was too cold to use the pool or dine outside. I hope to return and can’t recommend this place enough. We did not get to enjoy one of the dinners that we read about on this site, but don’t miss dinner at the “Farmhouse” nearby – one of the best meals of our time in Italy. Don’t think - just book if there is availability!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre di Rapolano
22.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
447 reviews
17.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
21.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
560 reviews
20.1 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 12 in Castiglion Fiorentino
1,080 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Giovanni Terme Rapolano
San Giovanni Terme Rapolano
#3 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range: $288 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing