We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under the Tuscan Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello delle Serre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the castle for one night during our trip, we wish we could have stayed longer. The property is beautiful, hospitality could not be better! Wonderful little town this castle overlooks everything and is a great location to travel and explore Tuscany.
Looking forward to when we can come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 603 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've known Salvatore since his days in Sun Valley, Idaho in the 90's. Staying at the Castello with both Sal and Antonio was epic--outstanding food, wisdom and accommodations. I highly recommend this property to any discriminating Tuscany-bound traveler.

Room Tip: Ask the proprietors for their advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveSmithPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our time at Castello delle Serre was definitely the highlight of our Italian vacation. I was visiting with friends for the first time and the owners made us all feel so comfortable and welcome. The setting is breathtaking and the accommodations are perfection. If you have the opportunity to take part in a dinner at the castle during your stay, it is not to be missed! I have plans to return and would recommend Castello delle Serre to anyone traveling to Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Shelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Castello Della Serre rests on the Hills and in the quaint village of Rapolano overlooking the valley of Siena and Tuscany.

Salvatore, his son, Antonio and Shelly are the Proprietors of this wonderful Castle. Though born in Italy, they lived many years in the United States are fluent in English. It truly is like being at home with them.

Within the heart of Tuscany and Siena, Antonio's directions and a 1/2 hour drive, will take you to wonderful amazing cities and towns such as Cortona and Siena. The roads are wonderful to drive.

With Salvatore’s lifetime experience in Hospitality; he, Antonio and Shelley magically has your stay effortless. From Tuscan style rooms, breakfast at poolside and an espresso or cappuccino, it just doesn’t get better. For those having to stay connected, Salvatore has a PC and free WIFI for you to use.

Who needs a watch!! A walk past the church on every half and on the hour, you will hear the bells of the church echo through the town! You can feel and sense the hundreds of years as say, “Buon Giorno” to older ladies walking the hilly streets. It gives me goose bumps as I relive my time at Castello Delle Serre!

Grazie!! Salvatore, Shelley and Antonio!!

Room Tip: Because each room is different, when you call, they will be so very happy to share the Castle with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOB_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Castello delle Serre to celebrate the wedding of our dear friends. Together with a large group of friends we occupied all of the properties rooms.
The reservation and logistics for our trip were all effortless thanks to Shelley and her help.
Together with the wedding party, Shelley, Sal and Antonio planned and co-ordinated every detail of our stay including dinner at local restaurants, tours of local attractions and of course drinks and dinner in the fantastic setting of the Castello by the pool.
The room we stayed in was magnificent with a spectacular view of the Tuscan hills.
Would happily recommend staying here and the hospitality of the friendly host family was a real highlight.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were on our honeymoon in Tuscany and found the Castello delle Serre through the online reviews and could not have been happier. Castello lives up to its reviews. First, the owners/staff are wonderful. They are just nice hardworking people who do everything in their power to help you enjoy your stay. The property itself is lovely. Our room was a good size with an incredible view of the Tuscan countryside/sunset.

They have a magnificent lobby with WiFi and a large outdoor terrace with trees and a separate covered area near a swimming pool where we spent a lot of time with wine and espresso. After our days out, it was nice to come back to Castello, sit outside, enjoy a glass of wine and relax, read, or write postcards. They had onsite parking which was fantastic and easy once we learned where it was.

The staff was incredibly helpful to us. We were lost getting there (GPS problem) and Salvatore talked us in even though (our fault) it was incredibly late. Antonio, Shelly, and Fabio helped us with our heavy bags even though we were far past the late check in time and even brought us a bottle of wine.

Antonio made a few dinner reservations for us and both he and Salvatore had excellent recommendations for what to have. When we were there, they also offered dinners twice at Castello (they don't do this every night). It was definitely worth it. We had two very good dinners -- it was also a very relaxing evening since we did not have to go out. Each morning, they offered a continental breakfast that consisted of delicious pastries, fresh fruit and other breakfast standards (e.g., juice, coffee/espresso, cereals, yogurt, etc). The breakfasts were among the best I've had in European hotels.

I thought the location was charming. There's not a ton to do in Serre di Rapolano itself, but it is a charming town with nice people and there are plenty of places to eat within a 10-15 minute drive. We chose it as a central location in Tuscany for traveling around. It was perfect for trips to Chianti, the Crete Sense, Volterra, Siena, Orvieto/Civita di Bagnoregio, etc. It's also very close to Montalcino and Montepulciano. We did find ourselves wanting to spend more relaxing time at Castello, however! Castello is also just minutes from a highway which takes you to Siena to the Northwest or to the A1 which takes you to all points south (Rome, Naples, etc.).

On our next trip to Tuscany, we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife, two teenage boys and I had a wonderful stay at Castello delle Serre. The castle and grounds are calming and attractive. The town is not touristed, but is an easy drive to anywhere in Tuscany. Most importantly, Antonio, Sal and Shelly are wonderful hosts. They are able to cater their recommendations to a wide variety of interests. Their "concierge" service is better than any concierge service I have received in any 5 star hotel. Make sure you enjoy a dinner prepared by Sal; it was our best meal in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre di Rapolano
22.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
443 reviews
17.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
20.1 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 12 in Castiglion Fiorentino
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d'Epoca
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d...
#3 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il Montino
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il ...
#2 of 5 in Serre di Rapolano
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range: $214 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing