We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Beautiful Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Beautiful Cottages
Welcome To By The Byre! Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Our Beautiful Cottages
Welcome To By The Byre!
Dining Area
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Lounge
Master Double
Master Double
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Linen Provided
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Towels Provided
Outside Terrace
Cottage Floor Plan
Our Chickens!
Nosey Neighbours!
Outdoor Toys Provided
Outdoor Playhouse and Toys
The Cottages
Surrounded by beautiful countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty C
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently stayed in the Frome cottage at By The Byre and were not disappointed. The cottage was lovely, bright and clean and the grounds were well kept for the children to play in. It is an ideal location for local attractions and the pretty town of Frome.
The cottage itself has plenty of space for a family of four and the kitchen is well stocked with enough utensils to eat at home.
The one very tiny flaw is that the guide book in the cottage is not up to date as a couple of the restaurants and even one of the Supermarkets listed no longer exist. Wi-Fi was also very poor however I doubt that is the fault of the owners.
I will definitely return in the future.

Date of stay: August 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful accomodation
Liked least: Poor Wi-fi connection
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Happy you had a great time. Hope to see you again at By the Byre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona C
1 review
“Lovely stay highly recommend”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I had a lovely weekend here with my sister and three nephews, very close to Longleat which is where we were looking to spend the Saturday. We stayed in one of the cottages which was very spacious and clean. Owners were lovely and welcoming. They had everything you needed including toys and games to borrow which came in very handy. Would definitely come back as lots to do around the area could of done with a longer stay!!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Really pleased you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hope to see you again at By the Byre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suited our needs but a bit tired”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family rented three of three cottages for two days after a week of camping. They were welcomingly comfortable after a week in a tent, and allowed us to relax for a couple of days before going our separate ways.

The cottages were all kitted out with two rooms (a double and a twin), a kitchen and sitting/dining room. There's a washing machine, dish washer, etc. The cottages sit in the gardens of the owner's house (we were told our children could play on the grass area) and are an easy commute to Bath (30 mins), Frome, Longleat, etc.

The cottages did look a bit worn in places: there are damp marks on the ceilings, cracks in the bathroom tiles, & the showers aren't great. The other complaint that several in my family commented on was how uncomfortable the beds were - however as it was only a couple of nights this wasn't a huge issue.

All in all the cottages worked well for us. Not sure how competitive the prices were (my mum booked it) but I'd consider staying here again if I was in the area.

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
Thank you for your comments. Lovely to see a family from all corners of the world having a happy relaxing time.at By the Byre. Brave granny bringing 3 grandchildren! The children seemed to enjoy playing out in the plentiful outdoor space and the adults socialising in the evenings and Longleat went down a storm. The family of 14 stayed in 3 cottages which worked out at £22 per head per night with the Longleat discount. Toddler kit and an extra bed were provided. It's a shame one of the guests found a few niggles. around 4000 guests have sleep in the beds and not one has said they were uncomfortable, far to the contrary, some even asking where the mattresses were from! The showers are perfectly fine and any small observations will be attended to. We can assure future guests we are always on hand to sort anything out, often immediately.
We hope to see you and your family and friends at By the Byre in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrisaspi...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation , perfect location”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We found the cottage to be very clean and comfortable and tastefully furnished. The gardens are superb and You can't ask for more with the location. We will defiantly be back !!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments - delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our housekeepers work very hard and we do have high standards, they will be pleased too. Love to see you again at By the Byre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchickLo...
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

We have stayed in both the cottages and lodges. It's so great we've been 3 times and are already looking to book our 4th. Angela and chris are fantastic and have been great each stay ensuring suitable make up of rooms for children, great toys appropriate to ages and kids just roam around their property exploring and love it. Fantastic location close to Longleat Safari park, great pub 5 mins away. You're never short of anything to do but if you also want to just chill, have a bbq and play then it's great too. Highly recommend .

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
Great to hear you have had happy times at By the Byre - would love to see you again - please take advantage of our Friends and Family offer Chris and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katelouBa...
Bath, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Gathering suits all ages.......”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had one of the newer eco lodges for a family get together. A mixed group which is always difficult to please...However the Lodges do just that.....the little ones were free to roam around the huge space by the lodges safely and freely nothing was too precious or manicured...which makes for a more relaxing environment. The "older" generation were cosy in the lovely warm lodge equipped with all the necessary cooking equipment and necessary home comforts!...Spacious, clean and ready early for an early check in which helped us enormously. Chris and Angela are great hosts and nothing is too much bother...they were on hand with tips of where to eat and see and their friendly black lab was a huge hit with the kids!
Situated ideally for Longleat, Bathand surrounding areas...beckington has a few great pubs ...saying that it was delightful to come back to the lovely quiet , peaceful setting of the Lodges

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family run and they cared.......
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2015
Great to hear you had a lovely time at By the Byre - always good that we can accommodate happy family gatherings. Hope to see you and your friends and family visiting Bath and Longleat again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hari p
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent short stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed during boxing day for a visit to longleat.
Best stay for 3 days
Cottage is in a nice And peaceful location
Cottage is kept in a immaculate condition
Owners are really helpful.

Date of stay: December 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2015
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you and your family and friends in the future. Angela and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing