We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palazzo Bizzarri(Serre di Rapolano)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agriturismo Podere la Selva(Serre di Rapolano)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d'Epoca(Serre di Rapolano)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Camugnano(Serre di Rapolano)
Booking.com
View Deal
A Casa di Rosy B&B(Serre di Rapolano)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agriturismo San Lorenzo(Serre di Rapolano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Scannano(Serre di Rapolano)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
626
10
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
10
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis sonother guestseach morningmade us feelthe ownertuscan countrysidehighlight of our tripgracious hostsglass of winemodern amenitieshome basemagical placerestored castlebeautiful poolshort drivespent nightsday trip
Filter
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 642 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2008

A friend recommended we stay here for our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it! The castle is amazing, the rooms were comforatable, clean, and welcoming. The people that own and run this castle/hotel are absolutely amazing. They shared the history and culture of the area with us, gave us impeccable directions to anywhere we wanted to go along with restaurant suggestions, and even cooked dinner for us and some other guests during our stay, this was in addition to the lovely breakfasts we had every morning. The ambiance was great, I would highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in the Tuscan region.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cburwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Please excuse my late entry to Tripadvisor. We visited the castle in October 2007and stayed for 4 days. Our accommodations were located in the tower. This was probably a bit pricey for us, but I will remember this for the rest of my life. The following (2)paragraphs are devoted to the room's description. The first paragraph notes some of the many positive features and the second notes features that were less desireable.

Entrance to the tower room is located at the castle's main level. Steps wind inside the periphery of the tower to two levels. The first level has a small sitting area with a full upscale bathroom. Further up the winding steps took you to a large bedroom. Fantasic views of the Tuscan region can be experienced from this point. I think that this is probably the highest point for miles around. Windows are situated in such a manner that you have a vast panoramic view. Great for sunsets!! This is approximately the same level as the town's bell tower, 1/4 mile away. So---- at 8:00 in the morning, you are wakened by the sound of church bells. And---if your window drapes are open, you can also watch them in your bed. This was a good thing for us since there was alot of things we wanted to do during the day. Conversely, there's not much going on at night. If you are a late sleeper this might be a problem. An additional winding staircase takes you to the roof. Although the weather was a bit chilly, this would be a grand place for a pre-dinner appertif. The roof furniture incuded two lounge chairs that would be a perfect private place to get a little Tuscan sun.

Please note that this room is not for everyone. The steep winding stairs make it very difficult for anyone with mobility problems. If asked, the staff will gladly carry luggage up or down for you. Also, when nature called in the middle on the night, I was forced to walk down those 20-some, uneven cold stone steps to the bathroom on the first level. So the moral of this story is to have a pair of slippers placed at the edge of the bed, just in case.

The sevice cannot be compared to a 5 star hotel. When we arrived in October, their staff consisted of Salvatore, Antonio, Simone, and a cook. Approximately 5-6 couples were there at the time. Although our room was not ready, Salvatore greeted us with a brief tour which ended at the castle's library. For the next half hour, we perused the literature while sipping on a complimetary glass of wine while our room's were being prepared. Not bad. We felt like royalty. "This isn't Kansas anymore, Toto". Therefore, you may not be receiving the service you wish at the time you expected. But the staff surprises you with accommodating experiences to make up for this. Remember, you are staying in a historic castle undergoing restoration, not a Ritz Carlton. After going on the full tour of the facility, we realized that Salvatore poured alot of money into uncovering frescoes and other Reneissance "goodies". Usually, only a corproration has the assets to undergo such an operation. I felt compelled to leave a little more than my usual tip.

Our experience with Castello delle Rapellano was delightful. We definitely will recommend the castle to friends. Hopefully, we can make the trip back to this beautiful place soon

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lost_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Castello delle Serre. The location is beautiful, and is a not far to travel to neighboring towns. The service was incredible. Each morning at breakfast, Salvatore and Antonio would help us plan out our day, and every night they had suggestions on where to eat. The room was beautiful and breakfast was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights at this magical resort. The hosts Salvatore and Antonio made us feel like family and we hated to leave. Most of the week we were the only ones in the Castle -we had a fabulous room - spacious, clean, modern and a fantastic view. Salvatore and Antonio gave us wonderful recommendations on where to go, directions, where to park and just really seemed to understand our tastes. Salvatore's knowledge of the history and the area gave us a unique insight about the towns in the region. This was a wonderful taste of Tuscany and we can't wait to go back!!

Salvatore is a gourmet chef and his dinner was incredible. However, don't miss Carlo's restaurant down by the hotel in town. Again, we were the only couple in the restaurant. We were treated like royalty and had a 4 course dinner with 4 selections of wine. SInce it was our 25th wedding anniversary, Carlo's wife baked us a special cake that was to die for. This meal cost us 90 Euros - a comparable dinner in Los Angeles would have cost at least $300 for the food and wine selections and would not have compared to the quality and service!

I would definitely go back to Castello delle Serre but perhaps this time we would go when the weather is better.We had our own private sundeck but unfortunately we hardly ever used it due to rain, wind and the cold. Even though the weather was not ideal, it was still a memorable experience.

I highly recommend this place -you can't go wrong for great hospitality, location, accommodations and an experience of staying in a castle built over 1000 years ago! This is an exceptional property and will only get better- Salvatore and Antonio continue to work on this property with a love and passion and it truly shows!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank shoppermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We’ve spent 10 days in Tuscany, and I’d like to make a special mention to one of the best - if not the best - part of the trip… our stay at Castello delle Serre.

We arrived at the Castle after 5 days visiting Rome, Firenze and Lucca (amazing city), and although it was a little late in the night, Salvatore greeted us with open arms. He was above and beyond the most welcoming host during our trip to Italy. What makes Castelle delle Serra so spectacular are two things:
1. Salvatore, who was born in Italy but spent many years in the US. Having lived in both the US and Italy gives him the ability to understand the foreign traveler's needs, including what activities to do, cities to see, and what tourists 'traps' to stay away from. Salvatore has a cheat sheet for many day-trip cities that includes directions, wineries, restaurants, where to park, etc. Additionally, his heritage gives him the ability to provide a cultural italian experience from a local residents perspective. Honestly I’ve never seen someone with both perspectives.
2. The restored Castle is absolutely magnificent! The Castle is so well placed and the localization is so beautiful, I wish we had stayed all the 10 days there, regardless the price, which is well, well, well worthwhile. Every single cent is worth. If you can get a reservation there, it will be the best part of your trip to Italy.

I can’t wait to have another opportunity to visit Europe and make a pitstop at the castle.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NOROOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews