We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Venice Resort
Nearby Hotels
$155
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Antony Hotel(Mestre)
$150
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mary(Campalto)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marco Polo(Campalto)(Great Value!)
$141
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ducale(Favaro Veneto)
$74
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sara(Mestre)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lucy(Campalto)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
117
187
91
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
187
91
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarco polo airportthe busclose to the airportshuttle servicehotel provided a shuttlelast nightnext morningcab ridemini bartobacco shopcontinental breakfastal quadrantestayed for one nightbooked this hotelvery nice hotelper persondown the road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 445 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were a group of 4, where 2 were to fly off in the morning, while my wife and myself were driving onwards from there. Proximity to airport is great, if you have a car. 1 minute from the departure area, literally. So, we can not review the hotel's own shuttle service.
We parked our car at the hotel, got very good instructions from the concierge, and walked about 4-5 minutes to the closest bus stop, and used a regular bus to get to downtown Venezia. We are never hesitant to use public transportation, and this worked out great, took us directly to Piazzale Roma. Rooms were modern, clean, very quiet.
If you have a car, this is a great choice for staying close to Venice. (You can not take a car to downtown Venice anyhow).
Would stay there again, only thing that bothered us was a lot of flies (!). Very annoying, can only assume it is because the hotel is situated in an agricultural area....

Room Tip: Believe that all are good, situated in 2 buildings on the hotel grounds.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As with many other reviewers of this hotel, we stayed there the night before we were flying home. Deciding factors were: 1) proximity to the airport (~ 1km), 2) price (~ $130), and 3) generally positive reviews. After our stay, I would say that overall, we were very pleased with our decision. Luckily for us, we arrived early enough on the day before our departure to do some "reconnoitering" before we spent the large sums of money some other reviewers surrendered for incidentals. I will explain what we learned later in this review; but first, the hotel itself. If you are interested in staying at the hotel, but don't need to hear all the boring details of our stay, please skip to the last paragraph and read through our "tips and tricks" to avoid some of the pitfalls described by other reviewers.

Our check-in experience was just OK. The staff all spoke fair to excellent English. The desk clerk at check-in was rather curt, though not outright unfriendly. Basically, he acted like a Frenchman, rather than an Italian. As an example, even though we had paid for the room ahead of time, he required us to provide a credit card. Though we were reasonably certain of the reason (to cover room taxes not included in pre-paid rate and any additional charges incurred during the stay...not to charge us for the room), no explanation was provided, which prompted my wife to ask for an explanation, just to be sure. His response, "it is standard policy", was in our opinion inadequate, and required us to further inquire to make sure that he understood that our room had been pre-paid (which he did). The overnight and morning clerks were much more friendly.

The hotel is located on a side road off the "main drag" to the airport in the (very) small town of Tessera. It is comprised of three old stone buildings (apparently, it was originally a farmstead) which have been refurbished, and in our opinion, had a lot of character. We were in room 105, which was on the first floor of the north building and would recommend asking for it - it has more room than the standard double rooms and has an extra window and two sets of french doors; one opening onto a covered patio area and one opening onto a "garden" area (us Americans would call it a backyard). While I see several complaints about noise, we did not experience much; only some footsteps from the floor above us...certainly no worse than any of the other hotels using centuries old buildings we stayed in. Even though our room faced the road, traffic noise was minimal. What we heard more than anything was the cock-a-doodle-do of roosters; a very charming wind-down from the days we had spent in cities during our trip.

After we settled in, we went back to get a glass of wine from the bar, only to find it was closed until "around 6:30", according to the less-than-accomodating desk clerk. When I asked if we might find anything in town (Tessera does have a few shops and a couple of restaurants), he just shrugged and said that most of the restaurants are closed until 6:30 or 7:00. We decided to walk the 200 or so yards (meters) to town anyway to scope out our transportation options (we had already found ot about the 16 Euros - 8 Euro per passenger - we would have to spend to take the hotels shuttle to the airport) and just see what was there. That turned out to be a very fortuitous decision, as we learned a lot that we can now pass on to our fellow travelers.

TIPS and TRICKS:
1. TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM THE AIRPORT -
As I said initially, the hotel is only about 1 km from the airport. This is kind of a good news - bad news deal. The hotel has a shuttle van, but apparently they're not fond of picking people up at the airport, so they really jack you for airport pickup (I think someone said 10 Euro per person). They are slightly more reasonable on taking you to the airport - 8 Euro per person with the shuttle leaving on the hour and half-hour. If you choose this option, make sure to schedule your departure in advance...it sounded to us as though we would not be able to just show up and get a ride on the next shuttle. The reason, that they can extort that kind of money out of you is that your other wheeled options (as opposed to walking, which I will get to in a minute) are a taxi or the local bus. The minimum taxi fare is some rediculously high value, so the hotel shuttle is cheaper than that. The bus option is really baffling, but here it is...we came from the Mestre train terminal. From there, we paid 1.30 Euro per person to take the #15 bus to the hotel. The bus continues to the airport (the next stop) and I assume that we would have paid the same or only slightly more to ride all the way to the airport. The #5 bus goes from the venice bus terminal (Piazzale Roma) to the airport and will also stop in Tessara...not sure if the cost is the same. BUT here is the strange part. If you buy a bus ticket at the tobacco stand in Tessara, it will cost 5 Euro to take either the #5, 15 or 45 bus (they all stop in Tessara and come by every 15 minutes or so) the short distance to the airport. So again, the shuttle option from the hotel is not much more expensive. The bus option becomes much more reasonable if you intend to go into Venice and back to the hotel later. In this case, you can purchase a bus ticket valid for unlimited rides over a specified time period; just buy one that covers you until after you need to be at the airport. Note that there is a bus stop on the side road to the hotel, but the buses that pick up at this stop do NOT go to the airport, they head back to Mestre and Venice. Given all that, and that fact that we travel light, we opted to walk to the airport, described below.
2) WALKING TO THE AIRPORT -
As some other reviewers mentioned, although the airport is relatively close, the option of walking comes with some trepidation. Most of the walk can be accomplished on sidewalks, but there is an approximate 300 yard (meter) stretch where you will have to walk along the side of the road from the end of Tessara to to the airport access road. It is a two-lane road with no shoulder and a pretty steep ditch approximately 6 feet (2 meters) from the road. There is a narrow footpath that was just wide enough for us to pull our roller-board suitcases directly behind us. Once on the airport access road, there is clear sailing on a wide sidewalk all the way to the terminal. If you have a heavy suitcase with no or small wheels, or if you have kids, I would not advise walking. The road is only moderately busy, but there are a lot of trucks and buses and they don't move over much to accomodate you. I would definitely not recommend doing that walk after dark. That said, the walk was not that bad and we felt is was worth saving the 20 bucks. It took us 20 minutes to walk at a reasonable pace, so give youself at least that much time if you choose to do this. If you are walking from the airport to the hotel, head out the terminal thru the surface parking lots and walk down the access road sidewalk on the "incoming traffic" side of the road. When you reach the main road go left (this is the stretch without sidewalks) and walk into Tessara. Via Triestina (the road the hotel is on) buts up to the main road from the right (north) in the center of town. Take the crosswalk across the main road and there is a sidwalk that you can follow past a school and a restaurant. You'll see the hotel on the opposite side of the road just past the restaurant. Speaking of restaurants:
3. WHERE TO EAT -
Several reviewers have commented that the restaurant across the street from the hotel is good (interestingly, the surly desk clerk said he could not recommend it...my guess is because they wouldn't pay him). However, we were there on Thursday and they are closed on Thursdays (??? open Friday - Wednesday, 12:00 - 3:00 and 6:30 - midnight), so I can't comment on their quality. Instead, we at at a bar-restaurant in Tessara called Al Quadrante and were not disappointed. They have more pizza options than you can imagine, and the pizzas are large and well prepared (tuscan style). My wife had one with cheese, prosciutto and eggplant that was outstanding. I had truffle-ricotta ravioli that was heavenly. There are a few other options in town, but this was the one recommended by a local wine-shop owner, which leads to my
4. FINAL, MUST NOT MISS STOP IN TESSARA -
My wife and I are food and wine nuts and could not believe our eyes when we stepped into CANTINA MARCO POLO. Right there in this little town within sight of the airport is the best little shop to buy wine, spirit and gastronomic souvinirs in all of Italy! We walked in looking to by a bottle of wine since the hotel's bar was not open and ran smack-dab into a true locals wine shop. In addition to the standard wines and spirits, she sells locally sourced wines by two methods. Bottled wines which are of very good quality and incredibly CHEAP, 4 to 8 Euro a bottle, with most being 4 - 5 Euro; OR you can bring your own 1 liter or larger container (so save one of those water bottles) and she will fill it with one of several local varietals she keeps in stainless steel vats (she will be happy to let you taste first to see what you like) for (get this) 1.50 - 2.00 Euro per liter! Hence the name, "Cantina" Marco Polo. She also sells many different pastas, jars of sauces, preserves, cookies, breads, olive oils and balsamic vinegars and prices between 25 and 75% less than you will find at the airport. So pick up all your food - and - wine related souvenirs here and pack them away in your suitcase before you get to the airport!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank flhuskerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night when we visited Venice. Our flight the next morning was at 8am, so we wanted to be close to the airport so that we wouldn't miss it. This place was the perfect place to stay - it was only a 10-15 minute walk to the airport!

The rooms are very nice - up to date and very spacious. The shower room was very large for European standards. After check-in (and a long day walking around Venice) we relaxed at the outdoor lounge. They offer a small menu and full bar service if you don't want to dine elsewhere, so that is convenient, however, we walked to a nearby eatery.

I would definitely stay here again, without reservation. It was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euro1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Like the title says "Four Stars ..." the name also is missleading this is no resort. No pool, Super Cramped Showers (I could not wash my feet while staning in the confined shower) Poor Wi-Fi Signal, Horrible noise insulation ( I actually had to go know on my neibours door to please ask him to lower his TV volume and when he oppened the door the TV was not that loud but all the sound transfered to my room) and last but nost least an exesive 10 euro fee to transfer you to the airport wich is less than a Mile away (I walked and it took me literaly 17 minutes)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the evening before a cruise and the evening before our flight home.
We chose the hotel for the location - convenient for airport and transport into Venice - and the cost (great rate for B&B).
On our arrival at 11.30am our room was ready so we left our bags and headed into Venice. The check in was very smooth - the guy on reception was efficient but not very friendly. There is no lift in the main building and no-one to assist with carrying bags to your room. There are rooms in a couple of other buildings but no lifts in any.
Both the rooms we were given had a staircase with a sleeping platform upstairs. Sofa bed in the main room with desk & chair, wardrobe, small table, tea/coffee making tray. Spotlessly clean and quite confortable. Sleeping area had large, comfortable bed and drawers with TV on top. Great amenities and bathrobes provided.
Breakfast (Continental) is served until 10am in a very nice room behind the bar in reception. Not much choice but enough to start the day.
There is a bus stop within a 10 minute walk - the number 5 to/from the airport stops here. Around a 5 minute journey to the airport and 25 mins to Piazzale Roma in Venice. Tickets are €1.30 and can be bought from reception in the hotel or from the bus driver.
We walked to the main street each night and ate in Al Quadrante bar/cafe which was great value.
I'm not sure I would stay here for more than a couple of days due to the location but it is great for an overnighter near the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosiewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews