We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to relax and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lago Montargil & Villas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montargil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Location is unique. Several swimming pools (the one close to the dam as spectacular view) makes you change between chairs according to sun position. Excellent to relax, to do water sports and enjoy the traditional local cuisine in the surrounding villages. Rooms are modernly decorated abusing velvet material which would be great in the winter but a little heavy during the summer.
The hotel plan is a little confusing and makes you change floors all the time when walking inside the hotel. The mainly upset was the service. This hotel deserves more experienced staff. Reception was too slow. Be aware the hotel can be crowed during the summer mainly in August.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcatalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 860 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is our second stay in a CS Hotel and both experiences were somehow unpleasant in regards to price/quality/service.

Reception: When we arrived the reception staff could barely speak any other language than Portuguese. When we left we waited almost 30 minutes in a line at the reception to check-out as quite some people were checking out at the same time and the staff was completely stressed.

Staff: The whole staff was composed by young trainees, during our whole stay we saw only two mature staff members. But I must add that all young staff were very friendly and really made efforts to be helpful to provide a good service even if they didn't succeeded each time.

Room: Arrived at the room after having walked through almost the whole hotel we were quite impressed. Very design and comfortable room with an amazing view and good beds. Only negative point is that the floor was really dirty with quite a lot of hair all around. We reported it twice at he reception but it was never really taken care of. Even not when they made the room. The prices of the mini-bar are absolutely excessively expensive. We also never succeeded in getting the missing wine bottle-opener - requested it several time at the reception.

Hotel Pool: Absolutely wonderful and quiet - with some quite dangerous holes in the wooden floor around the pool (be careful) - as they have two pools, one for adults and one for parents with their children. You can even find if you are lucky some free deck chairs during the day.

Lake Pool: They do have a fantastic pool near the lake with a bar and some water sports offered on the Lake like Jet ski - but with smaller kids Jet skis, no fun for adults. The only big problem is that you need to arrive very early to get a place, but the worth is that the bar only opens at 10 AM and before even the toilets are closed. In the afternoon it gets very loud with all the children shouting around.

Hotel Pool Bar: This is the only place were the service is actually bad and very slow. The bar closes at 7 and re-opens later in the evening with some very bad taste live music entertainment. If you order a nice bottle of wine you get some plastic cups. Never experienced such a low-cost service in a apparently 5-star hotel. By the way if you are unlucky to have a room around the outdoor-bar, don't expect to sleep before at least 1 AM because of the noise mainly of the music.

Restaurant: Warning: noisy noisy noisy. Go also very early as within 30 minutes all the good food is gone and most of the nice things are not replaced. The food quality was quite good and we liked it. Service was good taking in consideration that they were all trainees but it is a no go for a 5-star hotel and specially not for the price you pay.

Spa and Fitness: We didn't use the sauna or indoor swimming pool, neither we used the fitness centre but wanted to try the jacuzzi, we desisted quickly as we saw a oil filter on to of the water. Not very clean.

Hotel Bar: This was an exceptional experience. We ordered two glasses of wine to a very friendly young lady. After having ordered the wine she disappeared. When she came back she asked us to wait a bit more, this until another waiter came and she asked him in which glass she should serve the wine. Never experienced this in any hotel of any category. As the girl was really nice and friendly we didn't say nothing for having waited almost 15 minutes in total to get two classes of wine in a 5-star bar where we were actually at that moment alone.

But now the most amazing of all. Just on front of the hotel, on the other side of the road a truck was parked with a big sign who says in different languages that the CS Hotel doesn't pay the suppliers and they are asking for their money.

Resume: All-in-one the hotel would be nice if sold as a 3-star hotel. But is is definitely NOT a 5-star one and by far much too expensive in relation price/quality/service and specially cleaning.

We will definitely not return to a CS Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestoSLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The rooms are very confortable and big!!! Excelent beds! Well designed!! Lots of pools!
Had a problem with some noises in my room and they gave me another one. Nice staff.
Restaurant à la carte is very good (but expensive), although it seems a better option than the buffet.
It's a pitty the shops inside the hotel are all closed, included the one where you could get a magazine or newspaper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatiaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

what a beaitiful, comfortable, well designed and perfectly locted hotel. exellent for young couples or families. Magnificent pools (there are 3 outdoor, 1 indoor and the one of the SPA). The SPA is very well equiped. Excelente bars (the "fresh" pool bar and the calm piano bar) the bedrooms are almost perfect (nothing negative to point out). the shower is fenomenal !!! the restaurants are very good. And then there is the nautic club by the bayou of the Montargil dam. Very sportive very calm with a lot of water activities offered. Why didn't I classified it as excellente ? because the persons working there. most non sympathic, non efficiente and a great lack of smile and "will do". it´s a small step away from excelency !!! give them formation !!! the hotel deserves !!!

Room Tip: all the rooms I saw were very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are looking for peace and rest this is a great place for you.
The hotel is modern and beautifull. Great room.
The food at the restaurant is very good, but expensive, if you don´t go to the buffet option.
Very polited staff.
The Montargil Lagoon atractions must be developed, to please people who look for more attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a good example of a hotel that should have been shut down before it opened.
In this one year old hotel, most facilities are out of service for lack of maintenance or just as a result of cutting in costs...
More than half of the bedrooms show humidity infiltrations, the staff is most willing but obvious not qualified to work in a hotel that boasts 5 stars.
We only had 5 stars (or more) in the evenings that the sky would do a magnificent display.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watchdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is located in the Alentejo district, one of Portugal's less populated. The property includes 2 indoor pools, being the one bellonging to the spa the best one, as it is an animated pool. Perfect place if you have a car and want to explore the region. If you don't want to have lunch or dinner in the hotel, you may have to drive a few kms, to go to Mora or Ponte de Sor.
The rooms are just perfect, of the best I have seen. Good place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montargil
13.9 mi away
Herdade da Cortesia
15.0 mi away
Hotel Ponte Sor
Hotel Ponte Sor
#1 of 1 in Ponte de Sor
11 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Solar dos Lilases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monte Novo Villas Montargil
0.0 mi away
Parque de campismo Orbitur Montargil
8.3 mi away
Quinta da Mimosa
Quinta da Mimosa
#1 of 4 in Coruche
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Montargil & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Montargil & Villas

Address: Estrada Nacional 2, Montargil 7425-147, Portugal (Formerly Hotel do Lago Montargil)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Montargil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montargil
Price Range: $82 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lago Montargil & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to give a sense of perfect harmony and strategically located in one of the most attractive and beautiful sites of Portugal, this complete and modern hotel aims to provide unique moments to its guests. Framed by nature and with a fantastic view overlooking the lake of Montargil Dam, this is the ideal place to unwind and to enjoy the nature, the food, the water, or to make use of the modern and technologic facilities for congress and meetings. For guests that appreciate the privacy and comfort of a villa, the Lago Montargil & Villas boasts 11 Nautical Villas with 2 or 3 rooms next to the Nautical Club. A Villa overlooking the lake of Montargil Damm with private pool, exclusively for you and for your family. Get ready to try a new Alentejo where everything is experienced with peace of mind and pleasure. The Hotel do Lago Montargil is waiting for you with its arms wide opened, with the warmth and the authenticity of the region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Lago Montargil & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing