We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Helpful”
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Chichester West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So Helpful”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a booking last September 2012 which the head office got wrong so when we arrived there was no rooms available bur Craig could not have been more helpful when checking everything the head office had booked us in same date wrong month after trying to sort all out for us I decided to go home but Craig suggested we stay another date and it was all sorted with the head office at no charge dinner and wine on the house, we duly arrived at the later date room was lovely very clean and staff so very helpful food great we have another booking next week March 15th for two nights was for two rooms as my son and wife was coming as well but due to circumstances had to cancel there room today Craig again was really helpful said do not worry there will be no charge for that room and your booking for other room is secure we always have room five or six as daughter is disabled there is always a very warm welcome breakfast and evening meals are value for money and well cooked so as my other daughter lives in Bath will always be staying at the woolpack although village pub the personal touch is what counts ,

Room Tip: If you want a double choose the superior room or room five and six if twin required
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafferju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that I was able to assist you. I lookforward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    168
    66
    19
    19
See reviews for
79
235
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed in room 11 which is a superior room and were delighted. Very spacious, comfy bed and cleaned well throughout.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings and each time had lovely meals. The breakfasts were comprehensive offering cereal, fruit, yoghurts, pastries,and toast as well as our choice of cooked breakfast. The service was good and our waitress on the second night, Mel, was particularly friendly and helpful.

There is a bus that runs every half an hour from outside the pub into Bath which is only a 25 minute journey each way. Much easier than trying to find parking in the city centre.

We'll definitely be visiting again soon :o)

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra money for superior room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to Mel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Woolpack Inn from the 28th Feb 2013 to 1st March 2013. It was my partners birthday and we were going to Longleat Safari Park, which is not far away. We also had with us my 7 month old daughter. On arrival we were mildly concerned, as we were told there was a live band on the Friday night. We were told we should have been made aware of this on booking, but we weren't. Sensibly we were put in a room on the third floor, in the hope the noise would not carry too much. In fairness, we could hear the band, but it was more of a distant drone, than full blown music. So we can't be too critical over this.
The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. And the pub was lovely, although a little cold in the area to the left hand side of the front door as you go in, a few others mentioned this too. But I think there may have been a problem with the heating as an engineer was present on the second day. The food was also very nice and breakfast was lovely. It's also nicely positioned in a quiet village.
The only fault is the same fault as many others have highlighted. If you are in room 9 or 10, you need to be a hobbit! I'm only 5ft 9ins and my partner is only 5ft 2ins tall. So we are no giants. But I was constantly having to duck down to get around. And the shower over the bath is pretty useless, as you can't stand up under it. I smacked my head numerous times, once quite hard! No I didn't learn from the first time. I think it would be fair to charge less for these rooms, or at least state in the adverts that the rooms are like this. As the photos of the other rooms, don't accurately reflect these.
But all in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel to others. Just check which room your staying in first, as rooms 9 or 10 may need to be avoided. Thanks to the staff for a nice stay though.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 or 10 if you are tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMandefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I believe the description hobbit may be slightly exaggerated. Rooms 9 & 10 are both in the original part of the building and are our cosy and quietest rooms.

We have already made some adjustments including removal of shaving lights, to improve guest comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for just 1 night. In room 10 which was comfortable except for the ridiculous shower in the bathroom! As a previous guest commented if you're above 5'2" you have to kneel in the bath to have a shower. Not ideal and perhaps a reduction in rate if you stay in this room? Not an easy solution. Food ok and hot. An ok sort of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are currently considering different solutions regarding the shower. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This country hotel is great - they look after you and the food and rooms are great, except the rooms in the roof space 7 out 10 for these rooms, the staff are great and the food is good value and you are not kept waiting to long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend recently. The building is rambling and attractive (shame it was too cold to use the garden area) and the staff pleasant and efficient. We ate in the dining-room one night and enjoyed the food -- good, friendly service too -- and breakfasts were spot-on.

Our room, too (No.9) was small but attractive and had all the comforts, though a face flannel would have been handy.

The problem was with the bathroom, which was in the eaves and TINY, with an extremely low, sloping ceiling. Smallness isn't in itself a big deal, but when you can't stand up in the shower and have to kneel instead.. how uncomfortable is kneeling in a bath?? .. it gets in the way. My partner banged his head, hard enough to crack the glass, on the (unnecessary) light/shaver fixed to a beam at about chin height.

Silly of us not to take a photo...! :-(

I don't know what the solution is. This is an old building and of course they want to make use of as much space as possible. But perhaps it's time to stop charging premium rates for rooms in which you can actually stand up safely in the bathroom and don't have to risk kneecapping yourself to take a shower...

Everything else about our stay was great (hence the 3-star rating) but we wouldn't go back, nor recommend the Woolpack, because using the bathroom involved a tad too much contortionism and was too much of a risk to bodily integrity.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 at the top are the small, tiny-bathroomed ones. The more expensive rooms are probably...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The Woolpack dates back to the 1500's and some of the rooms do still have some of the original features, which we feel adds to the character and charm of the building. We Will of course take into account your comments and make any adjustments we need to, to add more comfort in our bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the woolpack inn on sat the 16 th feb for one night, what a lovely place staff all lovely room lovely and cosy. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and the food lovely and good value, breakfast in the morning was great, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy1961evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
174 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Property: The Woolpack Inn
Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing